We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't compare it to other resort destinations and you'll be ok.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Punta del Este
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Don't compare it to other resort destinations and you'll be ok.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Upon arrival I was extremely disappointed, (horrified really), having experienced same star resorts at less or equal cost in Asia, Europe, the US incl Hawaii, etc. So I thought this would be on par or better with some of the great beach destination resorts. Bottom line is go with your eyes open and mentally do two things: (1) ignore the cost. Try not to think about the luxury it would have bought you at other worldwide destinations. $750 was beyond outrageous given the shabby facility but apparently market price for here; (2) set your expectations that it's a 2 star hotel at most based on global standards, and really more like a motel as opposed to a hotel (certainly not a resort ). Once you've psyched yourself with these two thoughts, it has some nice plusses: Great location, staff that really try to be helpful, great air conditioning (appears to be rare here). Final point: many of the other hotels seem to be rundown also. With all the choices for travel, Punta del Este is not a place I 'd recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    349
    194
    58
    26
See reviews for
438
227
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

It's location is great, the people are very pleasant and the accommodations are very good. The room we stayed in had a mini-kitchen which can come in handy.
An other advantage is the garage, as during high season Punta tends to have a lot of people driving around, not have to look for a parking space in the street is great!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Dto. de Reservas at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Ms Fernanda,
First of all we would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and accomodation.
We will be sharing your comments with the staff.
Your opinion will help future guest to choose our hotel.
We hope to receiving you anytime.
Kind regards,
Staff Golden Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to help you. I found the hotel a little old and starting to look run-down. There were broken outlets, tiles looking old, and the wooden railings starting to rot. Stayed in one of the upper level rooms with a penthouse balcony; not worth it. The top floor space was dirty and furniture broken. Sliding door did not lock. Not a terrible place, but just getting old.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Reservations at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mr Dan P
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your opinion about our hotel Golden Beach.
We thank you for the kind words about our staff.
About your observations of the hotel we want to let you know that this year we will continue remodeling some of the rooms and changing the furniture and facilities
We hope to have you as a guest again to meet your expectations and have a great time in Punta del Este.
Best regards,
Staff Golden Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although we stayed at the Golden Beach during the off season, we had a positive experience. The staff was very friendly, and spoke great English. The room was a little out-dated and borderline dingy, but not gross or dirty by any means. The pool and sauna were delightful. The breakfast buffet is huge.

I have to insert that we stayed in the low-season (April). I had read that there isn't much going on, and had thought to myself - how great we won't have to fight the crowds. What I learned is that LITERATELY there isn't anything going on. Almost the entire town was shut down and we had our choice of pizza, or over priced touristy restaurants. It was a bit of a bummer, but the sunset was still beautiful.

I imagine when I return to Este I would stay here, as it is central to everything and the staff was extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Dpto. Reservas at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear JennaBrod:
Thank you for making time to write about your experience in Golden Beach and in Punta del Este.
It was a pleasure receiving you. We are grateful for your kind words about our staff.
We have an investment plan to restored all the rooms during the next three years.
Generally in Punta del Este the low season starts in April so it's quiter than January or February. It's a great time to relax.
We hope to receiving you anytime.
Kind regards,
Staff Golden Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed in Feb. 2012, after carnaval which is like the end of summer. It was pretty quiet in the area since the peak season is apparently in December and January. It was a relaxing stay...the rooms are clean, there is a nice swimming pool. A young man who works at the front desk was so helpful and friendly! He told us everything we needed to know about the area. Both beaches are close by! First we went to the one that is less popular don't remember the name but was not too crazy about that beach because the water was cold and it was extremely windy. Then we went to the famous Playa Dedos beach, that beach was awesome! We had a great time just relaxing and having drinks on the beach. We had a great time! We felt so safe there! There is also a casino within walking distance. Also a really good restaurant called Toucan's. We would love to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunCity08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Suncity08:
It was a great pleasure receive your visit at Golden Beach Resort & Spa, we are proud to know that our services, facilities and our staff achieved your expectations and could experience a relaxing stay at our hotel. We are grateful for your kinds words about our hotel and people and would be glad to receive you back anytime. do no hesitate to contact us if we can be helpful for you.
Best regards,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

When I had first traveled to Uruguay, I, too, would visit hotels being quick to judge if the aesthetics weren’t sparkling new. True, like many buildings here, the actual structure is older, and you may see a slight discoloring in the ceiling near the reception desk, or a scratch in the flooring, but my $160 suite was a clean spacious two- room layout with a kitchenette, and a huge terrace with lounge chairs overlooking a well attended pool area. The amazingly helpful staff made everything easy from handing out beach chairs and towels to carry on a very short walk to the white sandy playa, to helping us with our ten -month old twins. They each had a crib with a good mattress supplied by the hotel to sleep in, and when we realized we forgot our portable high chairs, a random hotel worker searched for and then delivered two highchairs to my room after I asked him about it in the lobby. Oh and did I mention the eggs were made special for my babies and then served at our table during the self-serve breakfast? For me there was nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Tell them about your room expectations. I did, and I got a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larellano_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear larellano_4:
We would like to thank you for choosing Golden Beach Resort & Spa as your hotel on your last visit to Punta del Este. We are very proud to know that your expectations were met by our service and your kind words will be shared with our staff, as it is the best motivation we can receive to keep on improving our services. We are glad to know that you could enjoy our spacious and comfortable suites and our convenient location, so close to the beach.
We would be pleased to receive your visit again, do no hesitate to contact us if we can be of further assistance.
Sincerely,
Staff of Golden Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

This hotel was in a great location. The hotel had a nice pool. Our room had a nice balcony. Also, the free breakfest was awesome. The hotel had a 70's vibe - everything was brown in our room. We had a kitchen area, which was nice. The room was clean. The price of the hotel great considering everything.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenbeachresort, Gerente at Golden Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Allison W:
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay at Golden Beach Resort & Spa on your visit to Punta del Este and that you could enjoy the facilities of our hotel and its location. We would like to thank you for your preference for us and for your kinds words which will be shared with our staff as it is the best motivation to keep on performing our services. Best Regards,
Golden Beach Resort & Spa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.7 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
1.5 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romimar Hotel
Romimar Hotel
#18 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Calle 24 esquina calle 29, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Beach Resort & Spa is very well located at the heart of Punta Del Este. It is the largest hotel in the downtown of Punta, really close to "Calle 20" which is known as "the fashion road", one block away from Av. Gorlero, the main street of the city, and also 50 meters from the "Brava Beach" on the Atlantic Ocean which makes the favourite beach for surfers and brave swimmers, and 300 meters away from the "Mansa Beach" on the River Plate which is very paceful and safe for people of all ages. Golden Beach Resorts & Spa counts with 100 comfortable rooms up to 6 people per room. The hotel offers a lot of services which makes it different from other hotels in the area, as the great indoor swimming pool, out side swiimming pools one of them exclusive for children, play room with billiard, table soccer, table tennis, kids club for children from 2 years old, excellent spa with various treatments, safe indoor parking, wi fi in all the rooms, and a great home made breakfast with local pastries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Resort And Hotel Punta Del Este
Golden Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing