We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL....Ignore some of the minor negative remarks..!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
cobham,surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL....Ignore some of the minor negative remarks..!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed here for a week in early August. Got a great rate at Travel Republic to stay in a Studio room. We were impressed with an adequate sized room with a decent kitchen, however the toilet,wash basin and shower area was small and NO bath, which with a 3 yr old was a must. The hotel website does not say the Studio room has no bath..in fact is not clear whether the 1,2,3,4 bed appartments have a bath either, which they do. With a bit of gentle persuation and calm discussion we were shown a Deluxe room in the main hotel. This room was much more suited to our needs so we moved there at no extra cost, with an extra bed placed in the room for our child.

Some people had issues with the location of this hotel with regard to being in between 2 main bridges with traffic, under a flight path of a military airport and construction of a new Marriot hotel near the Mosque. This did not bother us at all as you could hardly hear the traffic, hear any construction work and the aircraft flew over only a few times a day which was quite a site to be honest. If ultimate paradise is what you are after then maybe a hotel in the Maldives or similar is for you, not a hotel on the outskirts of a city that is growing and expanding.

The complex is made up of the main hotel with two pools, Health centre with pool, a Souk and appartment areas with another two pools. All these areas are connected via golf buggies, water ways with Abras or you can walk if desired. The gym at the health centre is adequate with a quiet secluded pool area. The Souk had a small supermarket which was handy, nice shops and stalls and some great restuarants (meat co. and an indian restuarants among our favourites) although a little pricey.The buffet in the main hotel was fantastic for breakfast, lunch or dinner..great choice and quality.

The staff could not have been more helpful and polite. We are all human and if they made any mistakes, they were quickly rectified with sincere appologies.

Overall this is a superb hotel and well worth the money especially if you search for a deal on the net. It has been built along similar lines as the Madinat Jumeirah complex in Dubai which we have been to many times although smaller and a little less grand, hence the cheaper rates.

Please feel free to ask any questions, I'd be happy to help....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    384
    129
    41
    40
See reviews for
589
1,051
101
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Shangri La in Abu Dhabi has a grandness normally not seen with other hotels in the city. The facilities are simply top class. Service is personal. The apartments are as per global luxury standards. Hotel has a few swimming pools & a shopping arcade. Given the large area, golf carts are a good way to commute. The sea-food & Chinese/Thai restaurants offer good quality.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELHILife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We were recently at the Shangrila for three days.
Excellent buffets and variety of high quality dining experiences.
The staff were always helpful and courteous....going the extra
to make your stay unforgettable. From the welcome Arabic coffee
in the luxurious Foyer to the attendents making you feel at home at
poolside.....we felt truely pampered.
Thank you Shangrila.....once again....Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidgit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I had the good fortune to stay here for the whole month of Feb and would have happily stayed for another ! We had a one bed serviced apartment in the residencies and it was absolutely beautiful. The apartment was huge, with everything you could want, and more. The most peaceful and relaxing suroundings and fantastic weather, which got hotter by the day. The hotel provides a shuttle bus (free ) to take you to four of the large shopping malls. Not just on certain days,but every day, and there's various time slots. The Shopping malls are about 30-45 minutes away and well worth a visit, expensive though, but probably great if your filthy rich. i also loved the Souk in the resort, and the very friendly staff in the supermarket, visit Choco-la for the most fabulous cakes and chocolates. I used the ladies gym frequently and most of the time i had it to myself, excellent equipment and very nice staff. Yoga and Zumba classes too. Dubai well worth a visit, only about one and a half hours drive.
The Shangri-la Hotel is right at the top of my favourite's list of pure luxury, but most importantly, what make's it extra special, is all the staff that work there, especially our friend Hin who serviced the apartments. Dreaded having to leave, i hope i can return ..someday.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

we stayed at this hotel for three weeks in april this year, we were in the residences in a two bedroom two bathroom residence with living area dining area kitchen ect it was huge and super clean and had seven floor to celing windows onto a patio with a pool infront of us then a lovely white beach with stunning views of the Zayed Mosque .. wonderful.
The hotel staff charming and always went the extra mile.
The food was fantastic quality
Did not want to leave , and nearly didnt when the volcano erupted!
Great for familys with small children as large shady pool areas and the staff love children
Great shopping and Amazing golf
fascinating culture
Great gym and spa

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2010

I am a frequent traveller and every year, I am around 200 days on mission. Shangri-la Hotels are my favorites Hotels I am choosing when staying abroad. In the Shangri-la Hotel Abu Dhabi, I was staying 6 times now since its opening. The main reason for choosing Shangri-la so far was the kindness and professionalism of their staff who has given me always the impression that they take you more personally. At my last stay, I was very much disappointed as from the beginning of checking in. As a client, I was asking the Hotel to reserve a specific room that I was staying at during my previous stays or to give me an alternative one at the same floor. I did this already before and there was no discussion about this at all. This time, my request was initially completely ignored and a room was given to me at around 12 minutes walk away from the reception!! Only by insisting, my room has finally been changed. The staff a the reception has completely been replaced by new arrogant, untrained and unmotivated western and eastern european staff. The asian staff at the reception who has now been employed does not represent the friendliness and kindness Shangri-la staff normally stands for. For those guests who would like to relax after a hard working day at the beach shall do this before 4 pm as this is the moment where local jet-ski addicts change the beautiful beach of this hotel into a noisy nightmare for its guests. Despite many complaints of the guests to the Hotel, nothing has been done to this since my last stays. I made a video of this which I will upload a little later to this site. This is definitely not a Shangri-la Hotel I will stay at my future stays in Abu Dhabi for at least the next 2 years and can only hope the situation is improving. The staff at the reception shall be completely replaced by real motivated and competent Shangri-la staff from China or South East Asia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

stayed for a night in a lovely specious suite. everything was good during my stay except for the loud music that stayed until after 3 am from the night club. . i have stayed in the emirates palace and the beach rotana before, i would definetly come back to the shangri la but would chose a room in the opposite wing of the hotel, i would recommend the spa if you have the time

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adorable79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.2 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,181 reviews
11.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,351 reviews
8.3 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,099 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#2 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#8 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a one-kilometre stretch of private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, the hotel is situated ten minutes drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the new Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and the city centre. Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi, features 213 luxurious rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern Arabic style. Each room also has a balcony or a terrace providing an ideal setting for viewing striking ocean sunsets and traditional Arabic domes and minarets. Accommodation choices also include six spectacular villas comprising four bedrooms and a private swimming pool. Regarded as an ideal hotel in Abu Dhabi for longer stays, the Shangri-La Residences include 161 spacious serviced apartments ranging from studios to four-bedroom units.The 8.5 Hectare hotel complex provides a wide range of facilities and services for the discerning traveller. These include the signature CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, and a dedicated well-being zone comprising two gymnasiums, a swimming pool and a yoga room. In addition, there are four swimming pools within the grounds. The Souk traditional Arabian market built in a modern setting offers a variety of shops under one roof which are connected by a waterway featuring Arabic gondolas, or abras, which slowly meander through this unique architecture lush garden scenery. Supreme waterfront lifestyle enhanced with Shangri-La hospitality. Designed with luxury and comfort in mind, the Shangri-La Residences has all the features of the hotel at their doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing