We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!”

La Casona Restaurante-Cafe
Ranked #34 of 431 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Old restaured colonial building with new age and local food.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had the lunch set menu and can highly recommend it. A soup, unlimited salad bar, main course, dessert and drink each cost under US$10 per person. The food was briliant, service was good, and central location ideal. Make sure you book as it can get pretty full.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDix111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    131
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service, decent food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent an evening here and it took us almost 15 minutes to explain to the waiter that we would like to have the wine list. This was quite a task, as there was no waiter capable of speaking at least a little bit of English - which is surprising in a hotel restaurant. In addition, we had to wait quite a long time for our main course which was served alongside with the starters.
In the end the food was quite good, but not excellent. Considering the price, there are much better restaurants in La Paz.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel and the food here was good overall. There is a reasonable choice on the menu and the staff are very helpful - little english is spoken but they made sure we were happy. Nice atmosphere and reasonable prices. Nothing particularly exceptional about the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank McClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Refused to clear us a table”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Tried to eat in this restaurant on a one night stop over. The waitress told us there were no tables, despite there being at least 4 tables free. When we asked if she could clear one of them whilst we waited she refused.

We spoke with the hotel manager who explained there was currently no restaurant manager which was why people had been having issues.

The place looks really nice and the menu sounds good, just a shame we never got to try it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colins5286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had the lamb, but it was all cold: the meat, the vegetables and the mashed potatoes. Plus we ordered rice and salad which didn't come at all.
So, in short: crap

Helpful?
Thank elmarellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casona Restaurante-Cafe also viewed

La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 
La Paz, La Paz Department
La Paz, La Paz Department
 

Been to La Casona Restaurante-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing