We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWA Hotel is my pick of the liter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Awa Boutique and Design Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The Staff, all of them, including the little cafe,was exceptional. When there I fell ill and the hotel staff brought in a Nurse Practitioner and an ENT at no cost for my assessment. They were good and the plant extract meds were excellent and all at no cost. The message is about service. Further the food in the cafe was presented well, served under a remarkable wine list and everyone who worked there was warm and friendly. Unexpected.

I was there in the off season, May... the fall. Punta was evacuated, empty but very comfortable and all services available. No crowds and a nice vacation window for friends and family without huge prices and a half million pushy tourists!.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel is away from the water, and offers a residential retreat from the beach-festive sort. It is small, simple, with English-speaking and attentive staff and attention to detail like iPod dock, American plugs, mini cinema, small restaurant that serves a great breakfast buffet, pool & spa amenities. It is about a twenty minute stroll to the beach, about 40 minutes from old town. This is made down a paved stretch of boardwalk. Renting bikes from the hotel to explore would be perfect. A cab will run you USD $10+. The only gripe I have is that the room walls are thin, so we were an unfortunate audience to the mid 90s karaoke couple next door. The hotel staff tries to remedy the situation, but to be fair, I think it was less the neighbor's volume and tone deafness and more the lack of insulation between us. So in high season, when the party gets started, paying over $300/nt would make this a poor choice. But then again, who goes to PdE in high season to sleep? We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinmansw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

We appreciate your comments! We wish you to come back to Punta again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

From the complimentary glass of champagne upon arrival to the generous (and free) late check out, our stay at Awa was perfect in every way. Located in a clean, quiet and beautiful neighborhood and just minutes from the beach, shopping mall, and grocery store, anything you need is within steps. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of fresh fruit, but our favorite part was the sauna, jacuzzi and complimentary 30 min massage by the very talented Cecilia. After riding 150 kms on bicycle, Awa hotel was a much needed and highly anticipated place to relax. The staff was always helpful and catered to our every need. The prices are fair and I'd happily stay at Awa during any future visit to Punta del Este.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear Guests thank you for complete evaluation ! Hopefully you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at Awa Boutique hotel for a week and had the best service, food and comforts since commencing travel in South America back in late 2011. This hotel has it all! The rooms are tastefully designed, comfortable and well appointed. Because we came after Easter, we were offered a fabulous discount that allowed us to upgrade to a suite and included two massages each..the best deep tissue we have had in a long time! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they made sure the steam bath was ready before our massages, that coffee was delivered to our suite every morning in double quick time, that all sight seeing and directions were marked clearly on maps before we set out for the day. The restaurant is first class, beautifully designed and run by a team you would expect to find in a 5 star international hotel. The menu is well balanced with meals to suit all appetites. We loved all the pastry miniature treats the chef served every morning. You could sample a variety of wonderful tastes without being weighed down. The wine cellar stocks Uruguay's best along with other South American favourites. Dinner on Saturday night is a must with local entertainment, great food and a gorgeous ambient setting. My husband planned a delivery of flowers on this night and I couldn't believe how willing the staff were to get involved with the surprise and photos to capture the moment. Thanks Awa for making our stay in Punta Del Este so memorable!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are located furtherest from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaleHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest, We appreciate your kinds words and we feel happy knowing you had a great experience at AWA. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is located in a calm neighborhood just a few blocks from the sea. It carries a very homy atmosphere. The rooms are simple and beautiful with large windows and plenty of light. The heated outside pool is a perfect break from the adventures in the city. I was delighted with the breakfast and positively surprised with the cuisine. The staff is kind, but sometimes they seemed a bit lost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your puncutation and kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Very charming hotel, located in a excellent area of Punta. From there you can go to La Barra and the beaches of Bikini and Jose Ignacio, or you can go to the other side, Punta Ballena etc. You are also very close to the city center, Gorlero Street. Many facilities around, shopping, supermarket, restaurants etc., you can just walk from the hotel, it won't take more than 5 minutes. In general the staff was very kind, there is a nice spa center and a very cozy pool. Our room was just perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandoVellutini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

We appreciate your description and qualification But more than that we are happy knowing you enjoy your stay at Awa. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Beautifully designed boutique hotel with a fantastic breakfast, good pool area and spa (jacuzzi, hot and cold saunas) available for guests. Really enjoyed the local artwork throughout. The staff are professional and friendly and the rooms are clean and well presented, although maybe somewhat on the small side. Very good for the price we paid which was around $150 a night in November.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomanticBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwaHotel, Gerente at Awa Boutique and Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you very much! . We noticed you have appreciated our servicies and we are very pleased
to know you that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,981 reviews
0.0 mi away
2122 Hotel Art Design
2122 Hotel Art Design
#5 of 65 in Punta del Este
565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 65 in Punta del Este
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.2 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,240 reviews
2.9 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awa Boutique and Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awa Boutique and Design Hotel

Address: Avenida Pedragosa Sierra y San Ciro, Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range: £74 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Awa Boutique and Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern boutique and design hotel designed by Vivai Studio in the best location, steps from great restaurants like La Bourgogne and El Palenque and the only Shopping Mall in town. Five blocks from both beaches: Mansa and Brava. Luxury rooms, Llibrary, Hi Tech Microcinema, Spa, Gym, Swiming Pool, Congress Room, and excellent Fusion Cuisine in the Life bistro + bar! Free Wi Fi everywhere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awa Boutique and Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing