We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Sagarnaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sagarnaga
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here two nights. It's minutes away from everything. Very centrally located. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Same breakfast as you would normally get... jam and toast but also a banana. Great place to stay even if you're backpacking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aclark614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    151
    138
    32
    15
See reviews for
37
133
72
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copacabana, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I cannot recommend Hotel Sagarnaga highly enough. Ricardo and his staff provide a very welcoming and comfortable stay. The hotel is situated in the tourist area halfway between the main centre of town and the Witches Market. The rooms are spacious with decent bathroom facilities and cleaned daily. Wifi works well in the comfortable communal lounge area. Ricardo's wife Elin owns the cafe next door, Cafe del Mundo which offers good international food.
I was robbed in El Prado by a 'policeman' and his female accomplice. Ricardo and Elin could not have been more supportive for the 6 days it took to organise emergency cash and a new card from Australia. I am very grateful to them both.
Edith from Australia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Sagarnaga for 7 nights and we couldn't have asked for better service from the friendly team.

The rooms vary in price range which is excellent for travellers on a budget or if you are looking for something a little more high range they have excellent options for this also.

I would definetly recommend Hotel Sagarnaga for there friendly staff, affordable rooms & excellent location.

Don't forget to try there awesome cafe next door either (Cafe del Mundo) excellent food 10/10

Room Tip: The higher you go the more expensive the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a decent hotel in a good location in the main visitor area of La Paz. Our room was clean, if a little pokey/dated, but good enough for a hotel in the middle of a big city. We stayed as part of a wider tour with Tucan Travel, so can't really comment on how good value it was in isolation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Duration: 6 nights

Pros:
- clean
- free wifi
- english speaking stuff
- very friendly, helpful manager (Ricardo)
- included breakfast
- 5 minutes from San Francisco Plaza
- private bathroom
- safe and secure area

Cons:
- can't find any

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank flamisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time in Hotel Sagarnaga in La Paz. This hotel is a very well known hotel in one of the main streets. Walking distance to all the main attractions (San Francisco square, witch market, gear shops and restaurants). The hotel is a normal, clean, 3* hotel with an extremely helpful and nice staff and manager. Most of them spoke a good English and helped is in a lot of situations like baggage loose, organising programs, room changes, etc... Next door is an amazing Swedish restaurants too where you can also do room service to the hotel.
Thanks again Hotel Sagarnaga! We hope to return soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gabor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We walked in off the street, looking to scale down from the US$60 room at the Berlina around the corner.
We were greeted warmly by reception and shown the double room upstairs. It had most of what we were getting at the Berlina, minus the telephone (which we don't use), and coca tea in the lobby.

It's a great position up on Sagarnaga near Llampu, and we decided to reserve a room here for US$30 (B210).

Unfortunately for them we happened upon the Casona Boutique hotel near San Francisco Plaza, and decided instead to upscale into this amazing place, for not much more than we pay at the Berlina.

If you want to be in the middle of the action without paying up big, I think this one might be a good choice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.4 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#12 of 77 in La Paz
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#24 of 77 in La Paz
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#23 of 77 in La Paz
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Maya
Hostal Maya
#47 of 77 in La Paz
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sagarnaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sagarnaga

Property: Hotel Sagarnaga
Address: Calle Sagarnaga # 326 | Zona Rosario, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sagarnaga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sagarnaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing