We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Berlina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berlina
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
London
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel doesn't look particularly inviting from outside on Calle Illampu, but once inside the welcome is warm and although the decor is dated, everything works and rooms are neat and clean (and large). The free breakfast, served in the 8th floor restaurant is plentiful, varied and good, with spectacular views over the city and surrounding mountains. Location-wise it's great for exploring the witches market and there are plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby, plus it's only a 10 minute walk to the main shopping street.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and well equipped if a little dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deetee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    43
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
17
39
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We checked into the hotel and were impressed with the staff and the hotel in general, it was the most expensive we had stayed in since Rio. We had high expectations.
The internet was a bit intermittent. Looked connected but did not work a lot.
The worst part was the bed. We got into bed and it was clear it was a very old mattress, but in the night when my wife got up for the loo her leg was scratched by a large piece of rusty broken metal sticking out the bed, it also ripped the sheet.
The next day we asked to change rooms and they were very helpful but the bed in the next room was just as old and worn, so we said no and finally they offered us a suite room. Which was great but not yet finished - no shower screen, toilet seat not fixed, sawdust in the cupboards. At least the bed was good.
This could be a great hotel and for US $50 + tax a night they really need to sort out the beds!
They do have a great free massage chair in reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in la paz. Our triple rooms as spacious but looked like it was stuck in 1800s. The shower was warm and powerful. The breakfast was good but we went at the end and they didn't restock everything that had gone so we had limited choice. We felt safe walking around but didn't think much of La Paz in general, definitely wouldn't want to stay longer than one night. Brilliant view from the roof. There's a nice pizza shop across the road which also does take away. Good wifi in the hotel and helpful staff. They let us leave our bags for 3 days while we visited the salt flats. Would stay again, but hopefully will never have to return to la paz again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixxypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had three great days at Hotel Berlina! The breakfast is great, with fresh fruits, eggs and a gorgeous view over the city and mountain.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bath tub plug was missing in our room. The lady at the reception immediately ordered a staff member to purchase one in the city :-) He came back 15 minutes later with a plug!

We'd stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel and the standard of the room we had. I had requested an East facing room on one of the top floors (a recommendation from Lonely Planet) and was really pleased with the room we were given (605). The view over the city was great and the noise not too bad. (This hotel is based on one of the main streets of La Paz near the witches market so a little noise is to be expected). The water was hot and there was a good wi-fi connection, The location of the hotel is great - walking distance to all the main sights and made us feel as if we were really in the heart of this wonderful city. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Bed was really uncomfortable and if you're facing the road it's really noisy.

Breakfast is ok with great views of the city from the restaurant.

Also they hadn't included tax in the price when we booked so we ended up paying more than we'd expected.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here during our first stay in La Paz in September. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our stay here. We found it overpriced especially since the prices are quoted excluding vat! Our double room was a good size, with a nice bathroom but the main issue was how hot the room was (this I know is rare during winter in La Paz), but it was stifling and combined with the altitude it was very uncomfortable. Breakfast was ample but not nothing special. Sorry but there are nicer places for the price offered here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#24 of 76 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diamante Azul
Hotel Diamante Azul
#33 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milton
Hotel Milton
#27 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#25 of 76 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fuentes
Hotel Fuentes
#60 of 76 in La Paz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlina

Property: Hotel Berlina
Address: Av. Illampu,No. 761, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Berlina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berlina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing