We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people!”
Review of The Trip Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Trip Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice place to stay, close to the beach, bus terminal and the casino!
The staff were very friendly, nice place to stay!
It's nice to stay at the hostel in the weekend, everyone party all the time! Cool place, one off the best hostel we have been on!

Best regards
Denmark !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjaminoeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a very cool hostel! we felt very welcomed as soon as we arrived, the staff were great told us everything we needed to know! fantastic location, right near the bus station, beach and supermarket...(if you want to go out, its not too far of a walk but a cheap taxi with a few of you)...fantastic atmospher, everyone was very chilled out and all there for the same reasons...a good time! would def recomend this place!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank madd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

the trip hostel has something that makes you feel at home..everybody are friendly and the atmosphere is the best that it could be for a hostel..i had a really great time and made some good friends there..i hope i can come back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank refranciscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonchisDtrip, Owner at The Trip Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much, we aprecciate your words!! :) ... we will be waiting for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very fine hostel, with great personal! We unfortunately had a short stay in Punta and could not appreciate more of the activities the people had in there! Absolutely, I’d recommend the Trip Hostel to everybody!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volneids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonchisDtrip, Propietario at The Trip Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thanx for your comment! We wait you here for a long stay in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Overall it's a good hostel but the walls are very thin (upstairs) so you hear everything in the next rooms and around you. The mattresses are poor and need to be updated. The staff are great and very welcoming. Excellent common areas - lounge downstairs, deck upstairs

The upstairs rooms are very basically built, feels almost like a shed or cubby house, with ply-wood walls.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonchisDtrip, Propietario at The Trip Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thanx for your comment. It really help us and we'll work hard to improove. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you come to Punte del Este and don't stay at The Trip Hostel I can honestly say you are missing out on an amazing time and your stay in Punte del Este will not be the same. From the moment I arrived at The Trip, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly (not to mention very attractive), and continued to be so throughout my stay. It is in an excellent location; walking distance to the bus terminal, beach, restaurants, bars, clubs, and casinos--really couldn't be better. The hostel has a very relaxed and chill vibe and definitely the place to be if you're looking to make friends and have a good time. The owners definitely know how to through a good party with great music and company. They also will give great recommendations of places to go out at and usually will provide a free wristband to get in. I will always remember my time at The Trip Hostel and would DEFINITELY go back. I miss it already!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonchisDtrip, Propietario at The Trip Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thanx a lot for your comment! We really apreciate it! Doors are open for you to come back in the future! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I had been travelling for a while in Uruguay and everyone kept telling me Punta del Este is so posh! Depends on who you meet I guess... The 3 owners and the staff at The Trip Hostel are absolutely great!!! The are knowledgeable, super friendly and do get out of their way to help you. They took us to Casa del Pueblo and we jumped off the rocks to the sea, it was great. Atmosphere at the hostel is very nice, with a lovely patio. Rooms are clean and they have a very convenient kitchen. It was a great pleasure to meet you all and I look forward to seeing you in Europe :) sofia

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank ItalyTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.7 mi away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 65 in Punta del Este
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#13 of 65 in Punta del Este
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romimar Hotel
Romimar Hotel
#20 of 65 in Punta del Este
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel & Suites
0 mi away
B&B Hostel
B&B Hostel
#31 of 61 in Punta del Este
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
TAS D VIAJE Hostel - Surfcamp - Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trip Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trip Hostel

Address: Emilio Sader | entre Av. Francia y Bvr. Artigas, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Punta del Este
Price Range: £12 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trip Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!The Trip Hostel opens its doors to receive travellers from all over the world.Situated in the heart of Punta del Este, near everything necessary for you to have an amazing stay.The hostel is two blocks from the Bus Station, two blocks from Gorlero´s Street and two blocks from both Playa Mansa and Playa Brava beaches.The Trip Hostel combines good vibes with the best comfort. A safe place, where you can find everything you need to have an unforgettable stay.What defines us the best is the personalized attention we give to our guests. Our intention is for you to take part in social activities, to try our famous "Asado" and wine tasting, enjoy live music and participate in theme parties we throw at our exclusive bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Trip Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing