We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better second time round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Even better second time round”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We re-booked to stay here for 10 nights after staying here in May for a week as we liked it so much. I was a little nervous 2 nd time round in case it didn't live up to expectations but I can honestly say they were exceeded.
I was really ill with bronchitis whilst we were there and the hotel couldn't do enough to help me, from providing honeyed drinks to a humidifier for the room to collecting tablets etc.
We stayed in a suite this time as opposed to the Premier room we stayed in last time. Honestly as lovely as it was I don't think it's worth the extra. The main pluses for me were the two loos (always handy!) and the 2 sinks. The room and sitting/dining area were huge but we didn't really use them and the bedroom area was smaller than the Premier room. The bathroom was more or less the same apart from the his and hers sinks. Both rooms provided free water and fruit daily. Bulgari toiletries are nice but nut that much nicer than their other offerings.
As part of a suite you get automatic access to the Club Lounge and its ammenities. The staff here are amazing and for me its best selling point. Cherry was an absolute god send, she was wonderful. For all of the staff nothing is too much trouble and anything is possible, they truly make you feel welcome throughout the hotel.
We did enjoy the Club lounge although it is quite quiet and formal. They only serve a limited breakfast so we still went down to the main buffet for that as the choice there is amazing. They have also drastically improved the service from last time. Afternoon tea was very nice and you can then go from 6pm to 8pm for canapes and alcoholic drinks as part of the package. (You can go anytime during the day for unlimited soft drinks). Again as nice as it was if it wasn't part of the package I don't think I'd pay the extra as unless you drink like a fish for 2 hours and stuff yourself before dinner I don't think it's worth it. There was more atmosphere in other areas of the hotel which you could experience aswell. Staff wise, second to none.
As last time we never once struggled to get a sunbed and both pools and beach were exceptionally clean. Sutha at the pool bar again gave exceptional service, thank you.
This time we ate at the pool BBQ, tad expensive in comparison to other retaurants both in and out of the hotel, but wonderful food. We also went to the Vietnamese restaurant which I have to say was nicer food back in May, think they may have changed the menu and oddly had no noodle dishes, apart from a soup starter.
The one let down was the new Ess Lounge champagne bar. Gorgeous area to sit of an evening but terrifically expensive and terrible service. Might be because they're still finding their feet and when we did speak to the manager he bent over backwards to make amends. Hopefully just teething problems.
Overall I absolutley love this hotel and would not hesitate to go back or to recommend it to anyone who wants a really realxing and pampered stay in a beautiful hotel with great staff and service.

Room Tip: 5th floor is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireCat1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear CheshireCat1471, thank you for the very nice review and for taking the time to share it with us via TripAdvisor. We highly appreciate honest and constructive feedback from valued guests such as yourself as it is an opportunity to know what we are doing right as well as what we need to improve on. Your kind words are sincerely motivating to us and will inspire us to continue delighting valued guests. We hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a third visit. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    380
    127
    41
    39
See reviews for
581
1,033
99
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at Shangri-La Abu Dhabi, everything was perfect because of the helpful hotel staff, the check-in was very quick, the hotel upgrade my booking as we were celebrating our anniversary, the receptionist lead us to our room which was clean and everything was ready, they provide us a complimentary fruit platter, anniversary cake and also flowers which make my wife so happy, the main swimming pool are nice and big and have a good view, we had our dinner at Souk Al- Beri which you can go to it in a nice trip by a small ferry from the hotel, the breakfast was from in-room dining service also was perfect, the check-out was quick and easy, we defiantly will come back again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Moataz008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My friends and I came here for the brunch as it was highly recommended by a family friend!!
Brunch in Abu Dhabi and Dubai is a must to do apparently on a Friday as this is their wknd!!
I have never come across so many different cuisine options, everything I tasted was exquisite and was truly cooked to perfection!! From sushi to roast dinners!!
There were also some lovely cocktails available which we sampled as well as the prosecco which was flowing just nicely!!!
The ambience was just amazing overlooking a fantastic pool and private beach!! With the grand mosque in the distance we were just in awe of the surrounding area it was truly beautiful!!
The service was impeccable from reception right through to the waiters and chefs!!
We then ended up staying here more or less all evening and walked Across to the pearls and caviars bar which is a real nice rooftop bar and was also just a perfect end to a perfect day watching the sun set over the grand mosque in the distance. They have good music and a lovely relaxed atmosphere we all really enjoyed the whole experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank linzil00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear linzil00, thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and we are happy to know that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your Friday brunch right till the evening at the hotel. Our restaurants consistently garner top awards including best brunch and we have our valued guests such as yourself to thank for without your support, this will not be possible. We hope to welcome you and your friends back to the hotel soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham
Level Contributor
632 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I am well travelled but this has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!!! We stayed here for 5 nights in a fabulous room (admittedly we had been upgraded). The room was massive with all the facilities you could need including fridge, kettle and complimentary fruit and bottled water every day. The bed was huge and comfortable and we had a balcony with a wonderful view of the mosque. There was a little study with a desk in it and a large dressing room with plenty of wardrobe space and shelving. The bathroom was also big with a separate toilet off of it and a really large and efficient walk in shower. There was also a lovely bath with shower attachment. Toiletries were topped up daily and were of a good quality - Occitaine. The wash basin area was also of a good size. Servicing of the room was offered twice a day. Wifi was free, no password and very easily accessible.

The public areas were beautiful and well maintained. There was a large lobby and big entrance where cars drew up. From the lobby you could access the various restaurants with different cuisines - Chinese, French, Vietnamese, Seafood and Sofra (buffet plus breakfast was served here). The lifts were very quick and efficient and the public toilets beautifully maintained. There is a little boat that ferries you along a waterway to the hotel gym and nearby souk, well worth a ride, even for just a round tour. The pools are clean and well looked after. The sun beds are comfortable and the towels are wrapped round the seats for you. For every pool visit you are given complimentary water in a cooler, never had that anywhere before. These services are also provided on the private beach.

Sofra Bld is the restaurant we had breakfast in and ate in every evening. Most days the buffet was virtually the same, apart from a couple of speciality nights. The ambience was nice, we always sat outside as the temperature was lovely in the evenings and the views were good. Service was very good and friendly. The food was of an excellent quality, but sometimes could have been a bit hotter. There was a wide variety of international cuisines, Indian, Chinese, English, Mexican, Sushi etc and always a variety of seafood - prawns, oysters, mussels. The salads were lovely especially the roasted aubergine, humous, tabbouleh and couscous. There was really only one small criticism and that was a lack of labelling. It was not always clear what the meats or fish dishes were. Admittedly there were servers at most stations but you don't always want to keep asking. There was also a grill where dishes could be cooked freshly to order. Food did not ever seem to run out. It was constantly kept full and tidy/well laid out. Desserts were lovely. There were crepes made to order and 6 varieties of ice cream with flavours changing daily. There were lovely mini desserts, various cakes and every night there were 3 chocolate fountains running (milk, dark and white chocolate) which seemed to be very popular.

Service throughout the whole establishment was brilliant. It was never too much or contrived but seemed totally genuine from a whole mixture of nationalities. They were always polite, smiling and helpful. Many of them knew our name and remembered little things about us. We felt totally relaxed and at home. We had a couple of very small problems in the room. These were dealt with extremely quickly and with efficiency plus apologies. The problems were forgotten quite quickly because they were acted upon so well.

We would definitely come back here if in Abu Dhabi again and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Hevsy, thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your recent stay in our hotel. Your comments will most certainly serve as inspiration and motivation to the whole team. This will encourage them to continue to provide excellent service to all our valued guests. Rest assured that your feedback along with my thanks for a job well done will be shared with all colleagues. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is my 2nd visit and I loved it. Service is excellent.Everyone from front desk to the doorman remembers you....always ready to assist you, a service with a smile. Highly recommended to stay here. Thumbs up to Mr Mido from Crystal Bar for his amazing service...not forgetting the rest of them too...Keep up the good job guys, you all ROCK!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Review on Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi


We experienced a mixture of both delights and disappointments during our 2 night stay on the 14th and 15th November.

Main reception

The main reception staff who escorted us upstairs to the Priority check in on the 5th floor was very good, polite and professional.

Priority check – in

We felt that the staff could have been more efficient and professional. The female staff member checking us in was not focusing on us as she was constantly chatting to her male colleague in her own language (which is rude in any hospitality service). She was also trying to multitask by checking in others at the same time as us (i.e. copying other ID Documents etc) so we did not feel we had a priority check- in and also took longer than expected.

Hotel Facilities & Services

The hotel itself is beautiful and in a nice location. Our room was excellent and feel the layout and choices of restaurants are fantastic!
The turn down service could be looked at as we were surprised to find that the ironing board was still in the middle of the room, the hairdryer out etc and not put away just to make the room look neat and tidy. In our experience, the turn down service includes a quick tidy up of the room as well as turning down the bed covers. The staff answering the phones for room service etc, are always polite and service is quick.

The Bord Eau Restaurant & Service

This restaurant is an absolute delight! The food was superb, as was the service. Absolutely impeccable from beginning to end! We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone! Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

Poolside Bar & Service

Unfortunately, we can’t say the same for the poolside bar as it leaves a lot to be desired. The staff has this apathy about them as if they can’t be bothered. They are inattentive and service is poor. When glasses are empty, they don’t notice so they stay empty. Nobody asks you if you’d like a refill so consequently, you have to physically go to the bar yourself to get a drink. Once you’ve ordered your drink, you still have to wait 10 – 15 minutes to receive it! Management needs to focus on this area to see for themselves. In our experience, planting mystery guests at the pool bar would give you a truthful evaluation and feedback.

Poolside Attendants & Lifeguards

These staff are very friendly, efficient and good at what they do!

Sofra Restaurant & Service

We chose to have breakfast on both mornings in the Sofra Restaurant and will not do so again! The first morning, after we ordered tea, we waited for approximately 15 minutes before asking where it was. This happened twice and we noticed that other guests were experiencing the same. The ticket system to order your breakfast does not work and is extremely ineffective! Yesterday morning, my husband’s omelette arrived and mine was served 5 minutes after his when he was almost finished. It has to be served together!!! This morning, even though it did not appear to be busy, we waited 25 minutes and then my husband received his breakfast and mine did not arrive! His breakfast was not what he had ordered either. We spoke to the Manager but did not get a very good impression. My breakfast arrived and my husband got his 10 minutes after mine. This is totally unacceptable! While we were waiting, we observed many complaints from other guests around us for wrong orders, poor service etc.
The service is extremely poor and cannot be called 5 star. The staff/ waiters are very busy but their energies are misdirected and are therefore inefficient. They are not receiving proper direction from management and consequently results in chaos. The pots of tea are left on the central service station so nobody knows who’s doing what. I would suggest waiters are allocated specific tables to be accountable for and promote a sense of responsibility and pride in their work. A little competition between colleagues, if done correctly, can be a good thing.

Pearls and Caviar Restaurant & Service

This restaurant is beautiful inside and in a wonderful location! It’s really quite stunning; however, the staff and service let it down. The staff are too busy chatting to each other and not paying attention to their service or customers. In fact, they gave the impression that they were discussing their customers which is an absolute NO NO!!! Our starters of oysters and scallops were excellent! The seafood platter for 2 was OK but was a bit tough and overcooked for an award winning restaurant. I would also suggest giving customers finger bowls after eating seafood as we did not get any. This is usually the norm if you are eating any shellfish in our experience.

Club Horizon & Service

We had the very good fortune of having Theint’s service. She is absolutely outstanding in every way, her service, appearance and manners are fantastic and she goes the extra mile for her customers. Very impressive and would love to recommend that she gets some recognition for her excellent work!
We had an unfortunate mishap in the Club last night when one tall male staff member (didn’t catch his name) accidently spilt a whole glass of wine over my husband, soaking his shirt and trousers! Accidents do happen and after he changed his clothes everything was fine. The staff member apologised profusely then insisted and arranged for the clothes to be laundered immediately and returned free of charge! We thought this was very kind and accepted, explaining where the clothes could be collected as we were on our way to dinner. Imagine our surprise to find, on our return, the clothes still in the same place as when we had left. The Laundry did not happen, after all the insistence. No follow up was done and no apologies for empty promises.

Summary

On the whole we feel that, although we enjoyed most of our stay, ultimately, the staff’s lack of attention lets down the good reputation that the Shangri- La has worked hard to achieve. They have a long way to go before they live up to the high standards of their sister hotels in Penang and Muscat.

John & Gill Clooney

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear John C, thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel in TripAdvisor. As a five star hotel establishment committed to giving excellent customer service to the public, your feedback is most valuable to us as it is through these constructive comments and suggestions we can better determine where additional efforts will be directed in order to maintain the high standards that you have come to expect from the Shangri-La brand.
We have received your reply to our email today and we sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back once again to our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-la for five nights in a deluxe room. From the minute we stepped into the hotel until we left we were treated with such respect, hospitality was second to none and staff ,each and every one of them, absolutely wonderful. We felt like we were part of one very big happy family, and the atmosphere and Chinese restaurants each evening. If anyone complains about the breakfast choice then they won`t be happy wherever they go. Plenty of choice, very well presented, and all served with a very large smile. Dinner was equally as satisfying. Again plenty of choice and variety each evening and waited on by very committed staff. The pool staff often get overlooked but they are exceptional in the service they offer. My husband and I are not terribly mobile but we were looked after with great compassion. It is very obvious that the management invest a great deal of time and money in their staff and their training, especially customer service. Each member of staff is referred to as a "colleague" rather than staff, and those same staff are very proud to be associated with and work for Shangri-La. Even when we left for the airport the staff came out to wave us goodbye and wish us well on our journey home They seem to have found the perfect recipe to offer a perfect service and we are hoping to return very soon.

Incidentally, almost forgot to mention that the hotel itself is wonderful, a very calming environment with plenty of space and easy on the eye interior design. Deluxe rooms are very spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Public areas are equally as pleasing.

Don`t hesitate, book your stay now, a warm welcome guaranteed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank ArkwrightOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,297 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing