We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good but not exceptional”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We have stayed in several Shangri La hotels and had high expectations for this reasonably new addition. The hotel is a little out of the city but unless you are in AD for business you wouldn't really want to be any closer. The hotel is convenient for the airport and close to the Grand Mosque for those who wish to visit. We did and it is well worth the visit. Beautiful building with the world's largest chandelier, carpet etc, etc. Excellent guide who was willing to answer any questions and eager to break down any religion barriers. The tour takes place Sun-Thurs, 10am for 90 mins and is free. Ladies have to wear a burka(?) provided by the mosque and must have knees covered before even getting to enter the grounds. Would not have missed the visit.

Not alot else to see or do in AD but then we only wanted a week in the sun. The hotel has a free shuttle bus to the mosque and shopping malls. Hotel very popular with locals especially at the weekend.

There is a new boutiquey souk in the grounds which has assorted shops, a supermarket and restaurants.

Prices are as you would expect in a 5* hotel in the UAE. Burger or salad by the pool £8-10. Pint of beer £5, coke £2.50. Buffet breakfast excellent choice of food, including steak and chocolate fountain. Had the buffet one evening, again very good choice but rather expensive at £40 per person. We ate in the French Bord Eau one evening and had the blind tasting menu. Very good but only for a special occasion, £100 a head.

Service on the whole was very good. The reason why I haven't given this hotel a better rating is because of a few niggly things. At breakfast we had to keep asking for tea/coffee. When we first sat down each day we would be asked what drink we wanted and invited to go to the buffet. Then the drinks never arrived and every day we had to ask at least once or twice more for tea/coffee. One evening we had no hot water in the room, although it was sorted reasonably quickly. Also on the last full day our room was not serviced at all. We returned after a day at the pool to find the room as we'd left it that morning. It took several conversations with housekeeping and guest relations to get it sorted. Small things but not something we've experienced in other Shangri La hotels.

On the whole we had a very good stay but not exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisanddunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,763
    380
    127
    41
    39
See reviews for
581
1,035
99
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The ambience in the hotel was amazing and the staff extremely friendly. However despite having booked for 2 adults and 2 children (aged 5 and 3) we were given a room with only 1 double bed. We asked almost everyday to be moved to a bigger room but were told each time they was nothing that could be done. The holiday was not cheap so we had expected decent sleeping arrangements.

The beach was ok to walk on but no-one was laying down or playing in it and the construction work across the sea was off putting so like everyone else we stuck to the swimming pools.

The breakfast was amazing and just as expected from a hotel of this calibre and the staff exceptionally helpful but the lunchtime and dinner was in my opinion very overpriced for what it they were.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday but if the hotel had just sorted out our sleeping arrangements and had more variety for vegetarians in the restuarants it easily could have been the holiday of a lifetime.

Its probably a great place to stop if you are travelling without kids but there are better places for those with young families.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I found this Shangrila property to be very nice. The hotel location was abit out of the city, but a shuttle bus runs through out the day to get you to the city. The pool area was very relaxed. I didnt see any kids running around as they had designated childrens facilities. The business centre was fairly well equipped. I found the room to be OK. Nothing special but i had a big balcony and a nice view. The beach was desserted through out my stay at it was very hot so i took advantage of being the only couple on the beach. The sea view had a beautiful mosque. Its the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, 10 years in the making and well worth a visit. The staff were very helpful as prior to my trip i had an op on my hand which needed to be seen to every other day. The hotel arranged my hospital visits and i was always asked if i was doing ok. The buffet restaurant was one of the best i have had. Every night it was slightly differant and it was very popular. The Chi spa is world reknowned and has some great therapies. Forget the glam sham of the Emirates Palace (unless you want that sort of thing) and stay at the Shangrila Qaryet Al Bari for a very relaxing and unwinding break.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigsufLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
175 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Combined 6 days leisure/business trip with my family. Had requested joining rooms on booking, but this was hard to accommodate upon arrival. A hotel of this class should really be more attentive to prior requests! European Front Desk staff were arrogant and not genuinly friendly (as opposed to the Asian staff).
Once we got our rooms they were, as expected, truly nice and comfortable in all respects. Had a nightmare with electronic door locks that had to be changed/re-programmed 5 times in 6 days. The hotel needs to fix this problem!
All food outlets visited in the hotel were just great with food of extremely high quality. Only disappointment was that they were unable to serve hot coffe for breakfast in the Sofra Bid. I gave up after 2 days as I realized that this was just not feasible for reasons I cannot understand!
The best part of this hotel is the pool areas and the quiet location, (compared to down town Abu Dhabi). The last 4 years I have stayed in most of the down town 5 star hotels, and Shangri La will, in spite of the above mentioned problems, be my future preference in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0ggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Shangri La is the best hotel in town. I say this after months of regular business travel and having stayed in all the other 5 Star hotels in Abu Dhabi.

I have stayed in Shangri La, Intercontinental, Beach Rotana and other hotels for over 50 nights over the past two years. None of the other hotels in town come c lose.

The competence level of staff, quality of food, space and quality of the rooms as well as the hotel amenities at the Shangri La are one level above the rest (possible exception: Emirates Palace, but it's not really a business hotel).

This hotel has only one disadvantage: location. It takes between 20-35 min to get into the city by taxi which costs between US$ 6 (regular taxi) and US$ 20 (limousine).

The mediocre or even poor ratings given by some other reviewers for this hotel demonstrate how careful one has to be with hotel rating sites such as this one. Clearly many of the reviewers have either never stayed in this hotel, have no comparison or simply do not know what they are talking about.

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank alexonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

A very nice hotel, with big rooms, very classy with great service and with very effective and polite staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteleone d'Orvieto, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My husband had a business trip to Abu Dhabi so I thought I would tag along. All of the hotel staff were friendly and I never felt uncomfortable being on my own in the day. The room was very comfortable and the bed was huge, I slept like a log, which is not like me at all.
Although the weather was too hot to do much, the pool was well shaded with a great view of the Grand Mosque.
We ate in the pool bar twice, I'm not one for eating english food when on holiday but the chips were the best I've tasted!! We also ate in the buffet one night, the food was fantastic and included sushi, oysters, fillet steaks, fresh fish & lobster cooked to order and chocolate fountain. The price also included drinks, which in Abu Dhabi are not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TotalHolidayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,116 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,302 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing