We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Hotel Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aqua
Ranked #62 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This hotel is in a good location on the peninsular. Friendly staff, free internet, nice rooms and clean. Not cheap but nothing on the peninsular is during the season.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    53
    82
    23
    31
See reviews for
39
94
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Not as usually I go to a place I go without arrangements. So in this case I had no choice and went directly to the city centre and as we founded the exterior nice so we came in. The rate published there was OK we decided to stay our former night there.
As the room and service were more than good, we decided to be there the whole stay. No complaints and good service. Form the exterior it seemed to be smaller but inside the perception was much better. Specially because it seems to be renovated or something.
We recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southamericaride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I went for a second time to Punta del Este and my friends and I decided to go to this hotel because it was well recomended. The first time I went to Punta del Este I visited all the hotels, and I mean ALL the HOTELS, to find the better one. Aqua looks ok, service is pretty standard. Thay do noy have city maps, or much more about like touristic places, this was very dissapointing, but the staff is very nice. They Offer Internet Wi fi but in my room there mas no signal so I had to go to the lobby to have Internet access. They make a mistake with our reservation so we had a room at the back part of the hotel, a room they were even not renting but it was big, so we say ok. There is NO parking, due to parking in front of the hotel is not permited, really bad!!! Breakfast is abbsolutly noo, go and eat another place. I called reception for a wake up call, and they call late.
So with all this points we can say dont go to this hotel BUT! As I told you I visited all the hotels, and in Punta del Este the hotels are like old hotels with new painting on the front. and they smell old, and are not good. Aqua is like new, clean and we can say like a decent hotel. San Fernando Hotel is almost the best one if you dont get a room in San Fernando go to Aqua. No pool, dont now why the name is Aqua. Is very clean, everything is white. Rooms with Air C. Nice restaurant next to the hotel. Also go to eat to the Italian Restaurant at the main street.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This hotel is nothing what it's advertised for.

Location: it's located downtown on a noisy street far from all beach and close to all the touristy stores. There is no parking and we spent at least half hour on average looking for parking downtown as it gets busy after 9pm.

Services: close to non-existance. Unlike other hotels where you see service people busy doing cleaning, changing, etc. you don't see anyone at all except receptionist at the front twisting her fingers.

Room/facilities: cheap and not maintained are the words to describe. Since the hotel wants to appear modern and use white and minimalistic appeal (which we also went for when we see the picture), it just made it more obvious that the owner of the hotel was cutting corners in every possible way in renovating and building this hotel. Everything was cheaply done and some not done right at all. You will create flooding in the bathroom after showering because of the shower wasn't put together right.

On top of that, no one seems to be doing any maintenance.. the carpets were all worn out, sofas dirty on the edge, walls all scrapped and marked on the bottom. The room is tiny by the way, there's no where to sit.

Breakfast was minimal and in this lounge area that appeared to be dirty.

We changed hotel as soon as we found an available room after couple of nights. If we stayed, it would have been very miserable ,just like the faces of all the guests there would tell you.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank qqsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Punta del Este hotels

New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

Went to Punta Del Este in Mid December for 1 night on a weekday with my brother hoping to enjoy the culture. We were a bit disappointed that it was not as busy as we had hoped. Apparently weekends in December, and all of Jan and Feb are the busy times.

The Aqua hotel was a good hotel in terms of location and staff and to some degree a comfortable stay.
1) Location - It was conveniently located on the peninsula where it was walking distance, although about 10 minutes, from both Playa Mansa and Playa Brava, the two beaches in the area. It was also walking distance to the bus station, which since we didn't rent a car, was very important. We were able to get a cab to La Barra (not busy in Mid December) from our hotel, but it was US$20 each way.
2) Staff - the staff was friendly and helpful, helped us get a cab to La Barra. Only one of the receptionists was fluent in English, but all knew a little and for small things we were able to communicate in simple Spanish.
3) Comfortable - The room was pretty small, 2 twin beds and a nightstand wide. We stayed on the second floor and the hallway lights were off for most of our stay. The water pressure in the shower was very good. The continental breakfast was pretty good.

Overall, the stay was decent. It wasn't cheap (US$120) considering it wasn't crowded on the beaches. I would stay here again, but might try another hotel in the area.

  • Liked — Location, Staff
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ike42k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We liked the Aqua Hotel. It's basic but decent. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on the Punta del Este Peninsula, which is to say "in town," away from the beaches, though close to the yacht club and the road which runs along the coastline. You can walk to a few decent restaurants from here. Our room was clean and quiet. The hotel breakfast was included and was very good. Our first room had a water leakage problem in the bathroom and the staff moved us to another room - they discounted our final bill by 10% for our trouble, without us asking them to do so. On the minus side, the price is a bit expensive for what is offered. A "suite" at the Aqua Hotel is really a room with a small living area. No kitchen facilities of any kind. We paid US$125 per night, which we thought was a bit expensive for what they offer. On the other hand, we booked at the last minute and the weekend of October 13, when we stayed, was the Columbus Day weekend for Brazilians and Argentines, and most places were booked solid. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank namremaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta del Este hotels
0.2 mi away
Punta del Este Shelton Hotel
Punta del Este Shelton Hotel
#39 of 65 in Punta del Este
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#19 of 65 in Punta del Este
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Brava
Hotel Playa Brava
#54 of 65 in Punta del Este
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Punta del Este
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florinda
Hotel Florinda
#20 of 65 in Punta del Este
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#32 of 65 in Punta del Este
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua

Property: Hotel Aqua
Address: Calle 20 No. 877 entre calle 28 y calle 29 | A pasos de la playa mansa y brava, en el corazon de la calle 20, con los mejores comercios de las marcas mas famosas del mundo., Punta del Este 20100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Punta del Este
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 65 Hotels in Punta del Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aqua 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel, totally renovated in 2005, by it's present owner, with a minimalist design. Its white interiors and furnishings have a calming effect. The lobby is open and large with bright sunshine filtering in. There are a total of a 70 rooms of which 56 are standard and 14 are suites. Some with French balconies others with private terraces, with views of the gardens and the sea. Queen size beds, AC, Cable TV, Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing