We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquarium Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Atlantico Boutique Hotel(Punta del Este)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Concorde(Punta del Este)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The SmallEast Hotel(Punta del Este)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Galicia(Punta del Este)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    Amsterdam(Punta del Este)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Bonne Etoile Hotel(Punta del Este)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Peninsula(Punta del Este)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Playa Brava(Punta del Este)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (71)
    Filter reviews
    71 results
    Traveller rating
    1
    17
    26
    9
    18
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1
    17
    26
    9
    18
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 71 reviews
    Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

    We were basically forced to stay at this hotel as we were in punta for New Years and this was the only accommodation that we could find for a reasonable price. Well actually, it wasn't reasonable it was quite expensive but we couldn't really do much about it.
    The rooms wer nothing special. The bathroom is so small you had to maneuver your way in. The bathroom actually stunk the room out like urine. Overall not that pleasant.
    We got stuck in the elevator so that's not functioning well.
    The worst out of everything in my opinion was the service. The staff was always uninterested. Whenever I went to the counter to ask assistance or a question, they all looked like they wer pushing each other to attend to me because they wanted nothing to do with me. Checkin took forever. They obviously don't care much about their visitors.
    Only on the last day were we made aware that there was a rooftop area - something most hotel staff would point out in the first day.
    I was in the lobby once sitting on the couch and the staff turned up the music so loud- I felt I was in a club or something.
    Service with a smile doesn't exist in this hotel - I never saw any of the staff smile once.
    The location is near the end of the peninsula. Walking distance to nice restaurants and bars. 20 minute nice walk to beaches and bus station.
    Overall if possible try to avoid. Otherwise don't set your expectations too high with this hotel

    • Stayed: January 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank TiMo8291
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 February 2013

    Hotel Aquarium was one of the cheapest options I could find in Punta del Este, however as it was hot season accommodation price was not cheap at all. So I decided to spend in Punta only 1 night and continue my vacations in more affordable Piriapolis. As for hotel Aquarium, it was a decent lodging, located in central part of the peninsula, where is situated Punta. About 20 minutes walking distance from the bus station. A large supermarket and a small beach are nearby. The main beaches are apart. My room was not a big one, but quite comfortable. Equipped with tv, air conditioner, minibar. The furniture was rather basic. There was not a balcony, just a small window with a nice view over town. The panorama of resort could also be observed from the roof terrace. Hotel doesn't have a pool. Buffet breakfast was hearty, hotel staff - friendly. Although the official checkout time is 10 am, they didn't object to our stay till noon.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Aleksandr550
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2013

    Long walk from bus terminal to hotel (over 15 minutes). Room was average at best...closet door was difficult to open, the front door to room shook when others on floor opened their door. Breakfast was decent, Internet in lobby was tempermental (staff did not care to repair), hotel appeared to be in a cross-road state of being renovated.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AlexC154982
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 February 2012

    We walked from the bus station to the hotel. It was easy to find. Great breakfast. Lots of fruit. Close to the beach and the grocery store.

    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank rmkelly
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 February 2012

    This hotel was very clean. AC worked well in our room, as did the fridge. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean. Nice selection for breakfast - including delicious pastries and fresh fruit!

    Negatives - a pretty far walk to any of the swimable beaches. It is very close to the coast, but the nearest beach for swimming is a pretty good walk away.
    We stayed for 3 days and during this time the wifi would not work on the first floor. We could get wifi in the lobby and when we asked about it, we were told it worked fine and they wouldn't fix it for us. So that was a negative that we couldn't access it from our room.

    Staff were ok - one man was very friendly and helpful and able to answer any questions we had, while the rest of the staff didn't really acknowledge us.

    Overall it was a good stay though and we would recommend it.

    Room Tip: Chose a higher room maybe for working internet?
    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank tata54
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews