We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Padstow, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Luxury place to stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was allocated the Shangri-la hotel for work, and stayed for two weeks. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The room was sensationl. lovely view over the river towards the Sheik Zayed Mosque. The bathroom was very nice, big and very well appointed.

After arriving back from work, my friends and I always stopped in at the foyer coffee shop and had tea and hot chocolate. The staff were perfect - service was excellent.

The souk next door was handy and had some great restaurants as well as nice shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    382
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
586
1,042
100
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

From the moment we landed till the moment we left I can't fail this hotel! What a gem! I booked a pick up service from hotel for 250 AED a bit price in compare to normal taxis but what a way to start a holiday ! A representative from hotel was waiting for us at the bag carousel picked up our bags on the trolley waiting the car was fantastic with refreshing cold water, fresh wet towels.. WOW
The choking in process was smoothI was checking in my hubby booked us on s free shuttle to town so within half an hour we were showered and on our way to discover wonderful Abu Dhabi! The whole stay was fantastic! The staff couldn't be more helpful. The highs were visit to viceroy..
On the check out we got a taxi, while we were in the taxi hotel contacted hotels rep in the airport he was waiting for us and walked us to the check in caring out bags. From start to finish a wonderful holiday! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank trvlr0185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Shangri La last year to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and it was the best decision we made. Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable garden view room. Check in was fast and smooth and when informed Receptionist about our wedding anniversary we received a cake to our room with bouquet of roses. We are planning again to stay there this year to celebrate our 6 th wedding anniversary :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wafa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurmala, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very good hotel. Liked everything. All was just TOP TOP level. Just one small minus- not many activities for very small kids, or maybe there were and just did not notice that :)
Thanks a lot to hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Olegs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights for my husband's birthday. The service was exceptional from the moment we checked in and were helped to our room. We stayed in an Executive Suite which was huge with lots of lovely extras including fresh roses, wide selection of teas and coffees and Bulgari toiletries. The balcony was huge overlooking the beach and Abu Dhabi mosque.

As part of our room we were entitled to use the Horizon Club lounge. They served afternoon tea and then alcoholic drinks and canapés between 6pm and 8pm with a nice terrace to sit outside on. We could also use it for breakfast but chose to eat in the main restaurant where there was a vast selection. Probably one of the best breakfast selections I have seen in a Middle East hotel.

The pool here is lovely and a good temperature which made a nice change from the freezing temperatures hotels normally cool it to. Nice touches during the day such as a cool box with water, someone who comes and cleans your sunglasses and offers you fruit. The pool bar is good and again fantastic service.

We ate in Pearls and Caviar which has a great setting over the water overlooking the mosque. They also presented my husband with a birthday cake which was a nice touch, even though there was no way we would be able to eat it all as it was huge. There are also lots of other restaurants in the Souk next to the hotel including the Meat Co where we also ate.

My only complaint about this hotel is we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Executive Suite is huge and access to the Horizon Club is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiHaverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Most things about this hotel could not have been better....the room was fantastic (great view of the mosque, pool and beach; comfy bed; nice and spacious with everything you need); the service was great (nothing ever too much trouble; friendly porters; cool towels and fruit by the pool); the pool and beach were lovely.
Whilst this hotel was across from the Grand Mosque on a strip of about 4 hotels and a souk -with a nice path alongside the beach - great for evening walks.....it was in a bit of an odd location seemingly near two of the key roads and with what appeared to be building sites and wasteland around. The beach too - whilst nice to lie on the sand - was essentially a river - so not the clear blue waters you'd have on a hotel by the sea.
Overall a great place - mid way between the Corniche, airport and Yas Island; lovely hotel and service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaySpeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here in March having booked 2 Horizon club rooms,and found the Hotel to be a little disappointing to say the least.The first of which, is the complete lack of consistency over the dress code for men in the evening. All other 5 star hotels I have stayed in require men to wear long trousers in the lounge in the evenings, however it seems here, long shorts or extra baggy swim shorts is acceptable, along with flip flops. It also depends on the length of the shorts, However on our last evening, there were a lot of locals who seems to able to wear what they had been wearing on the beach that day. Additionally I would not expect to see young children, running around, and picking at the food with their hands from the counter. In all fairness to the hotel, it wasn't quite their fault for not getting a better review, but I think there was a lot more that could be done to improve the experience we suffered. Whilst I agree with the other comments made about the very good service from the staff, and the rooms, there is one over riding factor, which needs to be addressed, if they want to keep attracting visitors for a relaxing break. If you think you can relax here, think again, far from it! This hotel is by no means the most expensive nor the cheapest, and along this part of the coast is the Ritz Carlton, the Traders, and Fairmont Bab-Al-Bahr, and like the Shangri they all suffer from the same problem. Bloody noisy JET SKI's. You can set the time from them, every afternoon at 3.00pm they start, not just one or two, but dozens. There tear up & down in front of the beach, revving their engines, riding up onto the beach, with the sole intent of causing as much trouble, noise, & fumes as possible. Even if you decide to go back you your room, you cannot open the doors because of the noise. This lasts around 3 hours. On my last afternoon, Friday the 21st, I confronted some of them over the issue the guests were having, and it became quite nasty, whereas security, and the head of security needed to be called. Clearly these yobs really don't care, and the hotel has no way of protecting its guests from these incidents. There was a coast guard boat about 100 yards off shore, but they weren't bothered by it. Unlike Dubai where they depend now on Tourism, Abu Dhabi is still oil rich, so it seems Tourism & the safety of guests is not part of the overall policy of the Government.
For this reason alone I would not recommend this Hotel as a place where you felt safe, or could relax.

Room Tip: Club rooms are on the 4th & 5th floors, so if you can get your hands on a sniper rifle you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Richard M, thank you for taking the time and effort to share your staying experience and observations through Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your kind compliments on the hotel's facilities and services and rest assured that it will be shared to the entire team. Thank you for your feedback on the current hotel's dress code practice, it is through feedback from our valuable guest such as yourself we are able to determine where additional efforts may be directed in order to maintain the standard you have come to expect from Shangri-La. On another note, you have raised a valid comment in regards to the jet skis disturbance issue. We are indeed disappointed and very concerned about the situation. We are currently working with local authorities to regulate jet skis off the canal area in order to preventing noise and nuisance to the guests of all four properties. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hear from you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,147 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,214 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing