We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but consider the location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel
Ranked #59 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but consider the location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

AFOC is a huge hotel and sports complex located mid-way between the airport and central Abu Dhabi and next to the Grand Mosque.
The standard rooms seem similarly furnished with a comfortable bed, sofa, work desk and more than sufficient storage for clothes and other belongings. Fresh fruit and bottled water is replenished daily and rooms are serviced twice daily. The large flat screen TV has a wide variety of channels and includes a good number of English speaking options. Internet access can be purchased but all in our party found it relatively slow by normal European standards. My only negative experience was a partially deaf neighbour who liked to watch TV on high volume early into the morning. Perhaps some sound insulation could be considered for wall mounted TVs?
The fitness centre is one of the largest I have seen and although busy in the evenings it provides almost every piece of fitness equipment currently available.
The breakfast is high quality and has lots of variety but is a long walk from all of the bedrooms and this can add around 20 minutes to your first meal of the day. We also ate at The Taverna where the quality of the pub food was better than we had expected from all in our group.
If visiting Abu Dhabi again I would probably choose another hotel only due to the location of the AFOC and the need to rely on taxis to make the 30 minute journey to the centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    54
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
36
11
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

A huge Hotel club with all the necessary facilities and very friendly personnel, A bit far from town centre but taxi's are cheap. A very good price quality ratio!

Room Tip: The de LUXE are good enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fixer912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This amazing piece of architecture is in the corner of Abu Dhabi, so if you want to stay close to downtown, the location might put you off. The hotel is in fact part of the larger Armed Forces Officers Club which is the center piece mammoth block of granite and marble with lavish ornamentation everywhere. The club also serves as one of the top athletic centers in Abu Dhabi with some of the most advanced fitness, squash and shooting facilities in the nation. It is a playground for the wealthy and aristocratic alike who frequent the landmark on a regular basis. Everything is what you would expect from a 5-star facility with regard to quality of service, accomodation and food. The grandness of the place detracts from the hotels overall appeal because it takes quite a bit of walking around to get a hold of this place. Brisk walkers will not mind this at all but I can imagine any family with young kids, seniors or handicapped having a difficult time getting around.

To its facilities, it could add an outdoor swimming pool and ... free postage service... c'mon why make guests make change for 7 dirham?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donSeoul_SouthKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

It is really a very good hotel. Room Service was excellent, Food quality excellent.
I recommend personally to people who are visiting from India. Good Indian food. I liked the location and ambiance.
It is worth staying for a week or 10 days. Very quite and calm environment. When i will visit again I will prefer to stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashishmathur28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

First I would like to say that I hesitate to book this hotel because of previous reviews on Trip advisor, but then we decided to give it a try. What a fantastic hotel this is- our check in had took only few minutes where we were seated in the Lobby having our welcome drink. The room was with an amazing view of a large well maintained garden, as well was spotlessly clean and arrange, with all amenities a traveler can be in need for. The daily services from Housekeeping to the Room service were outstanding. I spent few days at this hotel and I can say that it is an excellent hotel - the style of furnishings and decor was amazing. The hotel is one of the older ones in Abu Dhabi, has a traditional feel and the interior is full of character.

The food in Al Bathna restaurant was delicious- plenty of choice and the quality is absolutely superb.

As for the recreation, I can say that they have a great deal of facilities which are not available in other hotels and we really enjoyed it. But I would like to suggest to the management to look into arranging the beach for a guest use and maybe outdoor pool.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and specially for banquet and conferences, because they have everything to make every event successful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JXD1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

AFOC is definitely one of the best places you could have been to. The place is an architectural genius with the dome on top of the hotel being the largest one without a support. Our Sales Meet in Abu Dhabi could not have been better. The AFOC is definitely a 5star property and provides a very luxurious stay. The places is equipped with a number of facilities like a huge swimming pool, a shooting range etc. The place is well equipped for business gatherings and has ample number of conference room facilities. Food is amazing...try not the miss out on the friday lunch service which is fantastic. The hotel is huge and just walking around the length and breadth will take huge time...at time you tend to get lost inside..:D The hotel building is very well maintained and has loads of natural light in the main dining areas. There is a good choice of restaurants offering various cuisine along with an open air one. I would rates this as an absolute stay!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avinash_b11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

I went with my husband to this hotel for a convention, and before we went I read the Trip Advisor reviews and was pretty much appalled. So here's a heck of a lot of information so you won't have to spaz out as well--this place was interesting and pretty terrific.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless it was for a business meeting, solely because of the location, as it's way far south of the main drag--half an hour by car. But out in the sticks or not, I really liked it--complete pampered excess. And our convention was rather large, but it only occupied one half of the hotel. This place is crazy big and even with all of us, it felt almost empty.

The outside design is rather unfortunate, because it looks dated although this has to be fairly new. The inside works better--more marble than the Vatican. On the lowest level are all sorts of shops like travel agencies and banks, mostly closed, a huge display of armed forces uniforms and memorabilia, an Olympic-size pool, men's and women's exercise rooms, and a gorgeous, enormous, and apparently completely unused atrium filled with plants. Oh, there's also a coffee shop with what looked like amazing sweets, some gigantic bar for meetings, at least one large restaurant, and I can't even remember the rest. The pool is closed several times a week to men so that women can use it privately (if you are a woman, do go on the private days wearing modest swim apparel and the required bathing cap--the bathing suits are something to see!). Women can exercise in their own private gym room, which is huge, or go to the men's gym, which is three times bigger yet and has so much equipment you'd think their whole army would fit in it. I should point out absolutely no nudity in the main changing areas--my husband really upset someone because he didn't go into a private changing room.

On the middle level in the center are numerous meeting rooms, shops and restaurants. The restaurants are pricey, but we did do a breakfast buffet in the mornings which was really something (do not miss the yoghurt), and we tried the Tex-Mex restaurant, which made me wish I could send them a sample of guacamole to show them how to do it. (The food was actually pretty good--just not Tex-Mex). Then around this central area two wings of rooms, two stories each, extend around like the legs on a crab. Both have gigantic atriums filled with plants and leather sofas. They serve dates and great Arab coffee in the afternoons around the reception desks.

Now to get how big this hotel is, there is at least one upper central level with what looked like seating for several hundred people. I'd say, all in all, the hotel is a complete testimonial to excess in everything. Especially marble. I saw this one kid polishing one strip of one wing of one floor for an entire day.

They offered van transportation to the Marina and Abu Shabi malls twice daily (these are proximate to everything downtown so it was a good service), and they were also happy to drop us off at the mosque, which is definitely a must-see (you'd want to catch a cab back--the heat and the road system make walking questionable, even though the mosque is maybe a mile and a half away). They also offered other transportation services for a cost, such as day trips down to Al Ayn, but I didn't try that as the whole city was apparently under construction. The concierge was helpful with everything and set us up with a cab to Dubai for maybe about $120 USD (we would have tried going downtown and catching the bus for more of an adventure, but we had too much luggage to make that work). Last, if their van service to the main Abu Dhabi downtown isn't on your schedule, cabs ran about $12, which I thought wasn't bad, although you definitely need to establish--in advance--that the cab driver is fluent in your language and also knows where this hotel is. This is not a joke! Most didn't and it got pretty old getting lost.

Our room was very plush--fabulous bedding and a gigantic bed--and our only complaint was that it was a tad on the smaller size because there were a couple of easy chairs, a desk, dressers, and so forth in there also. The bathroom was excellent. Everything was spotless.

So if you have business nearby or are booked at a convention here, not to worry. The hotel is great. In fact, if you are a convention planner, if you can cut a really good deal and arrange for plenty of complimentary transportation, I'd look at this site seriously (I used to do that for a living, so I was pretty impressed with them). They really did put on a good show. Excellent banquet food and meeting area detailing too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treeforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.5 mi away
Park Rotana Abu Dhabi
Park Rotana Abu Dhabi
#20 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Capital Grand Abu Dhabi
1.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Capital Centre Arjaan by Rotana
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Capital Gate
Hyatt Capital Gate
#11 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel

Property: Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel
Address: Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel Al Khaleej Al Arabi St, Abu Dhabi 29810, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#47 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#51 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armed Forces Officers Club Hotel Abu Dhabi
Armed Forces Officers Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing