We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beach Oasis”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I cannot say enough great things about our stay at the Serena Hotel. The staff and customer service were phenomonal. They went out of their way to help. The food was fantastic and the wait staff were incredible. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool and beach. While not all of the rooms appeared to be as large as the suites, you'll spend most of your time outside, lounging in one of the beachside beds and couches. This is the perfect place to unwind after spending time in Buenos Aires. We liked the Serena Hotel so much, we extended our stay and never left the premises! When we return to Punta, we will definitely stay here. (Note: This is an adults only hotel).

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the pool or else you'll be looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    104
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
245
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The five days we spent at Serena Hotel were the perfect experience after the busy and noisy time in Buenos Aires. Do not underestimate the importance of the fact that this is the only hotel in Punta Del Este that's right on the beach. So many have incredible views of the beach, but here you are actually right there. The pool/beach area is absolutely stunning, a perfect place to chill. It's the ultimate in tranquility and indulgence, with lots of lounging options. The toughest decisions are whether to sit at the pool, which overlooks the beach or pick one of the cabanas in the sand. Next toughest choice is what drink to order. The staff was warm and attentive, particularly Natalia and Geston. Natalia switched our room to give us a better view of the beach and Geston went out of his way to recommend incredible restaurants. His recommendation for the best way to visit Montevideo was spot on, too. There are private companies that run luxury buses that are very reasonably priced, comfortable and safe. Even free wi-fi on the bus!!
The only draw back at the Serena is the food. The breakfast was good (and included in the price of the room) and lunch was sufficient, because when you are sitting by the pool or beach, it's certainly very convenient to be served without having to move. We only ate dinner at the hotel once, when the weather was stormy. The neighborhood of Maldonado, just a short cab ride from the hotel has some fabulous dining options, much more interesting and cost effective.
Our stay at Serena left us relaxed and rejuvenated.

Room Tip: The hotel is not large, only about 30 rooms. There are two rooms directly above the front entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is a place for adults to relax.
Right on the beach "Playa Mansa", in the middle of the center of Punta Del Leste e Punta Ballena.
Beautifull Hotel, simple and elegant.
Nice, beautiful bedroom.
Very clean.
Wonderful restaurant and breakfast.
Very lovely staff.

My only complain would be that the matress is way to hard for my taste, could be softer. If you stay on the street rooms is very noise, but mine wasn´t.

I would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perez_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I reserved a room with two beds, which the hotel didn't have when we arrived due to a miscommunication, so they gave us two rooms for the first night at no extra cost. Every interaction with the staff was pleasant, feeling like they would jump to their feet at a moment's notice to help us with anything we needed.

The hotel did indeed feel serene, filled with understated art pieces from east Asia.

TripAdvisor showed the hotel as being near the peninsula of Punta del Este, which is wrong. The hotel is actually in Maldonado. That's not what we were wanting but it was close enough not to be a big deal and the hotel has a good restaurant.

The Internet was spotty but this may be typical of the area.

Room Tip: The Standard Double Room had no desk nor table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrappy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena H, Manager at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments! We have contacted tripadvisor to change the wrong map. We hope you visit us again soon 8.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We were recommended this hotel by the Fasano, which we had been staying at. We accepted their suggestion, assuming it would be comparable. The room was $600 per night. It was described as a suite. It was one room. It had views of the beach. The reason that this dull hotel gets to charge such high rates is because there are virtually no hotels in Punta on the sand. Well, I would do yourself a favour, and not bother. This place is suburban, the design is sub par, room service is non-existent. The fixtures and fitting could have come from Hone Depot. In fact, we checked in, hated it so much we drove south and spent all day and evening in Jose Ignacio, only returning to sleep in the ridiculously small room. There wasn't enough space to unpack, either. Absolutely worthless hotel. To me, at least. Vibeless shell. Hated it with a passion. It's so clean, by the way, that the whole place STINKS of cleaning fluids. Yuk.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the only one on the beach itself. It was a flour mill once so the building was already on the beach. Very nicely decorated. Beautiful looking Japanese style place. Pool is abit funny as it looks black and not inviting. Lovely sun beds all around. Sea was very cold and the wind was very cool, so we could not enjoy the sea. Sunset was perfect. Restaurant is very very expensive. Main dishes were between 700-850 pesos which translates as £25-30. If you can walk there are nice local restaurants inland. Keep in mind that this hotel is very far from any eating places. We had to walk miles to find a decent place to eat. Staff are very helpful and can speak English.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Umash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I spend a weekend here and I was positively surprised by this hotel, the staff very attentive. Nice amenities and services on the beach, I did not use the spa, but I heard good comments about it. In Punta del Este is one of the few hotels with direct access to the beach, with a nice swimming pool on the deck with plenty of coachs and beach mattresses. Only adults are allowed here, so do not count on this if you are planning a family stay. Decent breakfast on a great scenery on the deck at the beach. Not cheap, but it worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have beach view, so don't worry for that, but ask to take a look at the rooms because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena H, Manager at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a special stay with us! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,749 reviews
2.7 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.0 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,199 reviews
2.7 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 65 in Punta del Este
530 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Punta del Este

Property: Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Address: Rambla Williman- Parada 24 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#12 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Hotel Punta del Este 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Serena Hotel Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing