We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Punta del Este
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very good staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I will appreciate if you don't translate my review.
The staff is the best in the hotel and also the buffet breakfast.
It is a typical 3 star traditional Punta del Este Hotel. Old building which has been refurbished to improve amenities and facilities, but it still needs more maintenance in the rooms (air conditioning had problems, the bathroom window in room 306 was broken, there was only one socket,the WC flush was weak). The advantage is that the staff is so helpful that they will go an extra mile to solve the flaw, and this is very important. The mattresses are new. It has free internet access in the lobby (very good and not common in Punta del Este). There is a swimming pool and solarium. It is very well located, near the center although 12 blocks away from the Mansa and Brava good beaches. Better if you go with car.

Room Tip: If you can afford a corner room with view to the sea, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    109
    74
    20
    19
See reviews for
69
130
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I was slightly worried booking the Amsterdam after the reviews I had read, but since it was relatively cheap by Punta del Este standards and we were only going for one night, we decided to splash on a sea view room and weren't disappointed.

The hotel is located in the older part of Punta del Este, close to the church and lighthouse and while that may put off those who are looking for the more glamourous gleaming towers of Punta, it felt just right for us.

The views out of our corner room on the 4th floor were superb. Windows to both sides mean stunning seaviews at all times and while the old windows need some help to close properly so the wind stops whistling through, we felt the supplement was well worth it.

Sure, the room feels old and the building, constantly under attack from the wind and salt of the sea does show its age. But we felt the spacious, aging room had charm.

Also on the plus side, the breakfast was one of the best we had in Uruguay with an abundance of fruits, bread and cakes.

Altogether, we enjoyed our stay, found the the Amsterdam to be quite charming and would have no doubt in going back. However, those looking for the deluxe experience at Punta del Este may have to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is a relatively cheap place to stay in an expensive resort. The photos on the website date from when it opened many years ago and since then it appears not a penny has been spent on updating or upgrading it. The furniture in the rooms is very old and in poor condition. During our stay the window frame blew out in the bathroom, cracking the toilet seat and despite reporting it, it hadn't been fixed by the time we left. Breakfast was OK and the pool area isn't bad although we didn't venture into the water. Location is very central and probably the best thing about the place. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peejdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta del Este hotels

Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I've stayed there in the past. It is a budget hotel with below-budget services. Earlier this week I made a reservation through their website and they NEVER responded. When tired of waiting I called, they said they were to busy to respond. Great customer service.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pocitense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

The hotel has an excellent breakfast and the staf was superbly helpful and friendley.
The down side was that, despite the nice and all renewed lobby, the rooms were really in poor conditions. It is extremelly well located - 50 meters from the Gorlero and has a nice climatized pool and an outdoor pool that opens only by the end of spring.
Really a great value for our money, specially in a quite expensive city like Punta del Este.
There's a good and cheap retaurant near the hotel - El Milagro - in calle 17, next to a supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

I stayed with a friend of mine @ the hotel in Early 2009. the rooms were TINY, CLAUSTROPHIBIC, dirty and had mildew and stunk. The hotel was full and we were stuck in the room. The hotel is quite old and run down. I am not a very picky person when it comes to hotels but this honestly was pretty bad.

It makes a Motel 6 in the USA look like a Ritz Carlton. On the other hand the location is great and the staff is friendly.

if you stay here expect a one star hotel / hostel style accomodation and be very open minded. otherwise stay away.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgafster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

As part of our honeymoon we decided to stop over in Punta Del Este (i had a work function as well)... however it is the busiest season here and I wasn't able to get a hotel even though i was willing to pay $500/night... turned up at the bus station in Montevideo this morning and they told me that a room cleared up at amsterdam hotel.. having read the reviews on here at tripadvisor.. I knew not to expect much. So we sucked it up and paid $380 for the two nights stay. Arrived this afternoon and to be honest... the room itself is massive, the bed is decent - pretty soft compared to some hotels during our south america tour, other basic amenities exist (tv, fridge, sofa even!) The bathroom is tiiiiiiiiiiiny - about 3 ft by 4 ft... they have managed to cramp it all in. The pool area absolutely stinks so we decided not to jump in and came back to our room. Having walked around the other hotels in this area look the same - try and stay towards La Barra if possible as that's where the better hotels and bars are. However if your stuck, there's worse places to be than here in Amsterdam - the staff are very friendly and will try to help as much as they can. The doors require a lot of banging to close so we're planning for a rough night as the neighbors decide to stroll in. There is a supermarket that has everything you could possibly need just around the corner. and a beach is right across though it doesn't seem swimable. haven't had the breakfast yet, but not expecting much again. looking forward to getting out of here day after and heading to a 5 star hotel in Montevideo paying half the price here!!! imagine that!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.1 mi away
The SmallEast Hotel
The SmallEast Hotel
#44 of 64 in Punta del Este
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberia Hotel Punta del Este
Iberia Hotel Punta del Este
#41 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bonne Etoile Hotel
Bonne Etoile Hotel
#11 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castilla
Hotel Castilla
#31 of 64 in Punta del Este
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#32 of 64 in Punta del Este
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam

Property: Amsterdam
Address: Calle El Foque 759 | Playa de Los Ingleses, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Punta del Este
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing