We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel on the Beach near Punta del Este” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serena Hotel Punta del Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hotel on the Beach near Punta del Este”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This modern hotel is on the Rambla near Av. Espana. It has a car park on the premises which is handy as it is necessary to drive to the main attractions. The hotel fronts the beach which is quite close at high tide. Inside, there are a number of public areas with design décor featuring local woods and sculptures. We stayed for two nights in the off-season in the pouring rain, so could not avail ourselves of the pool and patio areas outdoors that looked inviting. The restaurant was on the beach side with views from the picture windows to Punta del Este. The breakfast was excellent and the staff prepared hot eggs for us each day in addition to the copious buffet. The front desk staff spoke English and were very helpful with maps and directions.

Our room was huge with a pull-out couch, had a walkout to the balcony, good lighting and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was also spacious and had a good shower. I would like to have seen a mirror over the bureau in the main room and some coverings on the concrete floors. There was ample storage space in the closets.

We suggest this is a four-star property due to austere room décor, but to be fair the bad weather may have factored in, as we couldn't use the outside amenities. We spent a pleasant morning in a card/library room with Wi-Fi catching up with E-mails and travel blogs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio G, Gerente at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks you very much for your coments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    99
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
239
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Once more, our stay at Serena was perfect. We were in Punta for a long weekend, from November 13 to Nov.17, 2013. It is not a luxury hotel, but it has the elegance of simplicity, in an environment with a minimalist design, in a black and white decoration, with great jazz as musical background. Serena is a small hotel, and they don't accept children, so it means that you'll find a relaxing and quiet place. It is not central, and you will need a car if you want to enjoy Punta's other attractions such as restaurants and a variety of different beaches. But its own restaurant is very good and, most important, this is one of the very few hotels in Punta and neighborhood where you are by the sand. Not only you can start the day having breakfast at the restaurant enjoying the beautiful view of the bay, but also the hotel has an external pool very close to the sea (and a small spa where some services are offered by request and a heated pool, useful in stays during winter).
The staff is polite and friendly, yet not intruding. Marta, at the restaurant, and Belén, the manager, are very helpful and kind and will do everything possible to make you feel welcome.
Esperamos volver pronto.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivi_vai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena H, Gerente at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Google Translation
GRACIAS!! estamos esperando que vuelvan! saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We thought the hotel was near restaurants and bars but it is miles from anywhere 6 km from punta del este and not a bar or restaurant in walking distance . The restaurant and beach part are 4 star but our room was like a 1or 2 star hospital . The staff are very nice but does not make up for its poor location or basic rooms

Room Tip: Go somewhere else we paid a fortune for a basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 729peterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms, except the suites, are very small. However you will stay most of the time around the pool. The music and the service gives you a relax sensation and sometimes you do not wish to leave the hotel for anything.

Room Tip: allways a suite with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizzo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was expecting a lot more from the Serena. The staff is very helpful, but the hotel doesn’t deliver on its promise. The lobby and common areas are interesting but rooms lack charm and are very noise. Breakfast quality and offering is poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is one of the few in Punta del Este right on the beach which is nice. It also does not allow children which is a plus. The staff was very nice and uniformly helpful and friendly. The pool is amazing and overlooks the beach. We had dinner and lunch at the restaurant which was very nice and had a huge selection. Great hotel to relax and walk the beach from. Punta del Este is very spread out and there are many different areas. This seemed a little ways away from some of the major areas but was a very nice spot. There is a major road nearby and Saturday night it got a little loud but the room had double windows which makes a big difference. The rooms were basic but clean and nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall look out over the beach which is wonderful and quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaK_travels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We originally booked 3 prepaid nights at Casapueblo which is dark and dirty. We had dinner at Serena Hotel and moved to Serena Hotel the next night having to forfeit our prepaid reservation. I am glad we did! The service was excellent, the food was excellent and the beach is beautiful. A very relaxing adult hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
3.5 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.8 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#6 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
Baie des Anges Apart Hotel
#17 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Punta del Este

Property: Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Address: Rambla Williman- Parada 24 | Playa Mansa, Punta del Este, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta del Este
#5 Business Hotel in Punta del Este
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta del Este
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta del Este
#12 Family Hotel in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Hotel Punta del Este 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Serena Hotel Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing