We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in the ADNEC area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel
Ranked #43 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I always book this hotel through Hotwire (the only 5 star hotel in the ADNEC area for under US$80/night). If you don't have your own car, it could be a bit inconvenient to get around, but if you've got a rental car, it is conveniently located next to all of the major roads in the ADNEC area. I love how they'll shine your shoes for you overnight and deliver them in the morning. The Mexican Restaurant (Taverna) is not bad and the service there is friendly. It's kind of a lonely place and not heavily trafficked, but I've never had a bad stay in the last 6 months I've used the hotel for my business meetings in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Last night we had a memorable meal at Kennedys restaurant in the Armed Forces Officers Club in Abu Dhabi. The menu was imaginative and unusual, with 7 of the courses chosen by the Executive Chef, Karsten Gottschalk, and the main course offering 3 choices, with a fourth option for kids. Price was AED 250pp, or AED 399 for 2 people-amazing value!

The luxurious and palatial Officers Club', under what used to be (if not still) the largest concrete shell roof in the world used to be just that, ie to provide sports and recreational facilities for officers in the UAE's armed forces, but fairly recently, the Hotel and Restaurants were taken over by Abu Dhabi National Hotels, and opened to the general public. Surprisingly, very few people, even long-term Abu Dhabi residents are aware of this.

The AD F1 GP used the AFOC to house all the marshals (me included) during the Formula 1 weekend for the last 2 years.

The AFOC is surprisingly licensed, with impressive and reasonably priced wines and beers.

If you want something a little different, give Kennedys or one of the other restaurants a try!

Room Tip: The main block and 2 wings form a huge circle. Inner room have balconies. Also go for a room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here when visiting for meetings in Abu Dhabi which was a mistake. Great location for the convention center, but be careful going into the city at night, as it's tough to find a taxi willing to make the voyage back out here. You've got to make it worth their while.

The hotel itself is a massive complex with huge amounts of amenities, but found the service to be lacking. Check in and check out were both long complicated affairs. There were several inaccuracies on my bill which took a while to sort out, with a fair amount of headaches. I am not sure the management/staff have done the whole hotel management thing before.

Overall if you're here for a quick in and out to the convention center and get a good rate, it will get the job done, but plan ahead for your check out process if you are in a hurry to catch a flight. If you have to spend more than a night or need to head into the city, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This place is great...except for the location. That being said, however, the staff is extremely efficient in making sure you get wherever you need to be.

There is so much to do hear you might want to make some time to just hang around the hotel. The physical fitness facilities are outstanding, and the Caracal shooting range is world class. Finally, the breakfast here is simply amazing. I will definitely come back here next time I'm in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarryOwenBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Well what a fantastic place with friendly and helpful staff everywhere you turn. The food in all the restaurants is outstanding and they couldn't do enough for you. Most evenings found us in the Tex Mex restaurant mainly because they served ice cold Warsteiner. If we had looked sooner we would have realized the reason most others were eating off the specials menu was that it generally came with a couple of free drinks.

Room Tip: Laundry service was brilliant - inner rooms over look the gardens with balcony while the opposite si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Second time at this hotel. This hotel is huge and has absolutely everything you could think of. Didn't try all the restaurants but the food is fine (although not outstanding). Rooms are nice, a shame that you can't open the window. The biggest minus is that wifi is expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrugerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I think everyone else has headed for the bunkers and I must have missed the call. Sad really, just needs a good event management company to get the paddles out and shock some life back into the place. It needs activity, entertainment, events, it needs some life breathing back into it basically. Dynamic and entreprenurial management required.

Room Tip: Great value, try to get a water facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
6.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
Dusit Thani Abu Dhabi
#14 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,495 reviews
7.9 mi away
Al Rawda Arjaan by Rotana
Al Rawda Arjaan by Rotana
#48 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Rotana Abu Dhabi
Park Rotana Abu Dhabi
#17 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hala Arjaan by Rotana Abu Dhabi
9.6 mi away
Jannah Burj Al Sarab
Jannah Burj Al Sarab
#20 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
613 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel

Address: Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel Al Khaleej Al Arabi St, Abu Dhabi 29810, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#40 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#47 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £53 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Armed Forces Officers Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armed Forces Officers Club Hotel Abu Dhabi
Armed Forces Officers Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing