We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend”
Review of Hotel L'Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Auberge
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and I can honestly say I have no complaints. The grounds are lovely and the entire hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms are not attached to the main building so it's not a traditional hotel, which I was grateful for because it seemed more whimsical somehow. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and the floor was heated, which in winter is much appreciated. The staff was super attentive, always focused on the customers. I even left some pills in the dinning room and they made sure I got them back. As for the food, perfection. I had fish for lunch, and being from the Caribbean we're accustomed to really good seafood, and this didn't disappoint. It was tender and delicious. The continental breakfast was also to our liking. As for the waffles, they're famous for a reason. We had them with chocolate and dulce de leche sauce. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    79
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
94
282
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at this delightful hotel last November for 4 nights. It had not been our 1st choice, but quickly became THE place to stay when in Punta. The room was exquisitely romantic with all the necessities constantly replenished, staff went out of their way to accommodate us and the grounds were very well kept with plenty of private places to relax. Even the lobby was a nice place to cozy up with a book.
Since we have major diet restrictions, we had brought our own food for the 1st night: the kitchen/dining room staff set a beautiful table for us, warmed & served our food, and never charged us extra! In the morning, the chef came out to invite us to the kitchen to make sure we could eat whatever they had. In a word: they went well above & beyond, even for a 5-star place. In all it was a perfect getaway from a busy Buenos Aires vacation.
We will definitely stay at L'Auberge again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sofsof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the resort. It was a bit after the busy Summer season for Uruguay (the winter months for those of us in the USA). The staff was charming, spoke excellent English and they made sure everything was perfect. Our room was clean and the fireplace and heated stone floors made for an extra cozy feel. We walked to the beach one morning..which takes only a few minutes..and enjoyed a relaxing morning just exploring the shore. I would highly recommend Hotel L'Auberge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank AT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

L'Auberge is a perfect option for a romantic getaway. The decoration of every single corner it's of superb taste and balance, the rooms are cozy and with a phenomenal view, the service and preparation of the crew it's just out of the league...they are everywhere taking care of you, however you hardly see them, unless you need them!

Room Tip: If you mind for ocean view, ask for a room on the Tower, they are smaller but the view is outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We just spent two nights at this hotel and just loved it! It was very warm and cosy but also so well looked after, with every detail taken into account. The staff were very friendly but unobstrusive when necessary and the bedroom was lovely, with its own fireplace and overlooking the gardens. There was under floor heating as well as a A/C when needed. The bathroom was complete with warm fluffy towels too. The gardens are so beautiful and as we had nice weather, we were able to wander round them, finding lots of small places which were hidden and where one could sit and not be seen by others. We didnt use the pool as summer is over now, so a bit cool but it must be lovely to use in season. The breakfast was ample, with cereal, eggs on request, fruit and homemade bread and jams. Waffles were available at teatime, which is their speciality using an old Belgium recipe. Delicious.
It was no surprise to read that this hotel won the No1 award for the best Hotel in South America in 2010.
Congratulations to the owners for keeping it up so well. Very many thanks for a wonderful stay. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank mvdmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Wow!! We stayed at this hotel for three nights during our trip to Punta del Este and I wished and should have stayed longer! It's super gorgeus!! The ataff are the most friendly people ever. The rooms are so romantic, and charming sometimes you feel it's not real. It feels like the most luxury cabin in the countryside but just a walking distance to the beach. Every afternoon, I counted the minutes to 4:00 to eat the most delicious waffles ever!! Made right there on the spot, with chocolate sirup over, exquisitos!! And the dinner, was perfect. The best lamb shops ever. We will comeback, next time during summer time and for more Nights. Its one of the best hotels I've ever stayed. Thank you

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
19 Thank Adrianagut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at L'Auberge 2 weeks ago during the Punta offseason - think its the best time of year to go. Staff was lovely per the reviews - very helpful and friendly. The rooms were delightful - and attributed to the romantic vibe. The parilla at the pool and restaurant were amazing - we were in BA the week before and I can honestly say the food at L'Auberge ranks among the best that we experienced (and we are very avid eaters/travelers). Punta in the off season is like the hamptons in the offseason - quiet, peaceful - just a matter of what you are looking for. L'Auberge is situated in a stunning neighborhood just a block from the beach and a fun bike ride to the beach towns (most stores/restaurants closed, but a few quality restaurants are open year round - excellent and very local / chic). And the lovely breakfast (perfect scrambled eggs!!) is a cherry on top! We plan on returning every year, after the crowds come and go!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.3 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
3.8 mi away
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
#10 of 65 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Auberge

Property: Hotel L'Auberge
Address: Carnoustie y Av. del Agua - Pda 19 Brava | Barrio Parque del Golf, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#2 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#4 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Auberge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our visitors a place that is different from the rest, where antiques and works of art combine with the most modern comfort. We strongly support the idea that an international hotel should develop the "Art of being a Good Host". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Auberge Punta Del Este
l Auberge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing