We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than I'd hoped”
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worse than I'd hoped”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I came into my stay at the Alhambra thinking at worst, it would be a dated place that would be serviceable enough, especially in peak season. I expected comfortable beds, adequate space, and a clean, attentive staff. Well, it was clean and the staff was fine, but that's about it. I got over the '70s style carpeting and decor, but the terribly weak mattress and tiny room weren't so forgiveable. It's unfortunate because it's certainly affordable and very close to the beach, and I'm not sure how many options there are during high season. But despite the nice staff and cleanliness I can't recommend it, as it was such a let-down even with my rather low expectations.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruzi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    52
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
51
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Ok, this is not a Ritz by any stretch of the imagination. That being said, if you want to stay in a hotel with great service, an amazing location and a decent price during peak Punta time, Alhambra Hotel is your place.

It is on a one way street about a block from the beach. If you go West down calle 28 (where the hotel is on), you will run into many shops and some restaurants. If you go down calle 28 as far as it goes and make a left (South), you will see restaurants overlooking the water and the yacht harbor. Eat there for beautiful sunsets.

One of the best things about this hotel is not the oh so 70s decor, but the fact that they have an underground parking garage. My husband and I took full advantage of this because we used our car daily to travel to La Barra and Bikini Beach.

I rated the rooms a little below average because they were very small and in dire need of upgrades. Regardless, we were never in our rooms except to sleep. We felt very safe and decently comfortable. If you want high class, stay at the Conrad, AWA, L'ermitage, or Mantra--but be prepared to pay a pretty penny in peak season.

The do have a computer with free internet access.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The hotel is nothing fancy, but the service was excellent. They have a garage downstairs and help you with the luggage to your room. Very friendly staff and have an elevator that works well.
Location is great to downtown, and the beach. The beach was 1 block.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotthasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The Hotel Alhambra is 4 blocks from the bus terminal. The price was $90US a night.

Pros- location, location, location... half block from Gorlero (main drag) and a cambio office, two blocks from both of the ramblas, and 2 blocks from Virazon Restaraunt for sunsets. Extremely helpful staff who dialed La Huella for me so I could make my reservation for Sat. The garage came in handy since I rented a car and street parking is tight. The hotel has an internet computer for guest use next to reception. The hotel provides a cold buffet breakfast. I did not ask for any cooked items so I do not know if they are included. The rooms are good sized and had a small refrigerator. The bed was comfy. The room had a ceiling fan over the bed. They do not have safes in the rooms but they have individual keyed lock boxes in the room behind reception.

Cons- Outdated, no a/c control in room (at least that I found), bad 70s music piped into your room until you can find the switch to turn it off, and noisy if your room is street side. You will also hear doors closing. I did not have any trouble sleeping though, even without ear plugs.

Overall great value and location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed at the Alhambra the week before Xmas, just before the rush.
This hotel has the best location and a wonderful staff, especially Angel and Nancy.
We had a room with a little kitchen and that was a plus.
You can't go wrong for the price.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuDomSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

I agree with the reviewer below. This hotel was a terrific value for the money! When we decided to come to Punta del Este the week after New Years (peak travel time in Uruguay), I was shocked by how expensive every hotel was! I found the Alhambra Hotel on Trip Advisor and booked it since it was cheap and appeared to be centrally located. I was really happy with my decision! Besides the very outdated furnishings, it is spotlessly clean and has one of the best locations possible on the peninsula. The staff were very helpful and friendly too. The beach is only 3 to 4 blocks in each directions and the main shopping streets are a block away. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel to stay at, but don't mind decor from the 60s & 70s, then the Alhambra Hotel is perfect.

  • Liked — Terrific location, clean room, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing, I have no complaints (besides outdated furnishings, but that didn't really bother me)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank strux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We booked this hotel, wanting somewhere affordable to stay in punta del este during high season. In fact, it was one of the only hotels even available when we booked in november.

If you can look beyond the 70's hotel decor (so out-of-style, its almost in style) , you will be very happy with your stay here.

- Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. in fact, i think the maid came in the evening as well, to replace our towels after our post-beach showers.
- The air conditioning worked very well
- The breakfast was delicious, with a buffet of pastries, cereals, fruit, toast, coffee, etc.
- The staff were incredibly nice and very helpful
- And most importantly, the location was fantastic (30 seconds from the beach, 30 seconds from the main street with shops and restaurants)


I highly recommend this hotel. it a great value.

  • Liked — Clean room and bathroom, amazing location
  • Disliked — the view in our room wasnt good
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Argentina1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Martin
Hotel San Martin
#39 of 65 in Punta del Este
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marbella
Hotel Marbella
#29 of 65 in Punta del Este
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberia Hotel Punta del Este
Iberia Hotel Punta del Este
#37 of 65 in Punta del Este
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#27 of 65 in Punta del Este
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romimar Hotel
Romimar Hotel
#18 of 65 in Punta del Este
423 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Camelot
Hotel Camelot
#36 of 65 in Punta del Este
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Calle 28 No 573, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a exceptional enclave, a few meters from Gorlero Avenue and from the beach, this hotel offers you enjoying the pleasures of Punta del Este, walking around the center of the town, with restaurants, shops and casinos The hotel offers you a professional bar services, 24 hours room service, safe deposit box, and its special continental breakfast Elegance and comfort in its spacious rooms, cable TV, minibar, music and garage.Hotel gives you a warm welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Punta Del Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing