We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and food and a spot of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have been to the Shangri-la for 2 weekend breaks in the last 6 weeks and have just booked to go back again in May. It is a superb hotel, very nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff are happy and very attentive.

We stayed in 2 different suites in the Horizon Club. They were both amazing with terrific bathrooms and double balconies. The first had a fabulous view over the water to the Grand Mosque. The only one negative thing I would say is that you can potentially be unlucky with room allocation - if you are on the East side of the hotel you are on the side where the restaurants and bars are. When we where there they had i-kandy at the open air bar directly below the rooms and that was competing with noise coming from the Pearls bar at Pearls and Caviar which has loud music until 3am. It did disturb us a bit on our second stay.

It is worth the upgrade to the Horizon Club. The private check-in is a nice touch and the complimentary bar between 6pm and 8pm is cool. Breakfast is also included and is in the club lounge or terrace so you don't have to go near the main buffet downstairs.

We found the beach almost deserted - which did mean we didn't get any waiter attention without having to go and find it but did mean it was peaceful....ish......you do get some road noise and occasional low plane.

We ate at Hoi An which we didn't think much of - see separate review - and Pearls & Caviar which we did like. Great seafood. We took a wander along to the Souk next door though and discovered several restaurants and bars in there so there are cheaper dining options on hand too.

Overall, 2 days refreshed us completely and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Recommend to anyone looking for a bit of luxury. For sightseeing it's handy for the Grand Mosque and that's about it but then again, that's pretty much the main Abu Dhabi attraction.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the bar and restaurants if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maw0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is 5 star, the rooms are smart, the food is good and the service is what you expect but...it's not Dubai. Having been extremely fortunate to visit Dubai on a number of occasions and stayed at some of their best hotels I had high expectations. If you expect a 5 star hotel you will get it, if you expect Dubai levels of sycophantic indulgence you won't. Getting club room access is worth it as Afternoon Tea is nice and drinks and canapés in the evening are also good. I paid about 25% less than for a similar standard in Dubai e.g. The Address or Mina a Salam. So it is good value for money. Would I come back? Probably not, would I recommend it for a great value 7 day break, almost certainly.

Room Tip: Get a Horizon Club Room on the front overlooking the Mosque. All Club Rooms are on ablest the 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Abu Dhabi has no shortage of top end hotels including of course the outrageously OTT Emirates palace (see my review). For our first visit to Abu Dhabi we chose the Shangri-La because of the excellent experience of the Garden wing at the Shangri-La in Singapore - we were not disappointed. The hotel is located midway between the airport and down town Abu Dhabi and so if shopping is your aim you might be better of at one of the numerous hotels down town (Etihad Towers). Having said that the hotel has a courtesy bus every morning that will run you into town at no cost and taxis are plentiful and the cost is 40 Dirhams each way for the 20 minute ride. What you get at the Shangri-La is a beautiful low rise hotel set in lovely gardens with an immaculate clean white sand beach and a view of the great mosque that is to die for. The decor is sumptuous in a Moorish style but is restrained and not tastelessly OTT as is the Emirates Palace. Accommodation is a mix of rooms suites and villas with serviced apartments also. close by are the Fairmont Hotel and Traders hotel as is the Souk Qaryat Al Beri (there is a little waterway linking these and a water taxi can be hired to travel from one place to another). There are three pools each spot on temperature wise in fact the main one is rather like a bath! The hotels has a number of restaurants including the lovely Pearls and Caviar (see my review) the Shang Palace Chinese restaurant and a very good French restaurant on the third floor . Buffet meals in the main dinning area are all of a very high standard with a staggering selection of dishes for both breakfast lunch and dinner all of which are top quality. There is a lovely bar for drinks at night and I was keen to note that the Absinthe is cheaper than wine (and also prepared and served correctly).The best rooms are undoubtedly the Horizon Club rooms and suites on the 4th 5th and 6th floors all of which command a brilliant view out over the water towards the great mosque. We had a premier suite and this was large with marble bathroom bath and shower a changing room as well as a small office. The bed was massive and very comfortable and there was a small balcony with view mentioned for the evening sundowner - and sunset along side the mosque is very beautiful indeed. TV is flat screen and there is a DVD player. There is also an Ipod dock. A neat feature is the safe which has a power socket inside so one can charge items whilst they are in the safe. With the Horizon Club up-grade you also get private check in and check out thus avoiding the busy lobby, free tea and sandwiches between 2 and 4 pm and free wine fizz and cocktails and delicious canapés between 6pm and 8 pm. These are served in the private club lounge away from the bustle and noise of the lobby. Horizon Club breakfasts are also served in the private area and a combination of buffet and eggs any way you like in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. So if you budget will permit the Horizon Club upgrade is a must and worth every penny. The service is as you might expect perfection and all staff are so pleasant and helpful nothing is ever to much trouble. As an example on our first evening during drinks the hotel manager introduced herself to find out how we were settling in. We got chatting and I mentioned in passing that I had brought some Blue-ray discs but was unable to play them as the player was a DVD only. Well within the next hour we were told that a Blue -ray player would be installed for me the next day (room 435) and it was! Now that is customer care with a capital C - outstanding and makes one feel very special. As I say I simply cannot fault the standard of service anywhere in this hotel and it exceeded my expectation. The only small down side is as others have mentioned are the jet skies that zoom up and down the creek outside of the marked swimming area there can be six or more so it can be noisy. The hotel is aware and are trying to get a restriction on this but clearly it is something out with their control. So stupid and dangerous are the antics that these idiots get up to it is quite fun to watch for the inevitable serious injury or fatality that must occur sooner or later! One other small point is that whilst it is clearly a family hotel as there are three pools one should be designated adults only so those wishing to get away from the screeching and wailing of little "ankle biters" can do so - just a thought as this was what they did at the Chedi in Oman. Oh I almost forgot there is an excellent spa that is well worth a visit and massages can be arranged also in the garden by the beach.
All in all a lovely hotel and a lovely stay - Recommended - (photos to follow)

Room Tip: The Horizon Club upgrade is a must and rooms overlooking the central pool are the quietest Suite 43...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Although the hotel is isolated (disappointingly surrounded by other hotels and nothing else), I would recommend it for anyone who is interested in getting a good Arabian experience. The Souq (a small shopping centre with everything you could probably need for a few days stay) is a really useful especially if you stay for longer as I did. Decor is very nice. Staff are as good as you would expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theJetSetNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed the most wonderful end to our honeymoon at this hotel. We stayed for three nights in April 2014. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff were welcoming and attentive. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Cazandtom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

i love to visit shangrila every time i am in abudhabi, but since 2 visits i can see the service is becoming poor, especially check in process and room cleaning, the check in took time and i didn't get the room i requested, they gave me smoking and they didn't follow my special requirement in the room.
also i found hair under the bedsheets, the reception is not answering the calls and sometimes they take time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank from-uae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear from-uae thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is with distress to learn that your expectations were not met in some occasion during your stay. We are very concerned about the service issues you have raised. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the relevant departments to ensure corrective action are in place for an immediate improvement. Would you please be so kind as to contact me via e-mail at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com in order to discuss further on your staying experience? Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We booked a suite for two nights including the club lounge. Room spacious and well appointed. 2 large usable balconies overlooking the water. Unfortunately maintenance had to visit 4 times to replace TV and a light fitting!
The club lounge was the highlight with superior service. We tried breakfast on last day in the main buffet, but whilst good, it was better in the club lounge. The staff in the lounge were fantastic, definitely well chosen.
The most disappointing thing was the almost continuous noise from jet-skis, obviously outside of the control of hotel.
Overall a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Club room access definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,474 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,582 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £113 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing