We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a history lesson!”
Review of Museo del Mar

Museo del Mar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.99*
and up
José Ignacio Sightseeing Tour from Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4 Museos in 1 ! MUSEUM OF THE SEA, HISTORY OF BEACH RESORTS, MUSEUM COLLECTIBLES, INSECTARIUM Over 5000 specimens you never imagined you would see. History of Punta del Este, hundreds of photos. Pirates and buccaneers room. Collectibles: vintage articles. All this in a permanent exhibition in the year.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a history lesson!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I´m not a natural museum sort of person but The Museo del Mar is absolutely full of fabulous photos recording the history of Punta del Este and its juicy anecdotes.....go back various times to read more

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianamacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    336
    106
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima Region, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellente Museum!! Worth the visit”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I guess I learned so much of the sea life in this museum than in my entire life. You have to be in there to understand how fascinating and well preserve is that museum. Not pretentious at all and 100% educative. When we became parents, we´ll definitely return with our children and share this amazing place with them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pieri_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Really interesting and educative, lot of interesting things to sea.
if you love nature and the sea, don't miss it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ricrey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting spot for a cloudy day in Punta and for kids.”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

It is interesting to see what has been found in our costs... Curiosities and nice memories from historical info from main spots in Uruguay. It is not perfectly organised still nice to see.

Helpful?
Thank MairaTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An interesting option for your hollidays”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The museum was recommended by the owner of the Posada we stayed at.
It was a rainy day so we thought Why not? It turned out to be a very interesting option. Museo del mar is fun for all ages. You can follow the history of Punta del Este and find interesting facts about its sea life. Also, there is an exhibition of objects from the early XX century.
Loved it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo del Mar also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Museo del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing