We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #14 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

For a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Abu Dhabi you can't do better.
Service is excellent. They have one of the best buffet breakfasts we have ever induldged in. View across the water to the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    367
    121
    39
    35
See reviews for
554
995
94
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is just Superb and in a great location. The rooms are spacious and well maintaned,clean and the balcony was good with great views of the Grand Mosque.The room service was very good. All the Staff were really friendly and helpful.The food and service in the Shang Palace,Hoi Ain and Sofra Bid restaurants was excellent. How ever the Pearls and Cavier Restaurant was a bit of a dissapointment though,The service was not really up to standard,although the decor was great the lighting was so dim,could not see what was said on the menu and what was on the plate in detail also what you ordered and thought you were getting generally turned out to be a different version of what was on the menu.
The Souk near the hotel is well worth a visit. I will return to this superb hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colinpennyfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear colinpennyfu2, thank you for the great review of our hotel posted on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we are happy to share your kind comments about our colleagues with the whole team. It is certainly motivating and inspiring to receive such good feedback from our valued guests. We also sincerely appreciate the points for improvement on Pearls & Caviar. As a five star hotel establishment committed to giving excellent customer service to the public, your feedback is most valuable to us as it is through constructive comments and suggestions we can better determine where additional efforts will be directed in order to maintain the high standards that you have come to expect from the Shangri-La group. Please accept our apologies for letting you down on this occassion. Please do get in touch with me at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com as I would sincerely appreciate to hear more about your dining experience.Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed at this property earlier this week for a night on business trip!

Check in was swift and the lady ensured that she ushered me all the way to the room and opened the balcony doors to help enjoy the great Abu Dhabi weather.

Hotel despite being 6 years old, looked new and very well maintained.

Very good buffet spread and service levels that reminded you of Indian courtesy
Staff was very helpful and even guided me to the place where I should go for the run in the morning!

overall, great location and great property!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gupta_subodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has it all! Breathtaking views over the water towards the Grand Mosque, amazing customer service, a great choice of restaurants. We loved the Arabic decor and souk within the hotel, it gave it a real local feel. Buffet breakfast wasn't cheap, but absolutely worth the money. The selection of foods and drinks could satisfy any palate. The rooms were also amazing, and the customer service was second to none. Our stay was really capped off when we were departing Abu Dhabi International, where we were met by the nicest concierge from Shangri-La who helped us right through to the customs desks. We would definitely return!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thejezoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spend 2 nights at the Shangri-La hotel at the beginning of December and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service provided is excellent and the staff who welcomed us and looked after us could not have been any more pleasant and helpful: all this with a smile!
The infinity pool looking towards the Great Mosque was very nice: pool water pleasantly hot, enough shade if you wanted it and complementary bottles of water in a cool box.
The Pearl & Caviar restaurant offers a good sea food menu , with, I may add, some meat dishes.
The main restaurant, self service, has plenty of choices and should please most palates.
The bedroom was spacious and well appointed, in keeping with most 4/5 stars hotels.
Definitely a place to go back to as the standards and service were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittanygirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Cant say enough great things about this stunning property; I wish I had longer to explore. My room was enormous, with balcony view of Grand Mosque. Classy throughout. Loved the free wifi, strong signal, port for iPods, and in-room iron and ironing board. Only complaint is that the facility is quite large and irregular in shape, so you might get a bit lost just looking for the lobby or proper elevator bank. Wish my wife could have seen this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MishkaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear MishkaNewYork, thank you for the great review! We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have stayed at the Shangri La for 2 nights in August. The rooms are great and very much Moroccan looking. We had a terrace room which means you can go directly to one of the pools from your terrace. The hotel is located in a complex with the the residences and the Trader's hotel on the beach (channel between Abu Dhabi island and the mainland). There is also a souk in the complex so that shopping is not that difficult. There are also plenty of food options. It is a great spot to relax from work without driving too long.
Would stay there definitely again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#10 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.1 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing