We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #14 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel Great Staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Soon as I arrived I could feel the personalised 5 star service nothing was too much trouble, front house staff named Honey was really helpful made our stay easy.

I enjoyed the amazing sunsets from my balcony. The rooms are spacious clean although could do with bit of an update now.

Breakfast by the pool overlooking the Canal was amazing great spread on offer.

Loved the small canal with it's boats running from here to the souk, the souk offers small selection of restaurants and shops I tried Azzuro which serves Italian, well priced.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great service in a traditional styled hotel with souk nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarina-reel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear sarina-reel, thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very thrilled to hear that we made your stay an enjoyable experience and it is indeed my pleasure to share this with my entire team – in particular Honey. We thank you for all your kind feedback, and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,737
    378
    126
    40
    38
See reviews for
577
1,020
96
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Only an hours drive from Dubai and we arrived for a great weekend break. Booked an executive suite which was amazing! Great space for our 1 year old daughter. The weekend was a double celebration - our daughters 1st birthday and our 5th anniversary. The hotel provided us with a cake for each occasion. I requested a room away from Pearls & Caviar as I'd been told the venue plays loud music after midnight. However, we were right next to this place but it was closed and I was advised of this on the way to our room. The housekeeper, Grace, made up our room beautifully to celebrate our anniversary by decorating the bed with roses and petals and swans made out of towels. A lovely touch. The Horizon Lounge was superb, lots of benefits - separate check-in desk, great hot and cold breakfast, afternoon tea and complimentary drinks and canapés from 6-8pm. The service was exceptional in the lounge, nothing was too much for them. Children are welcome in the lounge which is good. The pool area was lovely and the service was fantastic, complimentary chilled bottled water was very welcome in the heat. We used the babysitting service the second night so my wife and I could eat at Shang Palace. Here the service was very good and the food was average. I was allowed a late check-out to 3pm. Check-out was efficient. We sat in the lounge while the car and luggage were collected. The waitress offered us some snacks from the afternoon tea selection to take with us which was a nice touch. I really can't fault this place. It is the best hotel we have ever stayed in in the UAE. One thin is for sure, we will be returning before the end of the year!

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club room so you can use the lounge. Get a room away from Pearls & Caviar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesAVFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear JulesAVFC, thank you for reviewing your staying experience with us via TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to learn you and your family have had a wonderful stay with us, and enjoyed all our services and facilities, for such very special occasions. Your kind comments are very heartening, and I have communicated your compliments to my team – especially Grace. We are also delighted that you will be back again, feel free to drop me a note at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com if I may be of any service; be assured we will look after you. Thank you once more, and look forward to welcome you soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved every minute of our stay at Qaryat Al Beri , Abu Dhabi. Such a beautiful Hotel. Booked a executive suite. A beautiful bedroom, lounge room with a dining area, powder room, dressing room and luxurious bathroom, and two balconies overlooking the blue canal and the Sheik Zayed Mosque. On ground level, a great pool, children's pool, and beach. Outdoor bar, and seating. The morning breakfast buffet sensational. At night sitting on the terrace of the Al Hanan lobby bar, with the warmth and the view of the lit up Mosque was magic. Shuttle bus is available to take you into the Malls and there is a small souk next door for some shopping. Tours around Abu Dhabi can be arranged at the desk. The Hotel itself has a number of restaurants to choose from. All excellent.
Loved it.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the water, and the Sheik Zayed Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajman, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

the hotel was great and the food too, the service was excellent. it was a hot weather but we did not feel it as the hotel is well equipped . we really like it and recommend it to every one back home..

Room Tip: very very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ashraf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My boyfriend and I are just back from a 3-night stay in Abu Dhabi (en route to the Maldives) and words cannot describe the Shangri-La. It needs ot be seen to be believed.

We were celebrating an anniversary while on holiday and I had E-mailed the hotel in advance tp explain this to them, thinking they would pay little attention to this - but I was very wrong. From the moment we drove up to the hotel entrance, I knew that this hotel would be different to others that I have stayed in.

Of course the door was held open for us as we entered the grandest of lobbies (there was no expense spared decorating this lobby!) We were greeted with a huge bunch of fresh roses to mark our annivarsary and once check in was complete, we were escrted to our room by a member of the friendly staff. The room itself was breathtaking, It was very, very spacious with an incredible view of the Grand Mosque from the window and adjoining balcony. They had decorated our room with rose petals and had left the odd rose scattered around the room while also leaving a lovely anniversary chocolate cake and a fresh fruit bowl for us to snack on.

I can honestly say that thes hotel bed in our room was one of the best of the best beds that I have ever slept in. So comfortable and large.

The bathroom is very large and it too was adorned with rose petals. It featured all of the mentities you oculd possibly need, from toothbrushes to hair bobbins!! There is a separate bath and shower and also a separate toilet room.
The outside seating area has a table and 2 chairs aswell as a couch seat however, we were not able to enjoy this much as the weather was very warm when we were there.

The air conditioning facilities are great in the hotel. In most hotels that I have stayed in, it either has had no effect, been too cold or been quite loud. However, the air con in our room was completely silent and was at a perfect temperature at all times without us having to change it at all.

On one evening, we availed of their DVD facility which would be ideal if travelling with children or even if you are too tired to go out. They have a large selection of DVD's for you to choose from and although we tried to collect the DVD from the lobby ourself - the staff insisted it be dropped to our door.

The breakfast in the hotel is expensive - by our European standards, but it is to die for. There is something for EVERYONE and you can eat as much as you like. They even have a sweet section. The friendly servers here wait on you hand and foot. The staff in general here are unbelievably friendly. Despite it being a very large hotel - they seem to remember everyone's face and are happy to help you with ANYTHING you need. We booked a few trips through them and they have an excellent standard of English.

As we arrived late on our first night, we deicded to eat in the hotel bar which serves a variety of food and it really is of top quality. Unfortunately we did not eat in any of the main restaurants but if the bar is anything to go by, then they must be out of this world.

On our last night, we got the boat to the Souk beside the hotel and that in itself was such a lovely boat ride around the various areas of the hotel and there is a great variety of placaes to eat in the Souk also. It was well worth the trip.

The pool and beach facilities are also excellent, and have spectacular views of the Grand Mosque. They are etremely clean and are monitored by a life guard. Y are provided with everything from your beach towel, to some complimentary iced-tea, fresh fruit and a cold face-towel to cool you down.

We both had a full body massage in the Hotel Spa which was extrememly enjoyable. Although the spa was within walking distance of the lobby, the staff insisted that we get a golf buggy there. The relaxation facilities at the spa are incredible and there is a rooftop pool and fully equipped gym which are excellent.

I could spend 2 weeks in this hotel and never venture outside the grounds. It is an incredible place to stay and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You could stay in any room here and you would not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanReynolds105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We only stayed one night at the weekend and booked a Horizon Club Deluxe Room which was on an upper floor and had views of the Grand Mosque across the water. This was especially beautiful at sunset.
We were welcomed by Ramman and Koplia who took care of us and we were quite pleased that staff around knew us by our names.
The room is spacious and clean and we used the Club lounge facilities for evening drinks.
We had breakfast in the Sofra Bid restaurant as there was much better choice.
As smoking is allowed in the UAE, the inside of the hotel was quite musty smelling and this was quite annoying when walking around the open areas. However, the room was non-smoking and so, our only retreat.Having read reviews about the annoying jet skis, can confirm that there was one jet ski in the water while we were there. The more annoying noise was the music on Friday night which didn't appear to stop until I called Service at 1.45am!
The beach is tiny and due to the heat, there were hardly any guests outdoors.
The restaurants available are lovely. We had starters in Hio An and mains at Shang Palace. Delicious in both and service by Billy and Ernie great.
The Chi Spa is lovely but for the prices paid, would expect a much better massage. Not impressed.
We would definately go back to the hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PratimaMahajan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear PratimaJohannesburg, thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. It is lovely to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I have communicated your positive remarks with my team – specially Raman, Kopila, Billy and Ernie. It is also a great learning experience to know that certain areas of our services and facilities did not live up to your expectation. Be assured we have taken good note of it, and is duly addressed to my team for continuous improvement. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you in future again. At your convenience, I am reachable via arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Shangri-La in Abu Dhabi and we found the whole experience fantastic. We will return.
The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and polite and they all inquired if there was anyway that our stay could be improved. I cannot think of a single occasion when we did have a gripe or a concern.
One the potential issues was the dress code in Abu Dhabi as a whole but we found that the country had obviously become more accepting of their western visitors over time. Wearing shorts and flip flops was not an issue (within the hotel or outside) and the whole PDA piece is also blown out of proportion too (holding hands is completely acceptable, in fact there were locals doing this around the hotel).

Room Tip: We opted to upgrade to the Horizon room which had a large balcony (with sunbeds and a table/chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.1 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing