We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price goes accordingly to service”
Review of Ajax Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ajax Hotel
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A simple hotel, quite nice breakfast although no scrambled eggs for foreign tourists. Advantages: Very close to the beach, clean, nice staff, parking lot, wi-fi. Rooms are a bit small, same as the shower but as we all know 130 dollars a day in Punta del Este is CHEAP! we can´t ask for more!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room with a view to the little inside garden they are quieter.. The first night We sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

The only thing about these ratings is that, when you try to find a hotel, the best/worse rated might not be exactly a guideline for you. What I mean with this is that if you go to Punta during the high season where all rates go up in an incredible way, you might end up paying too much money for the service that you will get. For instance, you would expect more from this hotel if you stay there on New Year's eve, when they charge 300 US Dollars a night. But that is how Punta del Este works: extremely overpriced during Christmas-January 10th, but affordable the rest of the year. This hotel can be great or horrible, depending on what you are looking for. It has no services, just accommodation and breakfast and not very new rooms, which might be a problem for someone looking for more in town. On the other hand, it is one of the cheapest hotels in Punta, so I don't really know if you should demand more from it. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, well located (a few steps from Conrad Hotel, where many conventions are held) it is a great choice.
To sum up, it is a clean place to stay, below Punta del Este's budget but without any other services. It's up to you to decide whether this is the place for you to stay or not.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I was in town for a convention at the Conrad and the Conrad booked up. I should not have let location (across the street) drive my choice. The room has two single beds with about 30 inches in between them. The beds were lumpy and I could not sleep well. There is a "desk" which is a 3' x 4' wood plank hung on the wall, under which is the small refrigerator, making sitting with your legs to the side to use a laptop. If you sit on the toilet, your feet are in the shower stall. There is no room for a TV, so they hang it from the ceiling above the "desk". While the room is cleaned, the carpets and bed coverings are unusually stained. Breakfast could use more fruits and cereals, and less cakes.
On the positive side, there is free wireless internet and the staff are very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Ajax is a budget hotel in Punta for purely business purposes. I had gone to attend a business conference in Conrad, this hotel is 5 min walk from Conrad, so location is quite simply great.
Its also close to Mansa area beach and close to few of the restaurants.
The hotel has tiny rooms, you practically crawl in a crawl out. Bathroom is tiny too. The shower area is 2.5 feet x 2.5 feet, so dont expect to make major moves in there.
The hotel has some selection of breafast, which they mention as included in cost... its all cakes (I counted 6 varieties) and fruit juice, no eggs, breads, toasts etc etc...So frankly breakfast was a passe, since I was not really the "cake freak".
No laundary service, you have to walk / drive to a laundromat to get this done yourself..
But, hell what do you expect in USD 70 .... so for the price, its quite fine.
Must say though, the staff is quite friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to someone who is on tight budget and want a farily accessible place to Conrad.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lalit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

In Punta del Este to attend a conference at Conrad, and Ajax was a recommended hotel. Very small room for 3 people, but very adequate (only there to sleep at night). An amazing buffet breakfast included -- almost all cakes! Very convinient place to stay if you are attending a conference at the Conrad.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel right at the end of high season. The location was great (within two blocks of the beach, Casino Resort, and bus station). The staff was very accommodating, and the rooms, while small, were clean and comfortable. The rooms do not have air conditioning, but this was not a problem for us because the weather was perfect and we were able to just sleep with the windows open. The hotel had one computer available for guests to access the internet, but it was old, slow and almost always occupied. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to save money while still being in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stewyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Preguntar por el tamaño de las camas que ellos ofrecen según las preferencias del huésped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bibiana Noemí K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,261 reviews
1.0 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
Golden Beach Resort and Spa
#12 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 65 in Punta del Este
404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#14 of 65 in Punta del Este
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajax Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajax Hotel

Address: Bvar. Artigas | Parada 2, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range: £54 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ajax Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged location places us at 80 meters from the famous "Mansa" Beach, ideal for those who want to take a leisurely swim in calm water. Its waters bathe Maldonado Bay and the exclusive Gorriti Island. The "Brava" beach is located at 300m from our hotel, is ideal for those who like waves, and from there you can contemplate the "Lobos" Island. We can provide beach towels at no cost to you. If you prefer, you can enjoy our heated pool, for which we provide towels and pool robes at no cost to you. Breakfast will be served until 12 noon, so do not have to worry about up early on vacation! 15 minutes walking along the coast, you will find the marina, which offers wonderful views of the peninsula and dreamed ocean sunsets over Piriapolis hills. From here you can board cruises to spend a wonderful day on the "Gorriti" Island, as well as going fishing or visiting the "Lobos" Island. Near the port, you will find a varied cuisine where you can eat from a classic Uruguayan "Chivito", to haute cuisine Gourmet dishes. The main and renamed "Gorlero" Avenue, with varied and abundant shops, bars and the renowned Artisans Square is located 400 meters from the Ajax Hotel. At night you can take a ride through the renowned Hotel Casino Conrad, located 100 m from our hotel, where every day you can see different shows of international level. Or just go to the beach and contemplate the stars and the sea sound, enjoying of the nice ocean breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ajax Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing