We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here in off season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This hotel was in a great location. The hotel had a nice pool. Our room had a nice balcony. Also, the free breakfest was awesome. The hotel had a 70's vibe - everything was brown in our room. We had a kitchen area, which was nice. The room was clean. The price of the hotel great considering everything.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Allison W:
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay at Golden Beach Resort & Spa on your visit to Punta del Este and that you could enjoy the facilities of our hotel and its location. We would like to thank you for your preference for us and for your kinds words which will be shared with our staff as it is the best motivation to keep on performing our services. Best Regards,
Golden Beach Resort & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is more like a b&b .room service only has toasted melted cheese and ham sandwich,and a normal cheese and ham sandwich ,coca cola and water. Really old beds which are not at all comfy old 1990 TVs which some are always not working properly . The staff are very helpful . But no help that no1 in the hotel speaks English . I sent my laundry and some1 else had it in their room. The breakfast is horrible .starting from the juices to the hot water for tea which is never hot. The fact in which they say that they have a restaurant but we went down to ave something to eat ,while waiting 30 mins to be served some1 said we don't have anything that's on the menu

Room Tip: Internet wifi is great in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xandinha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear Xandinha84:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Golden Beach Resort & Spa. We regret for not having met your expectations, but you can be sure that we will keep on working to improve our facilities and service. On next April we will be returning to the remodeling tasks for our rooms adn common areas which will give our hotel a fresher look and the best comfort four our guests, asi we will be incluiding new led tv´s, multisplit air conditioners and king size beds. We expect to receive your visit again once that we finish the remodeling tasks.
Best regards,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Ok, so the fixtures and fittings are a little aged, but as the hotel itself recognises they are in the process (slowly it seems) of renovating. The hotel looks older as the furniture they originally chose in the 90s were old designs even when they were new.
Pros
- friendly staff throughout whole hotel
- breakfast was fine, if a little carb heavy!
- nice indoor pool
- spacious kids club with very pleasant staff
- room had very handy fridge and small kitchen
- rooms well cleaned and made up each day
- strong internet connection and free
- smack in the centre of Punta
Cons
- little frayed around the edges
- a few too many cables here and there, e.g. Next to shower by outside pool
- needs some protein in the breakfast although you can order eggs!
- old TVs and no aircon for those sleeping on the sofa-bed, is just in the main bedroom at the moment
- would be great to have warm water in outside pool

In summary a very good hotel, staff are all doing the right things, will be excellent after the much needed renovations. Would definately consider going back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear GragamPYG:
We would like to thak you for choosing Golden Beach Resort & Spa on your last visit to Punta del Este, even we are very grateful for your kind words posted on Trip Advisor about your stay at our hotel. As you could check, we are working hard to improve our facilities and rooms, specially in some of the points that you mentioned such as aire conditioner for the different areas of the room, tv´s replacement, and new deccor. We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy the warmth of our staff, and we will share your comments with them as it is an important motivation to keep on the continuous process of service improvement. We expect for your next visit, and remain at your service to help you in any need.
Best regards,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel is great if you are looking to only sleep there and spend the day out. The location was very good, within walking distance of all points of interest, shops, restaurants and beach. The hotel itself is very old and not well maintained. Not clean enough, full of noisy teenagers parting. Staff was helpfull. Hotel was quite cheap but wouldn't go back. Surely there are more comfy places to saty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear M G: We would like to thank you for staying at Golden Beach Resort & Spa on your last visit to Punta del Este. We appreciate your valuable comments about your stay and our hotel. As you may check, our location is very convenient to stay close form the highlights of Punta del Este, as the fashion road, Gorlero Avenue, the harbour and the best restaurants in the city. In reference to the hotel itself, we are working hard in the remodeling of its rooms and we expect to finish our first 4 rooms by december, and after the summer season we will start again our tasks to achieve 30% of rooms of the hotel. These rooms will be equiped with multisplit air conditioners, new led tv´s, king size sommiers, new windows for sound and thermal insulation, and other improvements that will offer more comfort to our respectable guests.
We look foward to receive your visita again, once we finish our remodeling in order to enjoy the changes and a memorable experience.
Best regards.
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I went with my two toddlers by myself. I woud not have enjoyed my time if it wasn't for their service and ammenities. They helped me with my stroller, got me a doctor for free for one of my kids, had microwave and refrigerator in the room for bottles, beds were great and playpens new.
The location is very convenient if you do not want to rent a car. Both coasts are less than 4 blocks away and you are one block away from the main street. Bus station is walking distance ( I know because I was pushing a stroller and a suitcase) and there's a minimarket next door.

The kids area was great for the kids to run around for a bit in between pool and beach.

What made this hotel amazing was the service and cleanliness. When you travel with kids that makes a huge difference.

Room Tip: Las habitaciones con terraza no son recomendables para gente con toddlers por la escalera en espiral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leilalaniado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Leilalaniado:
It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a good time on your last visit to Golden Beach Resort & Spa in Punta del Este. We really appreciate for taking the time to write your review about your stay at our hotel which of course will be very helpful for other travellers. Your warm words will be shared with our staff, as it is a great motivation and encourage us to keep on working hard to achieve excellence. We will be pleased to receive your visit again,
Sincerely
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with a friend and a further 2 nights on my own and loved it! There's nothing I could say which could fault my stay here. The service was always very friendly, helpful and welcoming, loads to choose from at breakfast, perfect location and great rooms. Thanks for an awesome stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear ATraveller16:
We appreciate your time in writing a review in Trip Advisor about your last stay at Golden Beach Resort & Spa. We are glad to know that you spent a good time in our rooms and that could experience the warmth of our staff and will share your kind comments with it. We expect to have the chance to receive you back in our hotel. Please contact us if we can be useful anytime,
Best regards,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Facilidades como piscina aquecida e piscina externa. Café da manhã bem variado. Staff muito prestativo. Chuveiros ótimos. Excelente localização, perto de tudo! Lojinha de conveniência bem ao lado, no inverno - quando não tinha nada aberto - a lojinha estava à nossa disposição até a madrugada! CONTRAS: Calefação bem fraca, passamos frio no quarto no inverno de 3 graus Celsius.

Facilities like heated pool and an outdoor pool. Nice breakfast. Staff very efficient. Great showers. Excellent location, close to everything! Convenience store right next door, in the winter - when there was nothing open - the shop was available to us until late night! CONS: Heating pretty weak, spent the winter cold in the room by 37 Farenheit degrees.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubicatBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012
Google Translation

Prezado RubicatBrazil:
Agradecemos muito o tempo e antecao dispensado em publicar os seus comentarios no Trip Advisor referente a sau estadia em Golden Beach Resort & Spa. Ficamos felizes de saber que o senhor aproveitou a nossa privilegiada localizacao e servicos como a nossa piscina aquecida, a qual é muito conveniente para os dias de inverno. Referente a sua experiencia respeito a climatizacao da habitacao gostaria de lhe informar que ja estamos trabalhando num importante projeto para melhorar a climatizacao das mesmas o qual inclui a troca dos actuais equipos de ar condicionados por um moderno sistema multisplit que climatizará todos os ambientes dos quartos com una tecnologia de maior eficiencia e performance, além disso trcoaremos as janelas por aberturas com vidro duplo (termopaneis) os quais melhoram o aislamento acústico e térmico das habitacoes.
Compartilharemos os seus comentarios com a nossa equipe de trabalho ja que isto é um grande incentivo para continuar trabalhando na procura da excelencia no atendimento aos nossos prezados hospedes.
Ficamos a sua dispossicao para quanto possamos lhe ajudar e ao aguardo da sua próxima visita.
Atenciosamente,
Staff do Golden Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.7 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,260 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
2,038 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
1.5 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
572 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
#20 of 65 in Punta del Este
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Calle 24 esquina calle 29, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range: £66 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Beach Resort & Spa is very well located at the heart of Punta Del Este. It is the largest hotel in the downtown of Punta, really close to "Calle 20" which is known as "the fashion road", one block away from Av. Gorlero, the main street of the city, and also 50 meters from the "Brava Beach" on the Atlantic Ocean which makes the favourite beach for surfers and brave swimmers, and 300 meters away from the "Mansa Beach" on the River Plate which is very paceful and safe for people of all ages. Golden Beach Resorts & Spa counts with 100 comfortable rooms up to 6 people per room. The hotel offers a lot of services which makes it different from other hotels in the area, as the great indoor swimming pool, out side swiimming pools one of them exclusive for children, play room with billiard, table soccer, table tennis, kids club for children from 2 years old, excellent spa with various treatments, safe indoor parking, wi fi in all the rooms, and a great home made breakfast with local pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Resort And Hotel Punta Del Este
Golden Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing