We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
Ranked #11 of 37 Punta del Este B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My two friends and I stayed in the four person room. We had an AMAZING time. The place is beautiful. It was great that we were not located in the middle of the city. It was quiet and beautiful. We had amazing dinners and the breakfast was incredible! I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    22
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
43
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I strongly recommend this place to stay. I went alone and meet new people from all over the world due that Rodrigo and Alejandra make you feel in family and present all people who are staying. The room was good and clean. the breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottavio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this house for two nights and felt very welcome! The taxi ride to the hostel was a bit a odyssee and much more expensive than expected. But after telling this to Rodrigo, he called the taxi driver and in the end we got a free taxi ride back to the bus terminal two days later. Rodrigo explained the whole area around punta del este to us and gave tips and tricks, where to go and what to do. He breakfast in the house was great (first time we had enough after a breakfast). One evening we ate with the hosts and two other guests at home - great experience and very tasty! As we first arrived we thought, that it is almost to close to stay in the house of that hosts, but after a few hours it was not a problem anymore.
We can really recommend this place to stay, while you're in Punta del Este!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed in La Lomita for 4 days. It was the end of our honeymoon, and we couldn't ask for better place to finish our trip.Rodrigo and Alejandra were awesome! They are so fun, and really make you feel like you are staying in the house of old friends. They have funny kid and a cuuuute dog :)
Every night Rodrigo was making wonderful barbeque, putting all guests around the table. The breakfest was really nice, fresh fruits and muffins, serials, juice, coffee - really good way to start a day and is way better than typical Argentina hostel breakfasts.
They also rent bycicles and provided us with a lot of directions, tips and other useful information. They have a great kitchen with everything you need. It's really important since the prices in Punta del este are crazy.
We stayed in an upper room in the main building. The room was very romatnic, big and clean, with a balcony, the best room we have stayed in South America. The atmosphere is very relaxing and you want to stay there forever.
The hostel is about half an hour walking to the center of the city, which is not so close. But it's about 5 minutes walking to the big shopping center, and is really close to many beaches, you can also walk but better to ride to Bikini beach, which is beautiful.
This hostel is definitely decent value for Punta del Este and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you travelling as a couple we would recommend to stay in the upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Rodrigo and his family are such wonderful folks. When you make a booking here, you're really being invited into their home. You'll get to meet their wonderful friends (Silvia), dog (so well behaved), and young son. There are rooms out back for couples, and a dorm as well with some of the sturdiest bunks that I've seen in all my travels. This is such a hidden gem, and is a close walk to town. Rodrigo rents bicycles as well, and gives great directions for laundry, food, and partying. They didn't mind at all when I went out to visit friends and came home late at night... leaving the back door unlocked and saving breakfast for me until I woke up in the morning. Breakfast was very filling - cereal, muffins, coffee, and cheese sandwiches (made without meat for me). Rodrigo lives for surfing and his family has traveled everywhere including Thailand and up to Peru by road. Just thinking about my time here gives me a warm feeling inside! Honestly, I after a year on the road, this was really a godsend. Dinner is shared family style and there are great conversations to be had every night! I loved my time here and will definitely return!

Don't make the mistake of staying anywhere else. Really, folks will tell you to skip PdE but La Lomita makes it worth the stay! Rodrigo, if you're reading this then don't change a thing!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Great place to stay in Punta del Este. Very helpful and friendly people who couldn't do enough for us during our stay.

Nice bikes to rent and a beautful barbecue one night made this a perfect stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at La Lomita for 2 nights and were welcomed like part of the family. La Lomita is a small hostel / homestay located in a nice suburb of Punta del Este. Rodrigo and his wife were very very helpful and their B&B was spotless. Breakfast was delicious and the whole atmosphere was so relaxed. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who is going to Punta del Este.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms. We stayed in a triple room for one night and in a 6 bed dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
2.8 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Capilla
La Capilla
#23 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel & Suites
2.1 mi away
TAS D VIAJE Hostel - Surfcamp - Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lomita del Chingolo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lomita del Chingolo B&B

Property: La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
Address: Las acacias s/n, Punta del Este 1425, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we have 6 private bedrooms with private bathroomkitchen facilities, free wi fi an computer,great breakfastbbq area, lots of space for chill out, cable tv,surfboards,etc,we are just 8 bloks from one of the best beaches, san rafael 12 beach,only 25 minutes away walking from punta city,and just 6 blocks from punta shopping, and 14 from conrad casino,sourranded by mansions, best restourants,gardens and birdsenjoy, relax,have fun and make friends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Lomita del Chingolo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lomita Del Chingolo Bed And Breakfast
La Lomita Del Chingolo Hotel Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing