We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of La Foret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Foret
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Stayed with my baby (aged 10 months). Best of hotel is the great location. You can walk to Playa Mansa, Casino or downtown (with your baby)
The hotel is not luxurious, but comfortable and clean enough. I liked breakfast (variety). Nice pool area, with a lovely indoor heated pool (great for kids)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2009

Reception: Horrible welcome. Room:Black dirty silicon joins in bathroom, airco never cleaned, sliding windows full of dust,cupboards full of dust.Swiming pool to small for amount of people and freezing.Towels 10 years old, etc etc

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Katale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We stayed here six years ago and this hotel looks and feels like there have been no updating or not enough upkeep in those six years. Everything is dated and the rooms are showing their age. It is on a nice quiet street in a nice neighborhood. Too bad they are not reinvesting in the property. The breakfast is so, so.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank viajero1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Stayed with my two kids at the time aged 18 months and 3 1/2. Crib was provided and no nasty looks when I asked for bottles to be steam cleaned. The hotel is not luxurious but more than adequate, clean, breakfast has variety, lovely pool area and less than five minute walk to the beach. Small indoor heated pool was a big hit and the outdoor pool is beach style so the little ones can walk in easily. It is not very deep. Will return. Ask for room with pool view and try to get a balcony if it is available. Laundry service is relatively expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mail2gaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I have stayed at this hotel twice. I really liked it. It wasn't enough to send someone orbiting, but it was very good. I found it on the Best Western website and the pictures were flattering. In reality, the pictures are just a tad nicer than the actual property, but it is still very nice.

The compelling reason to stay here is the price/quality relationship. Both times (March 03 and more recently November 05), my stay would be characterized as "shoulder season," where the weather is good enough for the beach but without half of Buenos Aires in attendance. Thus, the prices were decent (in the $ 70 to $ 80 USD range).

The rooms and bathrooms were fine. They were comfortable enough. The location is fantastic...on the Playa Mansa side, where you can walk 2 blocks to the beach or even stretch your legs a bit and go to the Casino at the Conrad (the FIVE star place in town) or stretch your legs a bit more and walk onto the downtown peninsula that juts out into the Ocean and divides the Playa Brava (Atlantic side) from Playa Mansa (Rio de la Plata side).

The staff is very nice, especially the apparent general manager who was working there in both 2003 and 2005. In general, this is an area filled with wonderful people (maybe being an American who speaks Spanish helps this a bit), but both of my visits to Punta del Este and this hotel were wonderful. Also, the breakfast buffet, in typical South American fashion, is both bountiful and tasty.

In fact, there is such a price gap between the spendy hotels such as the Conrad and ones such as the BW LaForet that it makes a lot of sense to stay here. I know I plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank califbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

Firstly we checked in to be met by a friendly enough receptionist but the maintenence man (or whatever he was )had a face that would turn milk sour,scowling at us and not even a hello(dont know why he was behind the reception desk anyway)we were then taken to a room that stunk so badly of tobacco even the receptionist said how bad it was.
Moved us to another room with a partial sea view,the smelly 1st room had a balcony overlooking the pool ,the 2nd room didn´t.The receptionist told us that as smoking wasn´t permitted in the public areas everyone smoked in their rooms,logic eh,better to just ban it throughout.
The breakfast was rubbish,watered down orange squash supposed to be O.J dirty tables, processed cheese slices and an uninspiring ¨buffet¨ and no one even there to greet you(a woman came out of the kitchen, ignored us cleared 1 table leaving about 6 cluttered with dirty plates and cups and disappeared back inside to her blaring radio)As we were leaving at 5am we asked about coffee or some kind of breakfast to be told no it wasn´t available till 8am so had to go without.
As for the bedroom,when i turned down the bed on the 1st day there was a big long black hair on the top sheet.We are both fair and hadn´t slept in the bed yet´so the sheets were obviously just turned over between guests and not changed.The bathroom sink had a big crack in it and the suite was antiquated,not a nice place to spend much time in.
Went down to the bar to be ignored by the barman and his sidekick too busy watching King Kong to say good evening or did we want a drink(we didnt bother) the so called internet access had a notice up saying only to be used for e mail and not for chat or games and restricted to 20 mins.Fair enough but as i was keeping in touch with family through msn messenger surely what you choose to do with your 20 mins is up to you,sending e mails is not internet access in my view.All in all a crap hotel,shabby and run down with disinterested slovenly staff.Dont come here you ll hate it .

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tiosdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

This hotel is excellent.
Amazing room, with a large bed and great bathroom. Clean, with a great breakfast.
Nice staff!
The pool is amazing, and the restaurant have a really good food.
Have a internet acess 24 hours.
Lovely!

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank atit00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.7 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#5 of 65 in Punta del Este
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Joan Miro Hotel
Joan Miro Hotel
#14 of 65 in Punta del Este
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#22 of 65 in Punta del Este
224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
#19 of 65 in Punta del Este
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foret

Address: Calle La Foret Y Pascual Gattas | Parada 6 Moya Mansa, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay (Formerly BEST WESTERN La Foret)
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range: £75 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Foret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Foret Hotel Punta Del Este
Best Western Punta Del Este
Punta Del Este Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing