We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Sofitel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,659)
Filter reviews
2,659 results
Traveller rating
2,011
424
139
43
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,011
424
139
43
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubgrand mosquevietnamese restaurantbord eausofra bldchi spapearls caviarinfinity poolpremier roomchocolate fountainjet skinearby soukcool boxsheikh zayed mosquebeautiful hotelthe main hotelbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,133 - 2,138 of 2,659 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I stayed here 1 night in a premier room. The property itself is beautiful but the service here especially in the restaurants is FAR from polished.

When we checked in they had our room preference incorrect so we had to wait for the room to be cleaned. The desk agent then gave us our keys. She then proceeded to ask what time we were checking out which I thought was odd.

The lobby here is on the 3rd level and the signs in the lifts are difficult to read. We found "our" room and started to unpack and then noticed there were someone elses items in the closet and then we realised that we were given an occupied room!

On our way to the lobby we were met by the same desk agent with a new set of keys. We were then asked again what time we planned to check out which I thought was now rude as we had not even gotten to "our" room yet! The internet is not the easiest to log in and I had to call for instructions. As it is now free I fail to see why it is still so complicated.

The room was of excellent size. My only real call out besides the internet is the shower reeked of mildew. It looked clean but it stunk.

We read about the restaurant in the hotel information book so we headed down there for a late lunch. The gentleman at the desk told us the restaurant was "closed". We said that the hotel book said it was open but he said it was "closed". We started to head back to the room and asked another staff member what restauarants were open and she said the restauant was open for Ala Carte but the Buffet was closed so we headed back. We had some one else seat us. We ordered and waited a long time and when it arrived it was incorrect. The guy at the next table had already sent his food back twice because it was incorrect as well. He was livid and I was getting there.

We ate at the Shang Palace or dinner and the food was very good and the service was good.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and were seated and not given any menu's. We ordered our coffee and tea which was delivered and waited a good 10 min and no one approached us with menu's so we figured it was only buffet so we headed up there. We got our food only to come back to find the table cleared! I thought the buffet was overpriced.

On the way back to the room we were asked again this time by the room attendant what time we were checking out!

I was ready to go at this point.

The pool was very busy but we did not use it as we were working. The beach looked nice. There was a large balcony. I never made it on the gondola as I could not find the entrance for it and there is no mention of it in information book.

Needless to say I was not impressed with this place. I have stayed at several Shangri La's and the service here was the worst. The room rate here was also one of the highest so I felt cheated.

This hotel totally lacks what makes a Shangri La a Shangri La which is service

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bo94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

When I booked online in March 2008, the Shangri-La's website offered two rates, one for room only and another (substantially higher and called their "Value Rate") which included 6pm checkout, complimentary breakfast, free airport limousine transfers, unlimited laundry and dry cleaning, international calls and faxes at cost and free local calls. For the hotel to describe the breakfasts as "complimentary" and the airport transfers as "free" is more than a little cheeky since they are well and truly costed into the overall rate. As ours was a split stay of 9 days and 5 days, with a gap of 9 days and a late night flight between the two, I opted for the Value Rate which, in the event, proved to be no more than fair value for money. The real benefit was the 6pm checkout, which the hotel immediately extended to 7pm on asking for our flight departure time. Other than this, using metered airport taxis, and paying for breakfasts and services such as laundry, would have worked out quite a bit cheaper.

Having travelled on an overnight flight from London, we arrived at the hotel just after eight in the morning and were taken immediately to our room. There was no question of waiting until after 12 noon before being able to check-in. On our return, we again arrived around 8am and were again taken straight to our room, even though the hotel was very busy. Whether this had anything to do with our being on the Value Rate, I don't know.

The rooms were spacious with high ceilings, well furnished and very comfortable, had excellent beds and lacked nothing. State-of-the-art TV and DVD player, large illuminated walk-in wardrobe with lots of hangers, cunningly concealed kettle, tea and coffee, china mugs, saucers and plates, nice cutlery lots of glassware and a well stocked minibar. An equally spacious and well stocked bathroom had a separate walk-in shower compartment and another housing WC and bidet. Attention to detail was impressive as was the standard of housekeeping. Each day rooms were cleaned as though being prepared for new arrivals and the evening "turn-down" service was much more than that.

The several restaurants meant that, even for a stay of 9 days, there was lots of variety and choice, and the dinner buffet in the Sofra Bld had an amazing range of dishes. I felt that dinner here was excellent value although wines came at eye-watering prices. It was in this restaurant that the buffet breakfast was set out and, once again, there was a fine selection but sadly, with the exception of egg dishes cooked to order by duty chefs, much of the food which should have been hot was barely warm.

There must be few nationalities which are not represented by the staff of this hotel who are mainly young, efficient, polite and friendly. On the whole, service was not just reliable but was very good indeed and we look forward to returning to the Shangri-La in the future provided that there is no total collapse of the British Pound! Overall, this would have been incredibly good value had the rate of exchange been at the same level during our stay as when I booked last March. In the event, the Pound depreciated by more than 35 per cent against the United Arab Dirham during this time.

On a final note, when booking I asked for a high level room and stressed that I did not want one at low level. The room allocated was on the 4th floor, which was ideal, but had we been on the ground floor (rooms starting with the number 1) we would have been most unhappy as these rooms have views of passing guests and staff from their windows and terraces.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Located about 10 mins from the airport away from Abu Dhabi, the Shangri-La is not actually on Abu Dhabi island but it is only 15 - 20mins drive to the cornice and center of Abu Dhabi.

This is the hotel we stayed in while in Abu Dhabi for the one night. A large lobby area with a nice sized seating area and a bar off to the side and the buffet restaurant down a staircase. There was also a large Christmas tree set up in the middle of the seating area, with real presents set up underneath it, the staff said any children in the hotel on Christmas will get a gift from the tree.
The design of the hotel was very ancient Arabia, with large wooden doors in the hallways and rooms and large lamps like fire torches either side of room doors. Yet still maintaining a modern feel. The rooms were really nice, lots of space. The bathroom area isn’t separated from the bedroom but can closed off with large floor to ceiling sliding doors.
Rooms all have a 32inch flat screen TV, from which you can check your room bill and look up the per minute call charges to various countries if you want to use the phone.
As the hotel is mainly a business hotel you will find a stationary set in the desk drawer also should you need it. We were on the ground floor and the rooms had a small terrace area with tables and chairs and direct access to a medium sized pool and then the beach also. The beach is nice and is right across the creek from Abu Dhabi island with a great view of the Royal Mosque.

There are about 4 construction projects which can be seen across the creek, while some noise can be heard from the beach it is not very loud and would not cause disturbance. There is an infinity pool also which seemed very nice, slightly elevated overlooking the creek. The hotel also has its own souk, although not a real one. Just a small shopping area designed after a souk (which means no haggling of prices either) which is good from gifts and souvenir shopping. There is a spa & hair salon area and also two gyms (one male one female).

Really enjoyed the stay here even though it was only the one night. There's also a river which runs through the hotel grounds with boats that allow guest to sail up and down it, try it, it's a nice little journey.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mokong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Travelled here for some much needed winter sun and relaxation, and would happily recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone.

Our room was smart and spacious, and well stocked every day with fresh fruit, water and L'Occitane toiletries. I slept like a log in the super king sized bed. The bathroom itself was fabulous with a massive deep tub easily large enough for two, and huge walk in shower with both a power shower and monsoon shower. In the evening, when the sun had left the beach, we could laze on the warm balcony with a glass of wine, catching the last rays. Beautiful!

The beaches were white sand gently sloping into clear blue-green water. Soon as you stepped foot on the sand, a chap ran over and laid out the beach beds with towels, and at lunchtime came round taking orders for drinks and food. There was always a lifeguard in attendance. While not facing open sea, there was a rather fantastic view of the Grand Mosque on the opposite bank, whose regular calls to prayer punctuated the day.

The staff at this hotel were just amazing - always cheerful, attentive, friendly and very hardworking. The guys working at the pool bar ran a very tight ship, turning out huge plates of lunchtime 'snacks' and dealing with the beach orders. This goes for the staff in all areas of this impeccable hotel.

Of the bars / restaurants at the hotel, I only sampled the Sofra Bld, Pool Bar and Al Hanah, as the others seemed more formal and we were definitely in more relaxed mode. Breakfasts in the Sofra were a treasure trove of foods from around the world, ranging from freshly cooked full English, Continental, Japanese, Asian, American (fresh cooked pancakes and syrup). You could have fresh fruit or feast on pastries, meats ... there was an extensive choice, and mostly freshly prepared.

If you didnt fancy all this every morning you could grab a coffee a short stroll to the Souk away. The Souk also housed a couple more bars and restaurants, including the 8 Bar and Left Bank, whose food and atmosphere was fantastic.

Yes it's not cheap here, but it's Abu Dhabi, and it's a 5 star hotel, so it kind of goes with the territory.

I also just have to commend the gym at the spa with Technogym machines and Hari the friendly personal trainer.

There were very few drawbacks to this hotel, perhaps its proximity to a noisy bridge (whose noise faded to the background after a while), and they could have chucked a few more milks into the tea/coffee drawer into the room, but this is really, really splitting hairs!

In all, it was a warm, luxurious highly enjoyable break and I would return in a flash.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B0ndG1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

There are quite a number of poor reviews of this hotel which I find surprising, as my experience was totally positive.

All staff are friendly and welcoming, The rooms are spacious and of a high standard ( premier room ) The service is attentive and high ratio of staff to guests. ( the hotel was however very quiet when I stayed )

Food is good, and grounds are tastfully laid out, three well heated swimming pools and a good streach of beach, all with attendents and life guards.

The minus points are few in my eyes.
The hotel is not on the ocean front but on an inlet.
There is a military airbase close by and planes do fly quite low over the hotel during the daytime about one per hour.
The whole of Abu Dhabi is a building site so there are plenty of cranes in view.

Overall a good experience and an excellent stopover for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews