We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even way more beautiful than we thought”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
summerday...
Malibu, California
1 review
“Even way more beautiful than we thought”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We are very fortunate to live in paradise all year, that is Malibu CA. But this house, the location, the town, the beach, the stores and restaurants left us not missing home one bit!!! Not to mention how delightful, truthful and accommodating Gabi was. She personally made sure we had all we could need to enjoy fully. Not one thing was even slightly misrepresented, in the contrary, it was enchanting. We traveled with our two young toddlers and everything Gabi promised was there to ensure we had an awesome time. It is with pleasure that we recommend this house from all aspects, every penny well spent!!! Happy summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the rain
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you so much having taken your time to write such a nice report. I am so glad that you and your family had such a nice time in our Casa Anker. It had been a great pleasure to be a host for you and your beautiful family. I hope to be able to welcome you again in our beach house very soon!!! All the best Gabi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amzg28
Columbia, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely unforgettable vacation all thanks to this rental!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My 7 friends and I enjoyed one of the best vacations of our lives here, and we owe it all to the decision to rent this beach house.

A group of about 8 will fit very comfortably in Anker House. The ocean-facing master bedroom is to die for. There are two cozy living rooms, and the kitchen was more than adequate. Outside there's a grill to make asado, a lovely little pool, and an amazing rooftop patio with an incredible view of Punta Ballena. It's a special house that facilitates a lot of quality time spent with your loved ones.

You can walk to the luxurious, private beach within seconds. During the summer season (Dec-Mar) iif you walk 20-minutes down the coast, you'll discover a wonderful little bungalow restaurant, Explora, that sells delicious drinks and the best rabas (calamari) & chipirones (non-fried calamari) in the world to the lovely sounds of bossa nova. There's also a very relaxed, non-intimidating nude beach 15 minutes walking from the house.

If you are planning to go into the city of Punta del Este and want to fill the vacation with more activities, I recommend you rent a car. The house is in a very quiet, somewhat remote area, but my friends and I enjoyed taking the 30 minute walks to the grocery store & staying close to the house, so we opted out of a car. The rentals, however, are very cheap.

The best thing about this house is definitely the owner, Gabi. She was so incredibly accommodating and welcoming. She went above and beyond for us. I'm so, so happy we put our trust in her.

We will never forget the week in Anker House that was filled with perfect weather, a bioluminescent ocean, and great company everywhere we turned.

Rent this house!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2014
I am so happy that you have had a great time in Punta del Este and enjoyed staying at our beach house with your friends. It has been a great pleasure receiving you folks in our house and we hope you will manage to visit us again in some other moment soon. A good Caipi and Raba is waiting for you too!!! Good luck!!! Gabi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Thanks a million for taking time to write this review. It has been a great pleasure receiving you and your lovely family in our beach house. Looking forward to receiving you again soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lujanitus
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a great holiday”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband, my in-laws ands our 2 month old baby spent a week here and we loved it. The house is fantastic, it has everything you need, it is a few steps from the beach and just in case you are too lazy to walk, you can just lounge by the pool while somebody makes an asado = ) The view from the living space upstairs is fantastic, so that even on a rainy day you can see the beach. Gabriela was great, she is super friendly, was quick to answer any questions and she even got a cot for the baby. She also had some great recommendations on places to eat. We highly recommend this place and we will probably go back ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, the house itself and the proximity to the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to write this review. I glad you spent a great time in our house and felt comfortable. It has been a great pleasure receiving you and your lovely family in our beach house. Looking forward to receiving you again soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laci0n
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Beach House, Great View and Location, Best for Warm Weather”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Overall, we had a great time at Anker and are willing to come back to it in the future. The owner was always prompt answering our messages before and during our stay (she had to fix some glitches we had in the house our first day and came around to fix them on a Saturday).
The house has sleeping and living space for 8, it has one bathroom with a (small) bathtub adequate for bathing a baby in the main floor and two bathrooms with shower in the first floor. The sea view from the master bedroom and the living room in the first floor are great and you are only a few steps from the beach. The fireplace next to the kitchen is very nice and was a must during some cold days we had, but not enough for warming the whole house. The main room and the living room have warm/cold air conditioning but they were just barely palliative for moderate cold weather. The owner provided extra heating for our baby's room, but again, if you are looking for a warm place with a sea view during winter weather this is not it, unless modifications are introduced.
The kitchen was big enough for a couple who likes to cook and the dishwasher is a plus if you like cooking but not doing the dishes. The covered bbq and outside eating table, together with the outdoor pool look like great places during Summer time. The house has three terraces that are also very nice places with a great view.
If you are with small children, the house has nice details such as child-proof electricity outlets, stair and pool gates. Some of the gates and balcony protections need to be fixed, but I am sure the owner will get to them soon.
If you are looking for luxury this is not the house you are looking for. The house is nice but rustic, its appliances are functional but somewhat old and about half of the cable channels are not included in the cable service provided. Fortunately, the internet connection is reliable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house location, its view and owner's prompt availability before and during our stay.
Liked least: We went by the end of winter and had some cold days, the house does not have an adequate heating system for this situation.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
I am glad you had a great time in our beach house and were so lucky with the beautiful weather. Thanks for your recommendation to reforce the heating for some chilly nights in spring or autumm. The electrical appliances in the house are ALL NEW (stove/fridge with freezer/micro wave/blender/coffee maker/airconditioners/telephone) except dishwasher/washing machine and TV. I am sorry for the inconvenience in the gas supply on your arrival. The Direct TV should receive 45 channels. I will check if they are all provided as they should. The beach house is well equipped and, as you say, rustic, like a beach house normally is expected to be. Rustic, comfortable and easy to handle. The house provides children protection at pool/balconies and stairs which have to be checked and installed were necessary. I would be very pleased to welcome you and your lovely family again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and ocean view
Liked least: Kitchen was slightly small for a large group
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Apr 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am glad you have had a great time in our house and that you have been all comfortable also you were many. Would be lovely to be your host again in the next future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Flensburg, Germany
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and its view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a great time in our house. Would be lovely to be your host again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing