We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top class hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We spent 10 nights at the Shangri La Abu Dhabi for Christmas
2013 and I can say it was perfect, no faults with service at all. The staff are professional at all times and offer 100% customer service .
The food is Fine Dining which we love but you can choose to eat outside at the pool area bar which is also very nice.
The hotel joins a shopping centre where there are also other cafés and fast food outlets if you prefer just a snack.
We were thirty minutes drive from Ferrari World
Which is a must do !! It is a fantastic day out.
If there was a negative for the hotel it would be the size of the pool area of sun beds, there are not many but the beach is nice to sit on so we sun bathed there .
We will return to this hotel again in the very near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    382
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
586
1,042
100
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Always a pleasure to visit an other Shangri-La & once again bought my yearly bottle of Shangri-La Essance !
The complex is quite nice: we stayed at the Horyzon Club. The Room was well equipped & facing the water.
We uses the fitness center : really enjoyed it.
Regarding pools & beaches : too too small & no intimity wehnelt compared to the St-Régis or the Park Hyatt.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed as a couple in one of the Horizon Club Executive Suites for 3 nights over a weekend at the end of February. We love Shangri La as a brand and have stayed in a number of Shangri La properties.

Positives

Horizon Club
We were unsure whether Horizon Club would be worth the money but for us it was, we aren't bothered about a big buffet breakfast and enjoyed the HC which was peaceful and included a small buffet plus a list of hot dishes to order. The afternoon tea was fantastic and included sandwiches and a variety of sweet options. In addition the canapes in the evening were more than your typical canapes and included small hot items such as samosas and chicken satay alongside cheese and biscuits, small sweet items and your typical cold canapes. In addition the staff in horizon club were exceptional and really looked after us from making reservations in the spa and hotel restaurants to giving us an extremely generous late check out of 5pm at no extra charge.

Pools/Beach
We didn't use the main pool as it had the childrens pool attached, instead we used a smaller pool which was lovely and peaceful and the beach. Staff were again exceptional from laying out the sunbeds to bringing around complimentary fruits and sorbets each day. If you do have children the childrens pool was shaded and they provided childrens items such as buckets and spades on the beach which I thought was a nice touch.
The staff around the pool were also exceptional.

Restuarants
We ate in the chinese restaurant which was extremely quiet the night we went in which meant the atmosphere was lacking however again the staff were fantastic as was the food which really was one of the best chinese meals we have had.

We also ate at Bord Eau, we had planned on eating in this restaurant once as a treat but ended up going two nights as although it wasn't cheap for the quality of food, the service and the fantastic tables on the terrace overlooking the creek and the grand mosque it really was special and worth the money. It may seem like I am mentioning staff a lot but again they were fantastic and a particularly lovely touch was being given a gift at the end of the evening, it was two soft toy camels for my twins as I had mentioned to the staff that I had left them at home for the first time. This really was going the extra mile and really appreciated as I was missing my babies by this point.

The Spa
Whilst expensive the couples massage we had was lovely and I only wish we had been staying longer to enjoy some more treatments.

Negatives
Unfortunately the website for the hotel describes the hotel as a tranquil place to relax, on two of our three nights it was anything but. On our first night we had a head kandy party going on at the beach which was below our balcony, it was not dull background noise despite having the balcony doors closed but more like having a nightclub next door, when I called to ask what time the noise was likely to stop I was told 3am! When I said this was unacceptable they did eventually get the music turned down at around 1am but this is still to late if they are promoting this as a relaxing quiet hotel. It is a very large hotel so perhaps if you are lucky enough to be staying the other end of the hotel you wouldn't notice but at our end you really did. These 'nightclub' nights on the beach were being promoted all around the hotel so were clearly planned events, as I booked direct with the hotel at fairly short notice I would have appreciated being forewarned about how noisy the hotel would be of an evening.

The following night you could constantly hear the noise from the disco at one of their other restaurants pearls and caviar, I didn't bother complaining this time as it wasn't as loud as the night before but it was constant noise which again doesn't fit with my idea of relaxing. To me relaxing means you can go to bed at a reasonable hour in a nice quiet room.

Some people may be looking for all this nightlife or for a weekday stay which may not coincide with the weekend parties that seem to happen in which case I would highly recommend the hotel.For us we wouldn't return as we go away as a couple to relax. I also wouldn't choose it as a family holiday with our babies again due to the noise/sleep issues.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid the 'pearls and caviar' side of the hotel if you want to avoid the loud noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Shangri La Abu Dhabi for 2 nights on our way back home after travelling in Europe. The hotel is beautifully decorated in Arabic style, and the room is very spacious (Deluxe room) with private balcony. The bathroom is also very spacious, and the room is very clean. The hotel provides shuttle to most major shopping malls, the grand mosque, and Ferrari world, but taxis are available and quite cheap. The hotel is also connected to the Souk shopping centre and Traders hotel, and there's a free abra (boat) to take you to those sites back & forth. We'd like personally thank Ms. Diba for her excellent customer service, and upon knowing that we're on our honeymoon trip, she organised for our room to be decorated with rose petals, rose bouquet, and a nice chocolate cake! Thank you Ms. Diba and hopefully we'll see you again on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank tis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a super hotel with great facilities, and wonderful staff and I would not hesitate to give it a really good 4* rating. The food is great, the service is charming, if at times a bit haphazard and everyone greets you with a warm smile.

However - and it is a BIG however and hence I can only give 3*- the UAE Ministry of Tourism needs to get on top of the reckless, intrusive and wholly anti-social behaviour of the jet skiers who plague the resort from around 3pm until sunset. On Saturday afternoon there were 15-20 of them resembling nothing less than Hell's Angels, who made everyone's life a misery until it became too dark for them to stay. Clearly the hotel are aware of the intrusive nature of this as well as the danger - one jet skier came into the swimming area quite deliberately. The management told us that they are recording and photographing the perpetrators to inform the MoT but honestly the sooner the better. The Coast Guard were evidently called out but having moved them on, they returned soon after. Every afternoon it went on for hours on end.

It's a real shame for the hotel and I would not return there on this basis alone.

Room Tip: Worth going for the Horizon Club as the drinks and nibbles are good and the service charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annique27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Annique27, thank you for taking the time to share your staying experience with us via TripAdvisor We are happy to learn that overall you enjoyed our hotel’s services and facilities, however at the same time we are concerned that your stay with us was marred by the jet skis. We are indeed distressed and share the same sentiment as you over this issue. We are however resilient in working with the local authorities to address this situation to a better outcome for all guests in the four properties situated at the canal. Thank you once again, and we look to have the opportunity to welcome you again in future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Can't fault the service. They very much value the customer. Good advice re sightseeing. Rooms all seemed good. Arts and crafts market stalls in the hotel on various days. Restaurant choice very good. Great bar for business meetings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jak_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed just a couple of days after a business trip to Dubai. We had a room in the horizon club part of the hotel. All details were very well taken care off. Very friendly staff. Also enjoy the free bus transfer to the Bin Zayed Mosque, ferrari world or city center, which compensates for the remote location. Great breakfast, restaurants. Nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,146 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,213 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing