We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucky Upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Lucky Upgrade”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It must first be said that we were not originally booked at The Shangri La but, luckily for us, we were moved from Traders along with our travelling companions.
We had purchased an upgrade at the Traders and this was also honoured on our move to The Shangri La which was itself, in any case, an upgrade.
The hotel, services, facilities and staff were nothing short of excellent. The room and it’s fixtures were excellent with tremendous attention to detail; the cleaner even arranged all our toiletries, every day, on a separate towel – very tidy. The only difficulty was with the light switches and even with a degree in electrical engineering I never did figure out the different combinations!
The Breakfast which we took in the Club where we were welcomed by name every day was superb. We began to note the names of exceptional staff but the list got too long.
The view from all areas is fantastic and the photographs are treasures.
A slight query with the credit card details, which seemed to be from IKEA, was quickly investigated and when we lost a gold ring (since found) the whole of the management and security department got involved with fingertip searches. On the beach underused staff were employed to deliver complimentary cold juices and even a glasses cleaning service, with a smile.
Having said all that it was supremely relaxing and at no time did we feel staff were over-bearing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    383
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
588
1,050
101
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed for four nights on the last leg of our silver wedding anniversary tour. The lobby is very impressive and very traditional. Initially when we arrived at 2am we were disappointed not to be given a room with a view of the Grand Mosque but we were able to change to Room 401 the next day. This was right at the end of the corridor and a long walk to the lift so we wouldn't recommend this room, despite the view. Then we had hot water coming out of the cold tap but this was dealt with promptly by hotel engineers. The room itself though was clean and spacious with a very nice tiled bathroom and good quality toiletries. There was also fruit and free water in the room.
We thought the buffet restaurant was brilliant. The choice was enormous and the desserts were a work of art. It would have been helpful though to have name tags in front of some of the dishes as there wasn't always someone to ask. We also ate in the Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel which again was excellent.
We joined the Horizon Club and had breakfast and afternoon tea on the 5th floor. We didn't manage to get there for free drinks and canapés.
The hotel itself is a 10 minute taxi ride to the Grand Mosque which is so impressive, its a must visit. The Corniche and beaches are ca. 20/30 minutes away. Everything is quite spread out.
We would like to thank the management for the lovely flowers and cake given to us for our anniversary - a very nice touch and very much appreciated.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraCologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My parents came to visit my brother and I in Qatar and we all went away for the weekend to Abu Dhabi for a 'change of wind', a gourmet dinner and some fun family time. What a pleasant surprise to end up at the ShangriLa with its impeccable service and attention to detail. Our weekend was fantastic -- so fantastic that we only left the hotel to attend our AbuDhabi Gourmet dinner at the Ritz (across the creek) and then when we departed on the final day -- we would have stayed longer if we could have. Amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with the staff at ShangriLa. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank teacherandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral UK
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, after spending 4 nights at Sofitel The Palm Dubai. We paid £1,018 for 4 nights in a Horizon Club level room.

Arrival 5/5 - our bags were whisked away from us before we even stepped out of the car. Very impressive lobby area. The hotel is 5 years old and has a traditional Arabic feel. We were quickly taken to the 5th floor to the Horizon Club check in. As it was only 11.00, we had to wait a short while for a room, which we accepted, but we were given tea/coffee in the Horizon Lounge.

Room 5/5 - we stayed in room 536, overlooking one of the pools, with fine views across the creek to the mosque. A pot of hot tea and chocolates were in the room for our arrival. A large room with a large flat tv with good choice of channels including both SKY News, BBC news and film and sports channels. You can also check your ongoing bill from the tv, which I always like. a very high quality king bed with lovely quality linen - we slept very well. Plenty of wardrobe and storage space. A digital safe, hair dryer and iron & board. Tea/coffee facilities. Good size fridge. Complimentary fruit and water. The water is provided daily.

Balcony 5/5 - large with 2 small sofas and a chair and table. Fine views across the creek to the mosque.

Bathroom 5/5 - very large with a huge bath and a large walk-in shower. Separate toilet room with bidet. Lovely tiles everywhere. High quality L'Occitane toiletries. Bathrobes and slippers.

Evening turndown service. Faultless housekeeping and room service.

Horizon Club Lounge 5/5 - open for breakfast, afternoon tea and early evening. The latter has free drinks from 6.00 to 8.00 pm, with hot & cold canapés. Superb food and service all of the time.

Beach 5/5 - nice fine white sand. Quality loungers and shades. Staff will make up your sun lounger for you and provide a cool box with bottled water. Sunglasses cleaned daily and fruit kebabs too.

Pools 5/5 - the hotel has a number of pools. The central one is an infinity pool. Lovely padded sun loungers. Service is immaculate.

Location 4/5 - perhaps a little bit out, but nowhere is very far away in Abu Dhabi, so it doesn't matter where you stay. The Grand Mosque is an AED 15 cab ride away. The Corniche and Emirates Palace hotel are only a short ride away. There can sometimes be noise from the nearby small airport, especially from helicopters.

There is a small mall attached to the hotel, with plenty of restaurants and shops and there is a small supermarket. You can walk to it directly from the hotel. We had a nice Indian meal here one night.

Breakfast 5/5 - everything you could ever want to eat including a chocolate fountain!! That's a first for us. A staggering choice of food and all good quality.

Restaurants - we did not have a meal in the hotel, but ate in the Horizon lounge and the Souk.

Staff 5/5 - superb in every way. There were staff everywhere and all were polite and helpful in every way. Faultless. they even waved us off as we left.

Overall 5/5 - this is a very high quality deluxe hotel that caters for your every need. Lovely architecture everywhere. We could not fault our stay any way and would highly recommend it for either business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada Rosal, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent service.Brilliant management, amazing team work.effective communication. Friendly approach.reflective feedback.the manager was very prompt to respond and was aprochable.communication was very effective that the delivery was perfect as the way I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at this lovely hotel that I chose because of the beautiful Arabian architecture. Check-in was smooth with a very short delay and we got a free upgrade ! I loved our room #143 which opened out right in front of the kids swimming pool. The service and the staff were brilliant, so helpful, courteous and efficient. I had a problem with my door not opening and it was dealt with in short time. The buffet and Thai food was excellent. Cannot reccommend this hotel enough. You will see my family next year !

Room Tip: I loved my room 143, situated right in front of the kids pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriah311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in November 2013 for 8 nights (laptop broken so couldn't post review till now!), we stayed here also in 2012, and it is just as everyone says, beautiful, clean, sumptuous, excellent staff/service/food everything! We had emailed in advance to try and get the same room as last year as it was right at the end and so quiet, however as we also requested an early check in (9am ish) our room wasn't ready so they offered us another. There were no non-smoking rooms available so we tried a smoking one, however it smelt stale and musty so we said we would wait for the original room to become available. Staff then spoke to their manager and upgraded us to a non-smoking suite which was absolutely wonderful and huge and we got immediately! Really nothing is a problem for this hotel and they go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. We ate in the Shang Palace, Pearls & Caviar and the pool bar, all were excellent. The rest of our meals were at various restaurants in the souk (Ushnas, Noodle Bar, The Meat Company) and again all top notch, no complaints. Our only mediocre meal was at the sister hotel, Traders, we opted for the Beach BBQ which we booked through Shangri-La. They seemed to have no record of our booking, then we got plonked at a table and left, no drinks, nothing. Eventually I went to the bar (it was table service) and got some wine brought over. The food wasn't great, meat ok but salads etc very basic and very quickly there were no prawns or chicken left (which was the nice things everyone wanted), just the local fish or some tough-ish lamb. We were really disappointed as Shangri-La is amazing and we thought the sister hotel would be at least good! Never mind you live and learn, will happily be going back to Shangri-La at some point but will skip Traders..... Visited the water park this year, had a fantastic day, some said the food was pricey but we didn't think so. We went on a week day and there were no queues for most of the rides, only ones with queues were the raft rides where 6 people go on at a time, this seemed to be a problem with the conveyer belt though bringing the rafts back up more than anything. A good fun day out though! And one last thing, we went for in-room dining one night, it was a faultless service, extremely quick and the food was delicious! Highly recommend this hotel to everyone :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,174 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,347 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,095 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing