We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Third Place Cafe

The Third Place Cafe
Ranked #144 of 2,020 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Third Place is that neutral corner that is neither your work nor your home. We pride ourselves on being one of the first and few standalone cafe/restaurants in Abu Dhabi. We have a unique-to-Abu Dhabi 'blackboard menu from which we request our customers to order at the bar. We also welcome all kinds of community and corporate events in our upstairs private spaces.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friends and I stopped into this cafe on a friday morning to eascape the heat of the Corniche. Our original intent of a quick coffee turned into a long lazy breakfast and multiple hours on their comfy sofas! The food was great (I had a very delicous omelette!) but it the atmosphere that will bring me back over and over again. The clientelle was a mix of trendy locals and Western expats. The furniture is eclectic but still very comfortable! Laidback tunes and the mumer of conversation is the soundtrack to the cafe. Whoever picked the books on the multiple booksheves has great taste! There is a lovely terrace out front which will be very plesant in the winter months. I think i have found my weekend morning chill out spot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    31
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The third place cafe is a great place to relax and enjoy great food and drink. Food is excellent and well priced. Great location as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
243 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Relaxing and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This lovely, quaint, well-appointed villa-turned-cafe is the perfect place to relax, meet friends, unwind, eat and drink coffees and teas.

It's coined the Third Place because they want you to know this is the place between home and work.

The Masala tea is great; the cappuccino is great and I've heard the food is great (I haven't eaten here yet.)

It's a great place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDeniseS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place next door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The atmosphere in this place is great, service is very friendly. If you are in between meetings or just want to hang out at night, this is the place to go to.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Parking is ample which is usually a challenge in Abu Dhabi. Internet is free (no registration hassle and no limit on time).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukozuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is the third place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Home, Work then the third place. Been visiting there frequently after work to relieve the work stress and prepare for next day. Food is good, as well as drinks and desserts. The place feels like home, with a quick and high quality service. Prices are overpriced slightly but with the quality it comes with, its totally worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nimer '
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Third Place Cafe also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to The Third Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing