We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL NAMED !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WELL NAMED !”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I had the good fortune to stay here for the whole month of Feb and would have happily stayed for another ! We had a one bed serviced apartment in the residencies and it was absolutely beautiful. The apartment was huge, with everything you could want, and more. The most peaceful and relaxing suroundings and fantastic weather, which got hotter by the day. The hotel provides a shuttle bus (free ) to take you to four of the large shopping malls. Not just on certain days,but every day, and there's various time slots. The Shopping malls are about 30-45 minutes away and well worth a visit, expensive though, but probably great if your filthy rich. i also loved the Souk in the resort, and the very friendly staff in the supermarket, visit Choco-la for the most fabulous cakes and chocolates. I used the ladies gym frequently and most of the time i had it to myself, excellent equipment and very nice staff. Yoga and Zumba classes too. Dubai well worth a visit, only about one and a half hours drive.
The Shangri-la Hotel is right at the top of my favourite's list of pure luxury, but most importantly, what make's it extra special, is all the staff that work there, especially our friend Hin who serviced the apartments. Dreaded having to leave, i hope i can return ..someday.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    380
    127
    41
    39
See reviews for
581
1,033
99
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

we stayed at this hotel for three weeks in april this year, we were in the residences in a two bedroom two bathroom residence with living area dining area kitchen ect it was huge and super clean and had seven floor to celing windows onto a patio with a pool infront of us then a lovely white beach with stunning views of the Zayed Mosque .. wonderful.
The hotel staff charming and always went the extra mile.
The food was fantastic quality
Did not want to leave , and nearly didnt when the volcano erupted!
Great for familys with small children as large shady pool areas and the staff love children
Great shopping and Amazing golf
fascinating culture
Great gym and spa

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I am a frequent traveller and every year, I am around 200 days on mission. Shangri-la Hotels are my favorites Hotels I am choosing when staying abroad. In the Shangri-la Hotel Abu Dhabi, I was staying 6 times now since its opening. The main reason for choosing Shangri-la so far was the kindness and professionalism of their staff who has given me always the impression that they take you more personally. At my last stay, I was very much disappointed as from the beginning of checking in. As a client, I was asking the Hotel to reserve a specific room that I was staying at during my previous stays or to give me an alternative one at the same floor. I did this already before and there was no discussion about this at all. This time, my request was initially completely ignored and a room was given to me at around 12 minutes walk away from the reception!! Only by insisting, my room has finally been changed. The staff a the reception has completely been replaced by new arrogant, untrained and unmotivated western and eastern european staff. The asian staff at the reception who has now been employed does not represent the friendliness and kindness Shangri-la staff normally stands for. For those guests who would like to relax after a hard working day at the beach shall do this before 4 pm as this is the moment where local jet-ski addicts change the beautiful beach of this hotel into a noisy nightmare for its guests. Despite many complaints of the guests to the Hotel, nothing has been done to this since my last stays. I made a video of this which I will upload a little later to this site. This is definitely not a Shangri-la Hotel I will stay at my future stays in Abu Dhabi for at least the next 2 years and can only hope the situation is improving. The staff at the reception shall be completely replaced by real motivated and competent Shangri-la staff from China or South East Asia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

stayed for a night in a lovely specious suite. everything was good during my stay except for the loud music that stayed until after 3 am from the night club. . i have stayed in the emirates palace and the beach rotana before, i would definetly come back to the shangri la but would chose a room in the opposite wing of the hotel, i would recommend the spa if you have the time

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adorable79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We stayed here for 10 days with my wife and child 9y. Our travelagency messed up and placed us in a studio, awfull and dark room, no view (with full kitchen and washmachine.....?) For an extra cost of Euro 80per night! they placed us in the main building...great room! not cheap tough. The swimming pool area is small and rather chaotic, the beach lagune side was better to relax, but the water of the laguna is not inviting to swim in, and the incredible noise from the freeway next to the beach from both sides??? Huge ugly building site next to the beautiful mosk..... this is NOT a 5 star location!
The cleanliness of rooms,restaurants,public places is outstanding and overall service is great and attentive, except on beach, poolbar and buffet.
Foodwise it is superb, best buffet ever in the Sofra bld., but the serving staff is unqualified to work in a 5star restaurant....pitty! maybe a European manager could solve this problem.
Good hotel for a few days, not for a longer period.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliAntwerpBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Beautiful hotel with spacious room, attentive service, stunning view of the Grand Mosque & delicious breakfast. It allowed us to join the morning tour of grand mosque easily before flying to Jordan (just 5 mins' ride). We ate our brunch and skipped our lunch during our stay because the breakfast is so yummy. Tried the "Pearl & Cavier" in the apt area, it's good with reasonable price. Much better than those restaurants in the nearby Souk. "No need to search around, the best is just next to you." After the opening of the Ferrari World, Lourve muesum & Theatre, we planned to visit again. It's a really nice place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlielin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

A lux hotel in the Arabesque tradition, the Shangri La is big, low-rise and very comfortable. If you're after a funky, modern design, try the fabulous Fairmont (virtually) next door, or (if the location works for you) the uber-futuristic Yas hotel, instead. We'd probably have returned to the Fairmont (if only for the amazing pool menu!) had the gym and spa opened on time but it was good to try something different.

KUDOS...

Smooth check-in and a lovely big quiet room with a firm king-size bed, luxurious bathroom with separate walk-in shower and OK products by L'Occitane, distinct work and dressing zones etc. The room was so huge that the 30" TV was too far away from the bed; they need bigger tellies.

Abu Dhabi city is set upon a series of islands. So the Shangri La's small but adequate beach doesn't have a horizon sea view but (like the Fairmont) looks across a broad stretch of water to the beautiful Grand Mosque (which non-Muslims can visit on Sundays I think but check with the concierge).

For cultural reasons, the hotel has both a male gym and a ladies' gym. I peeked into the men's before heading into the ladies'. These are virtually identical with the latest Technogym equipment (multi-channel TV - and fans - on the screens on the treadmills, cross-trainer, bikes and wave machine). As in all lux hotels, headsets, bottled water and towels are provided. I spent a bizarre hour on the treadmill, watching a TV show about hiking and skiing Mont Blanc.

The gym is a short walk (or longer buggy ride) along a picturesque canal from reception and sits above the spa, with a yoga room above it on the top floor. There's also a blissfully quiet lap pool overlooking the Grand Mosque, a brilliant place to sunbathe or read in contemplative peace and quiet, with no children in sight. When there are no sun loungers free by the pool, this is worth knowing about.

SNAGS...
The service we received was pretty shambolic. The staff messed up every request or order. We arrived quite late and ordered room service from a silly Rolodex-style menu that looks cheap and is fiddly to use. We ordered a lentil soup, a butter chicken, an apple pie (for him) and some Vietnamese rice paper rolls and a shrimp and green papaya salad from the Hoi An restaurant (for her), plus 2 glasses of white Bordeaux. Room Service correctly repeated the order to me and then delivered only the first 3 items and two glasses of red Bordeaux instead of white. This was just intensely irritating as we couldn't dine together. The correct wine and the remainder of the order appeared 25 minutes later.

My man was the only person at breakfast at 6.45am the next day and experienced the international buffet at its most spectacular. He ordered tea with cold milk. It arrived with no milk. When prompted for cold milk they brought hot milk. At which point he gave up and left to race cars around the F1 track at the nearby Yas Marina Circuit. Three hours later, I tucked into fruit and sticky buns but getting a cappuccino involved 25 minutes, 3 requests and a tantrum. During the wait, I popped to the bathroom, having informed the waitress that I hadn't yet finished my breakfast and not to clear the table. Returned 2 minutes later to find they had cleared the table. Then the cappuccino turned up.

Our poolside lunch was even slower: 50 minutes is way too long to wait for 2 chicken shwarma wraps and 2 glasses of wine. The shwarma was nonetheless absolutely delicious (lovely dark crispy chicken bits) and came with tahini and garlic sauces. I asked them not to bring fries with mine; needless to say, they brought fries.

To avoid further disasters we ate elsewhere that evening (at Chamas, the fabulous Brazilian barbecue place in the InterContinental; highly recommended, also the elegant bar!).

Next morning we ordered breakfast via room service. They Duty Manager very kindly comped it (also the pool bar lunch) following our complaints, which was good... because once again they got the order wrong! We'd ordered two poached eggs on toast with a side of hash browns; they brought two plates of poached eggs on bread with sausage, turkey bacon and a grilled tomato on the side, and two fresh green apple juices (this stuff is great) instead of one.

As is so often the case, the lighting controls are totally counter-intuitive. We wandered about for ages before working out how to switch the light on in the loo. The "do not disturb" sign is operated by a tiny switch next to the door, with lettering that's unreadable in dim light, so we didn't even spot it until Day 2. The old skool hairdryer was a bit rubbish as well - I hated having to keep my finger on the button to fire it (take your own if you want decent power output!).

We split the bill upon checkout, putting the spa and hotel shop charges on a separate card. This caused immense confusion, so much so that the receptionist even called us later that day, still confused.

Would we go back? Probably not, thanks to badly trained staff (many with poor English). This is a shame because the hotel and F+B are fabulous and the management tried so hard to keep us happy.

MY TOP TIP!

If you have time, do not miss The Saadiyat Story, a stunning visitor centre that outlines the vision for Saadiyat Island, home to the Cultural District where the new Guggenheim, Louvre and Maritime Museums will be appearing in a few years' time, alongside schools, golf courses, nature reserves and so on. With huge models, interactive exhibits and an amazing super-widescreen film, this is the best tourist attraction in Abu Dhabi outside of Grand Prix week - at least until the amazing-looking Ferrari World opens. Watch out though - it will make you want to buy property on the island!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,111 reviews
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,294 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
10.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing