We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our last two nights were spent here our daughter had booked this hotel which was a surprise for her Dads birthday, the hotel had organised a cake for him when we arrived in the room, a very nice touch, other nice touches were slippers and your bed turned down at night, the room was very large, beautiful bathroom, very comfy bed, lovely balcony, we did not have a view of the sea but the room was in a very quiet location. On the beach/pool towels were provided, sunglasses cleaned, cool box with water, fruit on sticks, fruit drinks, could not fault the service at this hotel, we enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singleyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a gem in the heat. This hotel has the old world charm of the country. The views from the lobby and the rooms are wonderful. The staff couldn't be more helpful especially when not dressed right for a mosque visit.. The pool seemed plenty large with a great view at the end. The service around the pool was great. I liked the part where they cleaned my sun glass lens. The rooms were big and clean. Enjoyed the Horizon Club. The hostess who greeted you by name gave a nice touch. I've never had service like this . The Souk was nice to walk through and enjoy some shops. I enjoyed the free shuttle into town and to the Mosque. I din't realize there was a busy street outside.Booking excursions is easy a the hotel.t. It seemed like everyone loved working and were always smiling. They couldn't have been more caring to a customers need. Congratulations to Arbind Shrestha the GM, who is as friendly and the workers.

Room Tip: if you don't have a view and want one, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have to agree with other comments about large comfortable bedrooms and friendly staff but I was very disappointed with other aspects of the hotel. Location - adjacent to a very busy road so there was the sound of traffic all day and night. Swimming pool - this was far too small for the size of the hotel which made it quite crowded and noisy at times. The 'beach' - this appears to be a man made beach on a canal which runs in front of the hotel, dozens of jet skies drive up and down the canal all afternoon making a tremendous noise and causing distribution.
I was expecting a nice relaxing break but it didn't quite work out this way. I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of the issues I experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Dormouse24, thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. It is with regret to learn that your some aspect of your stay did not live up to your expectation. We thank you for your feedback and it is duly noted. We hope that in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is a beautiful hotel. The hotel is attached to the souk so there are a lot of food options. Book the club room - it was a great money saver with free breakfast and snacks throughout the day. It's beyond the hotel's control but on Friday afternoon the jet skis were incredibly loud.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Jen0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel may not be at the hot resorts of Yas Island or Saadayat but having stayed in many Abu Dhabi and Dubai hotels this is the best.

Wonderful spacious room with balcony, excellent eating choices but most of all the staff all surpass any expectations in the way the anticipate needs and provide service with a smile.

Relaxing luxury break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Good - Stayed 7 nights. Book in was smooth and efficient, personally shown to our room.
The Room was large, immaculate and had a very comfy bed. The Housekeeping staff were very efficient and kept us well stocked with fresh fruit and toiletries.

Every member of staff we met was friendly, helpful and attentive. Nothing was to much trouble. Everyone had a smile on their face.

The Pool Staff were excellent. Providing iced flannels, water, fresh fruit on a skewer and sunglasses cleaning which was a nice touch. Moving beds to chase/avoid the sun was never an issue to them.

We ate in the lobby lounge for a casual meal, plus afternoon tea. Excellent quality and service.
The Pearls and Caviar, a beautiful restaurant, again excellent quality and service. The only issue was the choice of music by the resident DJ. It was more suitable for a nightclub than a high class restaurant.
The evening buffet was excellent quality with a good selection, although we did feel it was a little overpriced.
Breakfast buffet had a fantastic selection, the pastries being the best we had ever tasted.

The boat ride to the Souk was a great touch, as was the water taxi along the bay.

Being met at the airport by Shangri La staff and assisted to check-in certainly makes you feel special.

The bad - Our holiday coming to an end. We really could not think of anything to criticise or make adverse comment upon.

This is fantastic Hotel which I would recommend to family and friends. Thank you Shangri La.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballydingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was allocated the Shangri-la hotel for work, and stayed for two weeks. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The room was sensationl. lovely view over the river towards the Sheik Zayed Mosque. The bathroom was very nice, big and very well appointed.

After arriving back from work, my friends and I always stopped in at the foyer coffee shop and had tea and hot chocolate. The staff were perfect - service was excellent.

The souk next door was handy and had some great restaurants as well as nice shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,271 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,419 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#21 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £160 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing