We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent" says it all!”
Review of L'Auberge

L'Auberge
Ranked #1 of 18 Dessert in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$90
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: From our exclusive continental breakfast, at L'Auberge you enjoy our wish to offer a more refined service. For lunch, at the barbecue or inside the hotel, you can try the famous uruguayan meats, fresh fish and a variety of delicious home made pasta, or carefully prepared fresh salads. We invite you to enjoy dinner in the quiet of the night, while our chefs prepare your main dishes and desserts and you find the perfect excuse to open a bottle of an exquisite wine.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“"Excellent" says it all!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights in Mid-April, 2013. We were not excited about eating at the hotel as it appeared the prices were a bit steep. However, we decided on lunch our first day, and it was excellent!

Dinner that evening followed, and it was also great! Breakfasts were included with our room, and they were simple yet good. The service was outstanding!

We ate two more lunches at the restaurant, and both were great.

On the price thing, while it appears to be expensive, EVERYTHING in Punta del Este is expensive. The prices for lunch and dinner appear to be in line with other restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank 82-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    154
    38
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice but too expensive”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The hotel/restaurant is located in a very beautiful and sophisticated area of Punta, surrounded by amazing houses and villas. If you get there, you should ask for the waffle, expectable.One is enough for a couple, and it comes with one sauce. We asked for a waffle with chocolate sauce and ordered an extra strawberry sauce. I had a mineral water and my girlfriend had a cup of tea. We payed around U$ 50!!!! A place to attend just once!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NandoVellutini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

an absolute classic in Punta del Este.

If it's rainning it's packed. The custom is to have waffles with dulce de leche or chocolate.

There are excellent teas also.

Go in tea time.

You must go there if you are in Punta del Este.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Augusto1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Decadent and unexpected”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I wasn't sold on the idea of this place from the reviews, however being ranked #1 in Punta is no joke so we rolled the dice and it paid off. This is not a place I would go every week, but the late afternoon tea and waffles were fantastic and a real hit with all nine of us. They accommodated us right when they opened at 1700 although we were severely underdressed in beach attire and had two children with us. They also agreed to serve us wine and beer with our waffles and tea since we wanted the party to continue without interruption!

About half of us opted for the sweet choices (chocolate and dulce de leche) and the other half took the "saltado" option - cheese. I personally prefer salty to sweet, but I tasted all of them and none of it was disappointing. Being Punta, it was pricey, but so is the entire town. The café con leche, darjeeling, all of it, were fantastic. Not something you would want to do weekly if you have any fitness routine at all, but certainly worth a visit while in Punta.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good hotel restaurant.”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner here so far, no negative experiences. Wonderful eggs. Good service, good atmosphere. Clearly a high end operation. Charming hotel, too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ryskalchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing