We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No where near where it needs to be”
Review of Bord Eau

Bord Eau
Ranked #155 of 2,054 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$100 - US$250
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bord Eau is the ultimate restaurant for French fine dining in Abu Dhabi. In the setting of a chic dining room that boasts opulent fabrics and furniture, the chef de cuisine prepares seasonal fresh produce flown in from France and serves each dish as an artistic expression. Bord Eau offers a superb a la carte menu and for the ultimate Bord Eau experience, the blind tasting menu is a must. Quiet instrumentals and a warm ambiance complement the rich gastronomy to create an intimate dining experience. To maintain a peaceful environment, children under 12 years old are not permitted in the restaurant.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No where near where it needs to be”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Apparently voted best restaurant in the UAE (Not saying much when they voted Burger King as best burger a year or two ago), this restaurant is trying too hard to be a fine dining restaurant, and spends too much time on presentation of the dishes rather than the atmosphere of the restaurant itself, or the taste of the food being served.

Service was inconsistent. As was the food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear David W, thank you for your review of our Bord Eau. It is gravely regrettable to learn that your dining experience was marred by our overall service team and food quality. We are equally unease with this unpleasant dining experience and would like to investigate this thoroughly to assure the needful improvements within my team. Please email me at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com with more details so I can personally take action on this with my team. Many thanks, and we hope you consider us again in future. I will be happy to be contacted on your next visit, so we can make it up for this unfortunate dining experience. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    28
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
180 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Exquisite.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fantastic experience. The presentation, the elegant atmosphere, the variety, the Finesse. Some of the service staff was new, or at least I sensed a bit of lack of experience, but it did not take away from the fantastic food and service overall. For fine dining or a romantic dinner for tow, this is the place to be. The quality of the food superb so overall 5 star all the way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sistatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Was very special - now good”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our current trip to Abu Dhabi . We eat here every time we travel here and our previous visits have been very special . I would have to say that both our visits this time were good but not up to the previous standard . The menu hasn't changed for years but they now have a new chef and we were told that the menu will be changed . I had the veal cheeks followed by the lamb - the veal was good if a little rich and the lamb was rather bland . The following visit I had the quail and sea bass - both were very good but I agree with other reviews that the portions are small even by a top end restaurant standard ! The service both times was lacking in a bit of class , on our first trip we were asked if we wanted to buy some champagne ( they used to be complimentary ) , on the return visit we were not offered anything . Our first waiter was over attentive and slightly annoying , our next waiter was rather miserable and was absent half the time . We will go back on our next trip and hope it gets back to were it was , if not it might be our last visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Daniel H, thank you for taking the time to review your dining via TripAdvisor. We truly regret the fact that your dining experience was not as expected compared to previous visits. Be assured we take feedback from valued diners such as yourself very gravely as it assists us in improving our overall services and culinary. May I kindly request you to email me more details on this at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com, so as to ensure your future dining with us will be improved upon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very disappointed. The food really did lack flavour and edge you'd expect at a fine dining restaurant. Wouldn't go back. Did not like the attitude of the manager.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbindKS, General Manager at Bord Eau, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Nicola9999, we truly regret to learn of your disappointment in our overall food quality and the manager’s attitude in Bord Eau. May I kindly request you to email more details directly to me at arbindk.shrestha@shangri-la.com? This is so that I can personally address immediate corrective actions with my team over this unfortunate dining experience. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
“Incroyable Art sur une plaque!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

In one of the corner of this popularly known hotel, "Shangri La" sits this amazing restaurant "Bord Eu" doing total justice to not only food, but also its customers pallets, heart and eyes. A great place to spend an evening with a loved one, and some one who totally enjoys and appreciates great food as you do. It is a classy fine dining, with each aspect so well taken care of - from its cutlery, layout, ambiance, etiquette to its food. Reservation is certainly appreciated and the guests are expected to show in their business casuals. The restaurant has a no child policy.
French cuisine dates way back in history and comprises of cooking traditions and practices famous for its rich tastes and subtle nuances. Bord Eu holds and carries this tradition very well, bringing to you the best of their French Nouvelle cuisine, where the modern approach to cooking and presentation pay a major role.
As we were seated at our table, we were handed the menu, offered great champagne, and some savoury tuiles with red pepper sauce to nibble. The waiter took us through the menu, explaining each aspect of it. We ordered one fish dish with root vegetables, and a milk fed lamb dish. As we waited for our meal, we were served with some great amuse bouche - salmon ice cream with caviar and a foie gras cold soup. It was a total mouth amuser, as the name means. Now, our palettes tingled for the meal. Our meal arrived in cloches. As we pulled up the cloches, we were in for a total gastronomic extravaganza. "Incroyable Art sur une plaque !" - Incredible Art on a plate. So many flavors, so many components and such a great meal. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. There was no way we wouldn't order the desserts. We ordered the apple crumble cake, with caramelized apples, and a chocolate pudding dessert with Cointreau - Blew our minds off.
They also have a four course and a seven course meal - and blind tasting too, which we wish to savour next time. The total cost with two main dishes, two desserts and two glasses f great champagne costs us around AED 700.
This review seems a little longer, but I couldn't help write everything I wish to, about this experience. A meal so perfect, that I can't think of anything that could bring its score down from 5.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sushma_surya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bord Eau also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Bord Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing