We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms, except the suites, are very small. However you will stay most of the time around the pool. The music and the service gives you a relax sensation and sometimes you do not wish to leave the hotel for anything.

Room Tip: allways a suite with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    101
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
241
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was expecting a lot more from the Serena. The staff is very helpful, but the hotel doesn’t deliver on its promise. The lobby and common areas are interesting but rooms lack charm and are very noise. Breakfast quality and offering is poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is one of the few in Punta del Este right on the beach which is nice. It also does not allow children which is a plus. The staff was very nice and uniformly helpful and friendly. The pool is amazing and overlooks the beach. We had dinner and lunch at the restaurant which was very nice and had a huge selection. Great hotel to relax and walk the beach from. Punta del Este is very spread out and there are many different areas. This seemed a little ways away from some of the major areas but was a very nice spot. There is a major road nearby and Saturday night it got a little loud but the room had double windows which makes a big difference. The rooms were basic but clean and nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall look out over the beach which is wonderful and quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We originally booked 3 prepaid nights at Casapueblo which is dark and dirty. We had dinner at Serena Hotel and moved to Serena Hotel the next night having to forfeit our prepaid reservation. I am glad we did! The service was excellent, the food was excellent and the beach is beautiful. A very relaxing adult hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I cannot say enough great things about our stay at the Serena Hotel. The staff and customer service were phenomonal. They went out of their way to help. The food was fantastic and the wait staff were incredible. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool and beach. While not all of the rooms appeared to be as large as the suites, you'll spend most of your time outside, lounging in one of the beachside beds and couches. This is the perfect place to unwind after spending time in Buenos Aires. We liked the Serena Hotel so much, we extended our stay and never left the premises! When we return to Punta, we will definitely stay here. (Note: This is an adults only hotel).

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the pool or else you'll be looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The five days we spent at Serena Hotel were the perfect experience after the busy and noisy time in Buenos Aires. Do not underestimate the importance of the fact that this is the only hotel in Punta Del Este that's right on the beach. So many have incredible views of the beach, but here you are actually right there. The pool/beach area is absolutely stunning, a perfect place to chill. It's the ultimate in tranquility and indulgence, with lots of lounging options. The toughest decisions are whether to sit at the pool, which overlooks the beach or pick one of the cabanas in the sand. Next toughest choice is what drink to order. The staff was warm and attentive, particularly Natalia and Geston. Natalia switched our room to give us a better view of the beach and Geston went out of his way to recommend incredible restaurants. His recommendation for the best way to visit Montevideo was spot on, too. There are private companies that run luxury buses that are very reasonably priced, comfortable and safe. Even free wi-fi on the bus!!
The only draw back at the Serena is the food. The breakfast was good (and included in the price of the room) and lunch was sufficient, because when you are sitting by the pool or beach, it's certainly very convenient to be served without having to move. We only ate dinner at the hotel once, when the weather was stormy. The neighborhood of Maldonado, just a short cab ride from the hotel has some fabulous dining options, much more interesting and cost effective.
Our stay at Serena left us relaxed and rejuvenated.

Room Tip: The hotel is not large, only about 30 rooms. There are two rooms directly above the front entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is a place for adults to relax.
Right on the beach "Playa Mansa", in the middle of the center of Punta Del Leste e Punta Ballena.
Beautifull Hotel, simple and elegant.
Nice, beautiful bedroom.
Very clean.
Wonderful restaurant and breakfast.
Very lovely staff.

My only complain would be that the matress is way to hard for my taste, could be softer. If you stay on the street rooms is very noise, but mine wasn´t.

I would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perez_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
1,653 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
649 reviews
3.4 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.7 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 63 in Punta del Este
510 reviews
4.9 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 63 in Punta del Este
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Punta del Este

Property: Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Address: Rambla Williman- Parada 24 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#12 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Hotel Punta del Este 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Hotel Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing