We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hostal Provenzal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Provenzal
Ranked #11 of 54 La Paz B&B and Inns
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel offers the absolute basics you need to have a reasonably pleasant stay - hot shower, good bed and located in central La Paz (although this does make for a very noisy night).

However there are plenty of downsides to the hotel that we did not experience in a hotel just down the road that cost only $5 more per night (we returned to La Paz after a stay elsewhere).

Firstly, the breakfast is truly measly. There are crackers, bananas and jam in the breakfast room and when you sit down you are brought a single bread roll. The pub over the road offers a full English, so after a couple of mornings we skipped Provenzal's breakfast altogether, it wasn't worth our effort!

Secondly, the reception staff are very cold and abrupt. They also insist on keeping the room key whenever guests leave the building and lock the main door so that you have to wait outside for several minutes on returning to the building. And several minutes isn't an overstatement - at one point we and a handful of other guests were stuck INSIDE the foyer for ten minutes when the receptionist had gone elsewhere!

The hotel looked in pictures to be a very warm and cosy building when actually it is fairly stark and bare. So it's fine if all you need is a night's stopover but I'd recommend going elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBlunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
25
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Great value and location is ideal! Helpful staff, clean rooms and hot water. Breakfast was simple but for the price reasonable. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice dining room with a beautiful terrace. Rooms very poor. NO HEATING in a cold city as la paz is. Old tv not working properly and internet not very good. Breakfast ok but could be much better. Nice location though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 81AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The place has a good location but on a busy street. Staff was nice enough and room was clean but basic. It was OK for a one night stay between trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjaliosetsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

All rooms on a busy street with heavy traffic noise. Bar with loud music on first floor. Thin white curtains, bright light early in the morning. Bad breakfast, just one piece of bread with chocopasta, no other choices.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was a rushed booking but we were so glad we found it.

Apart from being centrally located and having some great places to eat nearby, the rooms are bright and sunny, they clean them everyday, breakfast is nice, the staff is very very friendly and helpful.

But I have to mention Martha, who runs the place and is the proprietor. My husband fell very ill in La Paz, she knew that because i requested a late check out (we had a bus to Sucre at 6.pm). She made some eucalyptus stuff for him to make him feel better and gave us another room, free of charge to rest in, since our bus was only in the evening. I can't tell you how grateful we were, because he was on the verge of collapsing.

This hotel is a gem and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I would however recommend you request a room with a normal (not electrical) shower, since they are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed for four nights at Provenzal. Nicely located close to the popular gringo spots (in the same building as Oliver's Travels, mind you).

We had a nice spacious room on 4th floor, with a great view over the town with the Illimani peak in the background. However, this was the dirtiest room we had in 2+ months of touring South America, staying in hostels and B&Bs. There was a lot of house dust and lots (and lots) of hairs all over the room and bathroom, including the bed. Some spots (beside the nightstand, behind the bathroom door, etc) sported big piles of dust and hairs, clearly they weren't touched by the cleaners for at least a few weeks. On the first two days we asked (nicely) for extra/proper cleaning - with minimum results, so we gave up. It was bad enough that we considered moving to some other place, but our days were pretty full so we didn't have time to look for another one.

The breakfast room (on the top floor), including the terrace, has a very nice view and is really nice on sunny days. Too bad the breakfast itself was quite thin, with some margarine and some runny jam alongside some fruits.

Also, WiFi connection was pretty week, and didn't work at all during the night.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor, it's just above the OT bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osytoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 76 in La Paz
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Posada de la Abuela Obdulia
0.3 mi away
Hostal Sol Andino
Hostal Sol Andino
#3 of 54 in La Paz
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Provenzal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Provenzal

Property: Hostal Provenzal
Address: Calle Murillo 1014 esq.Tarija, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Provenzal 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Provenzal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing