We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great price”
Review of Oryx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oryx Hotel
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was a great night in oryx hotel and its my favorite hotel and recomended hotel every time when i visit abu dhabi .

They have a good services and a clean rooms and its so nice also no noisy like the other location for another hotels .

I advise anyone to come to oryx hotel ..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedAbdulmoneim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed in this Hotel over a month and really felt welcomed by the staff. Room size is reasonable and good service overall. The location of the Hotel is excellent as it is within % minutes walk to many good restaurants including fast food restaurants. Very close to the Abu Dhabi Corniche (within 10 minutes walk). The Spa is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms location are same. i prefered the room to look over the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was my first (certanly not last) visit to Abu Dhabi, and I chose this hotel just because it was almost on the corniche beach-so i was a bit concerned before I came. Check in could be faster, and bathroom could be refurbished-every time I used a shower I flooded entire bathroom floor, and unlocking balcony door should not be such a big question-i like my fresh air :) Other than that, everything went perfectly well, staff is very polite, from front office to engineering dept guys, who were dealing with my balcony, everybody was smiling all the time. I will certanly go back there, it is not expensive and location is great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying at our hotel and reviewing it on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is important to us as it assists us in identifying areas for improvement and we thank you for highlighting our services which were not upto the mark.

Your concerns have been shared with our associates and we assure you that corrective measures will be taken at the earliest. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and that our location added value to your stay.

Once again many thanks for your patronage and feedback. It is nice to know that instead of the inconveniences, you were satisfied with our overall offerings. We thank you for recommending us and hope your next visit with us will be at par with excellence.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here as a stopover on the way to Australia.
It took nearly 40 minutes to get to the hotel as the taxi driver did not know where it was. It's tucked away off the main thoroughfare but still convenient for the restaurants and an easy walk to the beach area.
Rooms are spacious and clean but could do with some updating. The air conditioning unit was noisy, but easy enough to switch it off and open the window.
Pool area was closed as they were replacing worn and broken tiling.
Restaurant area quite large and the food plentiful - nothing special.
Staff were polite and reasonably helpful, but you sensed they didn't care too much about you.
It's an OK place, but doesn't compare with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireGlasshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and reviewing it on Tripadvisor. Guest feedback is important to us as it assists us in indentifying areas for improvement and we thank you for highlighting our services which were not upto the mark.

Your concerns have been shared with our associates and we assure you that necessary measures will be taken at the earliest. We have made a note of your suggestions and will incorporate changes, as applicable.

Once again many thanks for your patronage and feedback. It is nice to know that instead of the inconveniences, you were satisfied with our overall offerings and we hope your next visit with us will be at par with excellence.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I used to stay in this hotel since march 2013 for a couple of days on weekly basis, I will list my experience below for the benefit of the new guests:

- It is fair to say that the house keeping services much improved during the last 4 months.
- The internet service became wireless, while it was on cable before.
- The location (Khalidiya District) is attractive where you can find all the necessary facilities such as good restaurants, hyper market, taxis, etc. around you, no car is needed.
- The furniture is old but still functioning, however the room sizes are relatively big and generally clean.
- Breakfast, not too much variety, it is OK for me.
- what is annoying me is the TV, quality of picture is very low and selection of channels is horrible, hardly I can find one interesting channel to watch, sure this is not important for guests who want to stay for 2-3 days.

Generally speaking, the hotel is very good comparing to the location, price, cleanness.

Room Tip: its recommended for business trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajedShahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your frequent patronage at our hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable time with us.

At Oryx Hotel, guests find themselves amidst splendid Arabian hospitality and we are proud to know that you enjoyed our services. However, we have taken note of the concerns highlighted by you. Please be assured that this will be addressed and rectified immediately.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you on all your future visits to Abu Dhabi.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

2 weeks stay with my partner.

Because a lot of the bad rewievs we were prepared for the worst. But it was much better than we thought.
Hotel: The hotel looks fine, but yes its worn comparing to a lot of others newer hotels in the area. It needs a facelift regardnig some of the furniture, bathroom, pool area. But all in all fine.
Reception/lobby, yes its aloud to smoke there so no suprise it smells a bit of smoke. I would have preffered to have it non smoking, but it didnt bother us.
Pool area: pool size is perfectly fine, but the pool area floor is worn/dirty. Sunbeds could be cleaned/ exchanged they are old and dirty. Didnt bother me that much, but new and clean is to preffer. Pool towels need to be exchanged thy are torn.
Breakfast buffe: We had it once. I wasnt bad but not that great either. I would recomend going to Jones next door with fantastic breakfast.
Resturant/dinner: never eate dinner at the hotel
Room: We had a king suite, which was realy nice. Great view, a lot of space, bedroom, living/dining room, two bathrooms, kitchen with fridge.
Cleaning: Was ok. Not great not bad.
Staff: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Location: Great location close to the public beach. A nice walk along the water to marina mall (30 min) To abudabi mall /tourist club area - 5 min with taxi
Other: There is a lot of construction going on around the hotel which is kind of annoying. They work from 5 am to sometimes 1 am. Thats really a minus. But im guessing once its done its fine.
Abu dhabi: Compering to dubai it has very little to offer. But if you are there just to relax at the beach, read a bit, shop etc, then its a ok place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiKo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your enthusiasm for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for highlighting the service offerings which were not upto the mark. Your review has helped us to identify the areas for improvement and we assure you that corrective measures will be taken, as applicable.

Your appreciation about our associates will be definitely shared. Also, our team in the kitchen will try and implement a variety to the breakfast spread to make it more tempting.
We are glad that you liked our location; however, we regret you were inconvenienced because of the construction work going around our hotel. I would like to inform you that on your next visit to Abu Dhabi, you can visit major attractions like Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Abu Dhabi Golf Club , Yaswater World and Caracal Shooting Club to name a few. For more help on sightseeing, our concierge will be glad to be of any assistance.

Thank you for your constructive review and hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is a nice hotel located in a very prime area of Abu Dhabi (Khalidiya Distict), the facilities are good, rooms are of a very good size, the hotel is clean and price is moderate. But the operators of the hotel need to double or triple the staff to cope with what is so called "a four stars hotel".

The rooms were not ready for check-in at 6:00 PM !!!!!

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you found our location and amenities at par with your expectations. Also, it is nice to know that you found the pricing moderate. However, we regret that you were inconvenienced during your time with us. We assure you that investigation will be carried out and corrective measures will be taken, as applicable.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Management @ Oryx Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#88 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abu Dhabi Plaza Hotel Apartments
4.4 mi away
Al Diar Capital Hotel
Al Diar Capital Hotel
#79 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
One to One Hotel - The Village
2 mi away
Centro Al Manhal Abu Dhabi by Rotana
1.8 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#11 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Address: Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £45 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oryx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oryx Hotel is located in the up-market district of Abu Dhabi. The hotel is in close proximity to the city's key business and leisure attractions as well as Corniche (the local beach) where you can immerse yourself in the tranquility of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea. Each room is fully equipped with all modern-day amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and is ideal for holiday-makers and executive travelers alike. There are plenty of ways to relax and stay in shape at the Oryx Hotel. The Curve, the hotel's Health Club comprises of a contemporary gymnasium, roof-top swimming pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi. In terms of cuisine and entertainment, there are plenty of options to choose from such as the Horizon Restaurant which offers an a-la-carte and buffet menu and stunning panoramic view; the Blue Line restaurant where you can indulge in classy cocktails and live music; and Horizon Terrace, ideal for laid-back chit-chat with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing