We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful choice in an expensive city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tonel

El Tonel
Ranked #30 of 240 Restaurants in Punta del Este
Price range: US$12 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice in an expensive city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great service, attentive staff, they don't let you waiting long as other restaurants in Uruguay do. The food is really good, it is a typical uruguayan restaurant that will not disappoint you. We went there several times during our stay in Punta because of the quality of the service, the food and the reasonable prices. Plates with meat are sufficient for two people if you also ask for rice or potatoes as complements (we tried the "vacío"and the "asado de tira", both really tasty). Juices are expensive. They don't charge the service (there is not a tax for "cubiertos"), you pay what you think they deserve. We also tried the pasta once, the raviolli bolognesa is really good (there is spinach inside, a great surprise!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poly_Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    301
    132
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow this place was not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We ordered a beet salad and calamari, they gave us shrimps. We felt bad so we kept it, huge mistake. It tasted dried out, we didn't even finish it. The waiter was nice and apologized but he charged us $39. U.S. for 12 dry shrimps. Never saw the beet salad. Then we both ordered pasta, thinking that was a safe choice, not so. The whole dinner was $114 US! we only had a mini bottle of cheap wine and two waters. No dessert, no coffee.
Almost every restaurant in this town ridiculously over charges but this was just a waste of $114.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christhepickyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We were in Punta del Este for a week in early February. We happened upon El Tonel when out for a walk! We had the best food for the most reasonable cost of all the places in which we dined that week. Fish and beef were carefully prepared and delicious. The staff was more than helpful with my wife's celiac condition. We would have returned except for the fact that we had to go to Montevideo the next day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waldorf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value - for this town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

So far we've eaten at El Tonel twice and both times we found the service and food very good. Punta del Este is a tourist town and at this time of the year things are just gearing up - restaurants, shops, etc. so there isn't so much choice. We've eaten at other places and found the food and dining experience to be of a lesser quality, at a similar price. El Tonel's portions are very generous. The quality and taste of the dishes are also very good.

We enjoyed the mixed skewer (chicken and beef), tortilla de papas, and grilled fish. If you're Punta del Este, we recommend that you give it a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
554 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“excellent food and very good service and reasonable prices for Punta del Este...!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

It has been a long time since I last visited El Tonel, and it has kept the standards and quality, not a fancy restaurante but very good food and reasonable prices for an expensive destination. I had some fish and it was excellent, we can only say good things about the restaurante, one of the best in Punta del Este, for a good and not overprized meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tonel also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to El Tonel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing