We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really value for money”
Review of Oryx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oryx Hotel
Ranked #78 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent 7 nights here.
Good position for the Beach (Corniche). Lots of eating places close by. Easy to get taxi at anytime. Bed was very comfortable. good nights sleep every night - took advice from other trip advisor reviews and asked for a high floor facing city.
The shower in the bathroom was disgusting - mould everywhere, when used water passed under the unsealed door and flooded the rest of the bathroom.
The room was a little uncared for, cup circles on the bedside table and coffee table from previous occupiors which we removed with hand wipes which we always carry around. Spilt tea or coffee had gone down the side of the bedside table at some time and was still there. Just need a proper clean. Slight mould appearing on the ceiling and wall aroud the air conditioning vent.
Only had breakfast on one morning as a lot of people in trip advisor had commented about the poor quality. This was proven, the staff at breakfast were anything but helpful. Breakfast was said to be available from 6am to 10.30. We went at around 9am - no bowls for cereal, asked three times before one was brought to me. No butter, asked twice. Asked for coffee and was served tea. Made to feel uncomfortable. Did not use the restraunt in the evening so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and also appreciate that you have pointed out some areas in which you feel we need to improve. It was really very generous of you to give us the opportunity to host you on your recent visit to Abu Dhabi.

Al Diar Oryx Hotel is a conveniently located hotel in Abu Dhabi. Our aim has always been to provide our guests with top class services and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Dubai in a convenient and hassle free way.

Upon receiving your review, we decided to do a full investigation and follow-up on the condition of our rooms to ensure that issues of this nature do not arise in future. We take cleanliness very seriously and wish to thank you for your input. We hope to welcome you on all your future visits to Dubai with a better guest experience.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a few days....and for what you get it a bit overpriced. The quality was also marginal at best. It was my first time to Abu Dhabi and I feel like there are probably better options in the same price range available...and it was a little hard to find and you had to walk a few blocks to have a good chance to hail a taxi. I did not dine onsite, so cannot provide feedback on that.

PROS: The air conditioner worked great. Fresh juice in the lobby at all times was a nice treat when going to or coming from the room. The front desk was extremely friendly and attentive...as was room service when we ordered beers to have delivered, they came quickly and were ice-cold.

CONS: The beds were tiny...if you rollover once you are bound to land on the floor. The bathroom was one of the worst I have seen....the shower was covered in mold/mildew (gross!)...come on, spray some bleach or disinfectant once in a while!! The water pressure and temp was fine, but the design of the shower made it leak water all over the place. Had to use the extra towels on the ground to keep from flooding the room. The lights flickered a lot as well...had to jiggle the cords to get it to stop.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us on your recent visit to Abu Dhabi. We have been striving to provide high-standard amenities and supreme facilities to our guests. At every corner of our property, we strive to meet the requirements of our patrons. Providing a glass of fresh juice in the lobby is just a small part of our services which adds a charm to our guests’ stay.

However, we note that you were not entirely satisfied with the experience. We regret to know about the inconvenience you faced and have forwarded your concerns for appropriate investigation. Thank you for bringing this to our notice, as issued raised by you will help us in strengthening our standard of hospitality. We wish to host you in future and hope to welcome you back for an enhanced stay experience.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

i passed by the hotel just to take a look it look great and big people smiling and offer assist but the open buffet restaurant the stuff was good but the food quality is not the best and very limited and the dessert section is almost empty it was not good and not bad experience

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. Oryx Hotel is counted amongst the best deluxe hotels in Dubai offering multiple fine dining options, so it is disappointing to note that your dining experience with us was not up to the mark. We deeply regret the menu options for the buffet did not impress you. We regret that the services delivered were unable to meet your expected standards. We assure you that this is one of the rarest incidents and the past testimonies reflect on the stature of our property.

Please be assured that we are investigating the concerns raised by you so that we can avoid such instances from happening again. We hope to accommodate you again, in future with amended services.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The reception staff have no understanding for the guests.
The breakfast is boring and always the same.
My room is dusty because the room cleaner dusted the furniture just once after 4 days.
The homepage ismuch better that what the hotel really is like. The staff speak very poor English and you can hardly understand them.
The room was cleaned everyday late afternoon/early evening.
The rooms though are quite roomy but that is quite normal in all UAE hotels.
The food in the Westside restaurant was not one expects from a 4 Star hotel.
The swimming pool is more or less a small pond. I was really dissappointed and I will never again visit this hotel.
I really just cannot understand how this hotel managed to get 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try to be on the top floors. Rooms facing the city are relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zarir1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience here. Oryx Hotel is counted amongst the best deluxe hotels in Dubai so it is disappointing to note that your experience with us was not up to the mark.
We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. It’s unpleasant to know that the services delivered were unable to meet your expected standards. We assure you that this is one of the rarest incidents and the past testimonies reflect on the stature of our property.
Please be assured that we are investigating the concerns raised by you so that we can avoid such instances from happening again. We hope to accommodate you again, in future with amended services.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

stayed at oryx hotel one night 28th nov. really enjoyed it especially the top floor restaurant. Food was superb and staff were extremely helpful when it came to giving our orders for dinner. Have stayed in hotels in europe and must say this hotel is well up to standard. Gave us maps and instructions for areas to visit. minded our lugggage for the whole day while we were sightseeing - no charge. Bed was comfortable - my husband has a back problem so beds do matter. Would have no problem staying there again. Bathroom could do with a facelift. Staff at breadfast could be a bit friendlier but then again we were late.
Irish couple early 50s.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36mags36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Oryx Hotel in Abu Dhabi and sharing your experience in detail on this platform. We strive to offer world-class amenities to our guests and put in our best so that they are at ease and comfort and your review is testimony to us being on the right track. We have noted your suggestion the bathroom décor and your feedback about our associates in breakfast buffet has been communicated to them.

Thank you once again for sharing your review with us. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip with a perfect stay.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I am just back from the Oryx hotel where i had lunch at the Westside Restaurant.

This is my worst Restaurant Experience Ever and i am heavy traveler so i have seen my fair share of restaurants and hotels globally.

In my fair and true opinion, i really don’t see how this restaurant qualifies for 1* even. I am not trying to be over criticizing and but i am merely trying to convey my sincere opinion.

When i arrived there some of the buffet items were finished and i sat there for 30 mins and the plates were never replenished despite me alerting your waiter, chef and supervisor. The food quality was also so bad it gives me pain even to remember it. The experience was so bad that i had some guests who even didn’t put any of the main dish items in their plates after hearing the other guests opinion.

Moreover, the staff there are so bad at service they don’t have a clue on how to correct things or even address a customer. I am seriously disappointed

For the reputation of your hotel or chain, i truly recommend that they take a corrective measure and i truly recommend that they keep this restaurant shut they are able to remedy the situation.

For me, all i wish now is to remove this experience from my memory

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recent stopover at Oryx and for sharing this feedback.
It is undoubtedly counted among the deluxe hotels of the emirate. At Oryx, we strive to offer best services and create an oriental experience for our guests. We regret that you had to suffer on certain issues and we offer our deepest apologies for the inconvenience caused. We can assure you that we are looking in to the matter. We are trying to eradicate the core reason that raised this kind of trouble so that this kind of incident never gets repeated in future.
Once again, we thank you choosing us and hope to make your next visit memorable and at par with excellence.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

First when we arrived the hotel looks new from the outside but the lobby looks old..when we did the check in our request were high floor and non smoking room but the manager instead gave us 3rd floor room and smoking room, so we insist and we finally got what we wanted..the room was big enough the bathroom was spacious, but they are clean i can guarantee you.. The service in the hotel was totally zero, we asked the concierge about main attraction but he was unbelieveble doesn't know anything and later on we asked for hotel sandals but until the next day we were checked out nothing was delivered to our room, the other thing is we asked for more mineral water because there was only one in the room, we asked 2 more but they only gave us one bottle..only the room and the view you can count on and forget everything, this hotel is only good for staying without service, my advice is stay one night is more than enough..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelasthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for checking in with us. First of all, we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We would also like you to know that we will be launching a thorough investigation into the incident, to make sure that these incidents are not repeated again. On the other hand, we appreciate that you enjoyed our living space and found it spacious and clean.
Once again, we thank you for choosing us and hope to offer you a perfect stay the next time you check in with us.

Warm Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#86 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
384 reviews
3 mi away
One to One Hotel - The Village
2 mi away
Centro Al Manhal Abu Dhabi by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bin Majid Tower Hotel Apartment
4.4 mi away
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Al Diar Capital Hotel
#82 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
127 reviews
9.6 mi away
Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Address: Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oryx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oryx Hotel is located in the up-market district of Abu Dhabi. The hotel is in close proximity to the city's key business and leisure attractions as well as Corniche (the local beach) where you can immerse yourself in the tranquility of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea. Each room is fully equipped with all modern-day amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and is ideal for holiday-makers and executive travelers alike. There are plenty of ways to relax and stay in shape at the Oryx Hotel. The Curve, the hotel's Health Club comprises of a contemporary gymnasium, roof-top swimming pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi. In terms of cuisine and entertainment, there are plenty of options to choose from such as the Horizon Restaurant which offers an a-la-carte and buffet menu and stunning panoramic view; the Blue Line restaurant where you can indulge in classy cocktails and live music; and Horizon Terrace, ideal for laid-back chit-chat with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing