We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated (literally!)”
Review of Onkel Inn 1886

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Onkel Inn 1886
Ranked #58 of 85 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in to this hostel upon recommendation from its sister hotel in Copacabana. Understanding it is a hostel, so our expectation wasn't too high but...

1. When we checked in, the lady at the counter ...man, I felt like I owed her 5k usd. Her attitude was just plain bad. Didn't even bother to give us any towels nor toilet paper for our room.

2. Our room, was not too bad except for some stains on the bedsheets/pillow case which we are fine. But the bathroom was a classic. With windows from waistline till ceiling, there are no curtains at all. Thus, you will be taking shower at the pleasure of your neighbors ogling eyes :)

3. Breakfast was from 7:30-10. We went downstairs at 9am, viola, there's no more food except for a bowl of quinoa. Not even bread.

Am glad it's only for a night. I am sure you can find better place for the price paid elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiying7487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Didn't have our reservation on arrival, rooms dirty, no hot water and u had to hold up the shower head, tried to overcharge us and had to argue for almost an hour even though they had it on the computer in front of us but they were too stupid to read it, poor wifi, hardly any space to leave bags. Ruined and lost laundry, construction going on in the rooms while we were in there and the dorm has 9 beds in the space of a shoebox. Even the mandarin from breakfast was rotten. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Hostel is in a good location, just off San Pedro square (where the Red Cap free waking tour leaves from - do it, the best walking tour I've done in S.A!) It's also close to good restaurants and only takes about 10 minutes to get the artisanal street and tour operators.
The hostel itself is secure at night and the rooms all have keypad entry. The room I stayed in was on the ground floor and didn't have much natural light. The beds were ok and all had their own lights. The showers were decent - you could have hot ones! Although as someone else has mentioned they could be a bit lax with cleaning. People checked out of my room and they didn't make the beds until a couple of days later.
The common areas were a bit awkward for want of a better word. And the upstairs one was hard to be social in. They had a big tv with lots of DVDs to choose from though!
Breakfast was average - bread, granola, yoghurt a little fruit but they ran out of stuff a lot. The staff were really nice and helpful, when you could actually find them!
More of a chill out hostel, a couple of families stayed there when I was there.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Katrina-od03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We asked for a 6 bed dorm, were put in a 9 bed dorm. It had the floor space for 3 people max. Only 4 lockers for 9 people. The toilet bins were never emptied, our bathroom never cleaned and we had to ask for loo roll. One evening I was told there was none left. It was not so late for them to go and buy some but they wouldn't. Not great when you've got food poisoning! I thought the breakfast was okay until I saw them prepare the fruit, unhygienic to say the least. The hot water wasn't. There is a kitchen but is ill-equipped with an electrical hob which can't even cook pasta. Upstairs area is good for chilling out. Good roof views. Good location. Comfortable beds. But the price is high. Id recommend getting one night, and storing your bags there the next day whilst you go find a cheaper option.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room where the internet is stronger and it's a lot warmer. Downstairs has gap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yexadlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hostel was very helpful! Great wifi, comfy beds, and awesome view of the city! We stayed almost a week here! It's very close to everything and super convenient. Tthe kitchen is limited but the grocery store has everything you need only a block away! Would totally
recommend it!

www.unevensidewalks.com

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank landing977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. The staff were nice and helpful even though our Spanish is not great nor is their English. Pros for the hostel itself- its clean and nice rooms. Really nice view from the rooftop and good central location.
Cons- the kitchen is more like a kitchenette. Small fridge, microwave and kettle. No stove or means to actually cook. Also for the price they should at least provide soap in the washrooms (which were lacking in numbers). Also there are no comfy lounge areas to hang out.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammmmmmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

two great things about this hostel - check in from 6am which is amazing if you have an early morning international flight like I did - and the fluffy down duvets and pillows made for a comfortable sleep. other pluses - the shower was hot but the bathroom has a distinct odor to it. sunny bright rooms and quiet place to lay your head.
breakfast was serve yourself and decent.
location is ok in the day but not super close to any restaurants so as a solo traveller in the evening i was at a loss of what to do for dinner.
downsides - desk staff is cordial but not overly friendly and the place is pretty quiet so not at all good for meeting other travellers.
the 70b/nt is a bit steep.

Room Tip: if you dont like hights request a bottom bunk - the room i was in had bunks three high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#18 of 77 in La Paz
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 85 in La Paz
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Landscape B&B
Landscape B&B
#19 of 85 in La Paz
142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 77 in La Paz
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onkel Inn 1886? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onkel Inn 1886

Address: Calle Colombia 257, La Paz 2000, Bolivia (Formerly HI Hostel Onkel Inn 1886)
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Price Range: £13 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Onkel Inn 1886 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Onkel Inn 1886 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing