We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I've just returned from an 8 night stay at this hotel. Wish I was back there now! I've been fortunate enough to stay in some nice 5 star hotels and this one is right up there.

It is well worth upgrading to the horizon club for all the extra benefits, such as afternoon tea every day from 2 til 4 which consists of a lovely different selection of mini sandwiches, scones, cakes, fruit...it's lunch! In the evening you can sit outside on the balcony if you wish for your free selected alcoholic beverages 6 til 8 pm and also hot and cold canapés....the staff always come round asking if you would like another drink and advising you it's last orders.

The service at this hotel is outstanding in all areas, the staff are very attentive and anticipate your needs. They even have a guy who comes round and cleans your sunglasses whilst you are on the beach, lovely touch.
They even sent a man to meet me when I got out of the taxi going home at Abu Dhabi Airport to assist with the handling of my luggage and he didn't leave until I went through passport control carrying my bags...again, lovely touch.
I ate at 3 of the restaurants at this hotel and enjoyed all of my meals there. I will write a separate report on these.

Top tip if you are staying in Dubai or Abu Dhabi for about 4 nights or more...You must buy an entertainer book which you can buy on line and it takes a week to get delivered to the uk or you can buy it at any bookshop whilst you are over there. This book costs £60 to buy which sounds a lot but you will save loads of money In the long run. It's a large book full of buy one get one main meal free vouchers in loads of restaurants in the hotels all in Abu Dhabi or Dubai depending on which book you buy....and not just hotel restaurants...restaurants in the souk or in town. in the Abu Dhabi one there are also vouchers for yas waterpark, Ferrari world, golf days....and the list goes on....well worth a buy and actually all the restaurants in this hotel are in this voucher book so you can get to try them all out.

The rooms are spacious and well cleaned and they have L'Occitane shower products which is a bonus!

I just wanted a week chill out holiday with a friend, and I certainly came back feeling relaxed.

Ladies tip...if you look at Abu Dhabi time out magazine it will list ladies nights in various hotels where ladies drink free til midnight. In pears and caviar bar at the shangri la this is Wednesday and Saturday and this bar has a great atmosphere. Worth a visit.

I will be returning to this hotel and I can see why this hotel has fantastic reviews for the leisure stay and for business travellers.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JoannePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is absolutelly beautifull. As soon as you re treated as a kind. Hotel concergie gave us all necessary information about the hotel and hotel facilities. We got two beautifull hotel rooms, very specious and beautifully furnished. Rooms had great view to the Musk and nice balkony. Bathrom with shower and bath with all best toilet product needed (LOcitane).We have enjoyed breakfast which was reaaly special event, specially the chocolate fountain which we liked the most. The hotel limousine was allways awailabe for us free of charge. I will definatelly come back, big respect Hotel Shangri-La team.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the Musk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lid64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've been traveling a lot in my work over the years and stayed in many hotels in different parts of the world but the service provided by the people at Shangri-La was the best I experienced to this date.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Mikael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, the location 35-45mins from Marina Mall
The pool is gorgeous except there is so much noise from the jet skis its like being at a racetrack instead of a relaxing afternoon at the pool, complained to management, they admitted it is an issue and they have made a complaint to the tourism board, didnt help our stay though

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear snovak2014, thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. Indeed you have raised a valid comment in regards to the jet skis disturbance. We are in fact, equally concerned and share the same sentiment with you over this matter. We are however resilient in working with the local authorities to regulate the jet skis off the canal area in order to preventing noise and nuisance to the guests of all four properties. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is our second visit to teh hotel, really its wonderful stay and nice cozy and family stay.
The nice treatment and of the staff in all places in the hotel, always i am recomending to go there. don't miss it

Room Tip: Executive sweet was a very nice option for family, facing the Grand Mosque and having an very nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank k_msalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were upgraded to a Premier suite and I was amazed! Big room, huge bed and massive bathroom with big bath and a seperate walk in shower. The room also had a walk in closet and a study which was perfect for getting ready for nights out. The hotel is very luxurious and the staff were very attentive. The hotel is also attached to a souk which is great as it had plenty of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed the free abra ride from the hotel to the souk in the evenings.
The pool is lovely and beds comfortable. Great views of the Grand Mosque. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodieDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently visit the UAE, Bahrain, Qatar and Oman. We stayed in 10 different hotels and this was our favorite. Everything about this hotel is top notch. Beautiful complex, with extraordinary views of the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque. The food was excellent. The service was superb. The people here were beyond friendly. My only regret was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#2 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,423 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,538 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#24 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £128 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing