We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat the view”
Review of Restaurante hotel Plaza - CLOSED

Restaurante hotel Plaza
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Eat the view”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is not one of the best restaurants in La Paz, in spite of being located at one of the best hotels. The view over the city may compensate the fact that the food is not as good as expected.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, terrible food.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Soup starter 2/10
Paella main 3/10
Icecream dessert 0/10 -inedible by anyone in my party.

View and service were good but the food- wow it was really bad. Roughly 150 bolivianos each and the worst meal I've had in my 2 months in South America.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda789987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good restaurant - great views”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This restaurant ("Utama") is situated on the top floor of the Hotel Plaza. We were not staying in the hotel, but had dinner in the restaurant in order to enjoy the views.

The restaurant was very quiet when we visited - one small party left shortly after we arrived, and we were the only diners until another group of four arrived, then a solitary businessman. Despite this, we did not find the atmosphere oppressive, and the staff were friendly and attentive without being overly so.

The menu is fairly standard Bolivian/International and offers a good choice of dishes. The food was well cooked and well presented. And the bar was able to produce a good gin and tonic!

The main attraction, though, is the view of La Paz. The hotel seems to sit in the centre of the basin which holds La Paz, and the night-time view is of lights sweeping up into the sky all around. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoy a great meal surrounded by amazing city lights”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Forget the outdated decor - the view alone and the sensation of being surrounded on all sides by the shimmering city lights made it all worthwhile. We got in on a late flight and thought we´d just eat in the hotel (we normally skip hotel restaurants). Well the food here was just outstanding. The menu contained lots of classic dishes from the time the decor was last done like beef torneados and chicken in tarragon sauce (60 and 50 Bolivianos - about $8 USD or AUD!!!!!. And it was very, very tasty! And after two weeks of travelling through Argentina, Brazil and Chile where it´s hard to find decent serves of vegies, we finally got lots of nice, fresh, steamed vegies witgh our meals. The service was to match with charming elderly (well, mature - the guys whose entire careers have been dedicated to efficiently serving thier hosts at tables laid out with white table cloths and silver cutlery) waiters in their crisp white shirts and black waistcoats and trousers. But the city lights!!! It´s not so much a view because you can´t really see anything - but up there on the 15th floor surrounded bythe city of La Paz, you could well be sitting in an amphitheatre. Don´miss this opportunity - they don´t arise that often

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodwinetravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante hotel Plaza also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing