We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hostal Sol Andino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Sol Andino
Ranked #3 of 51 La Paz B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Staff were very friendly, the place was very clean and it was very good value for money. The location was good and it was only 10 mins walk into the centre. Hot showers and wifi which I needed, I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilive4travel4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    88
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
96
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hostel was really nice. The rooms were very large with nice bathrooms and beautiful murals. Also really comfy beds and the wifi worked really well. Breakfast was delicious and filling. The staff was really friendly, always willing to help us make plans and recommend good places to eat. The hostel is located in a good location, lots of tourist agencies on Calle Llampu, and also near lots of stores and street vendors with amazing authentic Bolivian crafts, jewelry, clothes. etc. I recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieDaisy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Good location, helpful staff, breakfast, clean and nice rooms. I slept very well and this is what matters for me most when staying at a hostel. Decent price too. Location near bus terminal, witch market and coke museum!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Colored hotel and rooms, nice hot showers and tasty breakfast with decent fresh bread (I was tired to their usual flat bread...). Location is very convenient and staff is helpful.
Wifi and PC, good services (laundry etc). I recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AroundTheGlobe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great location, friendly and helpful English-speaking staff, really nice breakfast, free coca tea all the time, clean, very convenient location, overall a really good place to stay in La Paz, Bolivia! Shower has hot water, and not many places do in Bolivia. Only downside: no heat in rooms, but you can rent a heater, I think. Also they share one hair drier among several hotels, you might have to wait for it a few minutes. It is really close to the "adventure street" and to a lot of market streets where you can literally eat a full mean for less that $2. Free wifi!!!! A bit on the slower side, but who cares, you didn't go there to surf the web anyway, right? Amazing rooftop with great views of the city. Beautiful local-themed murals on the walls everywhere, quite unique. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: wifi only reaches the 2nd floor, so if you need it, request a room on one of the lower floors. also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venera1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Sol Andino. Nice & clean, comfortable beds & very spacious rooms, free wifi as well as free PC for use, hot water, friendly & helpful staff, great breakfast, handy location, very quiet hostel. A couple of days when we had to head out for a tour before the time breakfast started, the staff were more than accommodating & put out the basics for us so we could still have something to eat, which was appreciated. This is more of a small hotel than a hostel & it is very quiet so I probably wouldn't recommend for travellers looking for a social environment but it was perfect for our needs & I would highly recommend it to others. One tip though...if you are short of breath from the altitude then request to be on a low floor, as there is no elevator. We were on the top floor & it nearly killed us every time we had to go up to our room! Otherwise everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sol Andino. The staff were chearful and helpful; they let us check in at 6.30am after an overnight bus journey which really endeared us to them. The double room was clean and comfortable, with a good en suite. Breakfast was really nice, though eggs were extra (but really cheap). Our room had good WiFi connectivity. The artwork throughout the hotel was a nice touch. It's in a nice location, a short walk from the Witches Market. Be aware that despite the name this is really more of a hotel than a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hostel
Rendezvous Hostel
#1 of 51 in La Paz
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Posada de la Abuela Obdulia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol Andino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol Andino

Property: Hostal Sol Andino
Address: Calle Aroma, 6 Zona Rosario | Between Illampu and Isacc Tamayo Street, La Paz 591, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Sol Andino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing