We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food and Gorgeous People”
Review of Lo de Charlie

Lo de Charlie
Ranked #105 of 244 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Gorgeous People”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We went for dinner even though we heard they are busy and popular for late-lunch. We went "early" around 8PM because we hadn't eaten all day. No one was there when we got there but was packed when we left around 11PM.
I wanted to order everything that I saw the waiters take to others' tables. The fish, the meat - all of it! I ordered the entrecot (meat) with a foie gras sauce. AMAZING. The meat was cooked perfectly - pink/red in the middle and a little crunch on the corners. The foie gras sauce complimented the meat and the grilled vegetable side was not overlooked. Also ate a gazpacho and it was smooth, fresh and had a kick to it. Maybe not worth almost $20 but in Punta, double any "normal" New York price. 3 young girls: app, plate and a bottle of wine = $170. They bring a basket of freshly baked bread - and keep bringing it the whole time you are sitting there. The compliments to the bread are tasty. Definitely worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jkarnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    95
    34
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fish anyone?”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Lo de Charlie is the fish place. You want fresh fish, you got it ,and its good. They will cook your fish, your way. This is another restaurant that has been in Punta del Este for many years, and the reason is because its always good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank winebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A classic with consistent quality and charm”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Lo de Charlie is such a good restaurant that despite specializing in seafood it is still within this seafood-allergic person's top 3 choices in Punta del Este.
I have been going to Lo de Charlie several times a year for more than a decade now, and I have never had anything but an excellent meal, regardless of how many were in our party or what time of the year it was.
In a country with bland food, Lo de Charlie stands out for dishes that are explosions of flavor. This is no nouveau skimpy portion joint either, the plates are huge and you're well advised to share any appetizers if you plan to follow with a main course.
Charlie is usually in full view of his patrons, and is no prima donna chef. If he can accommodate your whim, he will.
The staff have been with Charlie since I've known the restaurant, they are knowledgeable, professional and unintrusive. Maybe they don't speak so much English, judging by some reviews I just saw, which may lead to misunderstandings... so try to double check everything before you order.
The atmosphere is rustic and cozy.
Pricewise it's on the upper end of the scale, but value-wise, it's hard to beat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margarita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fish and seafood”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Charlie prepares very tasty fish and seafood, with lot of vegetables.
Also, the starters are fantastic. I always ask for scallops or squid

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlaSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Every trip. Never miss going here.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great restaurant. The food is always excellent and exciting (can't believe I'm actually using that word since I'm not a foodie). But it's always a bit different in a good way. The cooks are out in the open and you can watch their show from your table. Waiters are friendly and good. Prices are more than a lot of restaurants in Punta but at this place you actually do get what you pay for. Really nice atmosphere too. Real close to the port too. After a nice walk along the rambla ending at the port this is a good place to settle in for dinner and then cab it home.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosco1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lo de Charlie also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Lo de Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing