We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stop for a well-needed rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Sol Andino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Sol Andino
Ranked #2 of 50 La Paz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stop for a well-needed rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were exhausted when we got here, and I was very glad to check in to a clean and well-presented room with very comfortable beds.

We turned up without a reservation and asked for a twin room -- we got a room with one double and one single bed for 215 Bs.

The hot water in the shower was very hot, the bed was very comfortable, and I left feeling much more human than when I'd arrived! The wifi was mostly reliable albeit slow. The included breakfast was reasonable, and I was quite happy to pay an extra 10 Bs for a fried egg and some delicious bacon.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    87
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
95
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ehime
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This is a great hostel choice in La Paz for anyone looking for a bit of peace and quiet. I flew into La Paz from Europe and wanted a safe place to stay - to acclimatise to the altitude and culture and get some good quality sleep. The staff were great, good English spoken and arranged everything I needed. They even have a travel desk next to reception with a very nice English-speaking lady who can help with everything you need. Showers were always hot and reception let me check in at 7:30am after an early flight. They also picked me up from the airport with no problem at all (email them in advance). Location is fine, up a bit of a steep hill from the main sights but very central. Very good breakfast for Bolivia as well. However, this place may not be for you if you are the wild party type - it was very quiet when I was there and it certainly didn't have the hostel atmosphere that other places have...more like a B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location. Clean rooms, hot showers, cable tv and a good breakfast. Staff are very helpful and there is also a travel agency in the hotel which can help with tours. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johanna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in early May 2012. The hotel was very flexible. We stayed on Saturday night, before leaving for 2 nights to go to Uyuni for the salt flats / laguna colorada and then we stayed for 3 additional nights. The hotel let us leave our bags stored with them so we just took a backpack each for the salt flats.

Our room was massive and slept 5 (2 queen beds and one single). Small bathroom but really good hot water. They did our laundry (there is a charge). The hotel is only 2 or 3 blocks from Sagarnaga St, the main tourist street. Lots of travel agencies nearby and internet cafes and shops. We had no problem with noise at this hotel. The breakfast was great. A good selection was included with the room rate but you could order eggs, bacon etc as an extra for 5 bolivianos (that is less than 1 USD).

On sagarnaga street I can recommend

1. Mar Bet Bol Leather shop (right up the top of the street). I got a leather jacket hand made to my measurements for $90USD. I love it! It was cheaper than buying premade leather jackets in the shopping centre we went to in La Paz and looks so much better as well.

2. The Cuban restaurant for great tasting food (not Bolivian food but delicious). I think we ate there about 4 times. Really nice owner too.

3. Also, La Casona (the mansion) Restaurant is just down from Sagarnaga St on the right and it does a set menu for lunch for 35 bolivianos with a salad buffet, main (choice of 3) and fruit salad dessert. Really good fresh food that is hard to find (especially salads!) in Bolivia.

If returning to La Paz I would stay here again :)

Room Tip: Ask for one off the street, and higher room floor is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenjojo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here for four nights in October 2012. The good points are that it has great murals painted on the walls, they let us check in really early (09:00), the breakfast buffet isn't bad compared to some in Bolivia, the room was clean and there was hot water.

On the downside, the floors are VERY creaky, so it's quite noisy and our sleep was disrupted when people next door and above came back late and left early. Also, it's expensive for what it is, especially compared to some of the competition in La Paz. We left and moved to a hotel, which was considerably cheaper than this hostel.

It's in a decent location, albeit up a very steep hill from the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay here as a break from hostels. Double room was very comfortable and clean with a nice bathroom and excellent hot shower. Good location. Decent breakfast. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

What a great place to stay in. A really hot and clean shower. Clean towels everything day and a very friendly staff. And all that for a budget price! Also the location is very good. A shame that we have to leave already!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tine_is_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Maya
Hostal Maya
#49 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hostel
Rendezvous Hostel
#1 of 50 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Posada de la Abuela Obdulia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol Andino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol Andino

Property: Hostal Sol Andino
Address: Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario | Between Illampu and Isacc Tamayo Street, La Paz 591, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Sol Andino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing