We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel LP Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel LP Columbus
Ranked #19 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This place was very nice, clean, really hot shower, cable tv, great breakfast and the afternoon night clerk was so helpful think her name was Privamera.
She is a credit to this company, she helped me find and book taxi, confirm flights helped with food places around the hotel, was just a really lovely person.
Thanks for making my stay so comfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Alona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel LP Columbus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We live in Bolivia, and travel to La Paz a few times every year. We thought we found our hotel in La Paz. It is a reasonable price, the rooms are very light and clean. Really good beds and a very friendly staff that have been so helpfull. But, because of altitude problems, our daughter got a nose bleeding two of our nights here and we where told that we would be charged 100 bs for the cleaning of the sheets. That last thing I do not find very customer friendly, but else a really nice hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Camillaq Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a reasonable hotel if you are just looking for a place to sleep. It is not in a convenient location and when there is an event at the stadium nearby it is near impossible to get around. There are very few restaurants nearby and the hotel restaurant is often closed. The staff did offer to order us a pizza rather than have us venture into town (we did not take them up on their offer). Most tourist spots are a good walk away. We like to walk so that was not a problem, but for someone new to the high altitude this could be more of an issue. The rooms we had (on 3 different occasions) ranged from small to tiny. If I go back to La Paz, I would recommend staying at one of the more expensive hotels closer to the tourist district. This would help with getting good (safe) food and not having to worry about walking through questionable parts of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. Apparently they are better based on other reviews.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpinist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomLPZ, Gerente at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
The location we have in La Paz is near all atractions, museums, mercados and Plazas.In front of us we have the replica of Tiwanaku Temple, one of the beautiful attractions in our city.
Nearby you find all kind of restaurants, just 10m you a find a Burger King and typical restaurant Silpancho food, 15 m a Chinese Restaurant, all restaurants about 20 and cafes around the Plaza Tiwanaku.
Thanks again for your rewiew, we are a 3 Stars Hotel.
Roxana
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've stayed in the LP Santa Cruz several times and enjoyed the service and value for money so when I had a visit to La Paz, the LP Columbus was an obvious choice. It's not the same. The only similarity I found was the nice beds - that's definitely a bonus. Obviously the style is similar, but I found some real service challenges during my 5 day visit. It seems that the hotel has been a bit neglected in favor of the Santa Cruz location.

The decor is modern, which I appreciate, and mostly clean, but cold and sterile. Even just a few plants a little color to liven the place up a bit and bring in some warmth would be nice. It seems the hotel has been neglected. Maintenance obviously hasn't been paid much attention as there is obvious wear and tear that is simply ignored and gives a dirty feeling to the place. I was in La Paz during a period of construction, which was a bit annoying, but it's very possible that things have since improved.

The staff are friendly but seriously lacking in useful traveler information like nearby restaurants, etc. I think staff in both locations could gain from a regular peek at Tripadvisor! The clients here are going to look for information especially since the location is a little out of town, so note to management - some attention to this aspect of being a "receptionist" is highly recommended.

A couple more things... breakfast is very basic (as in don't bother) and when I was in La Paz the only good thing about breakfast - fresh ground coffee - was not available, for the entire 5 days!! The rooms are incredibly cold and heaters do not work.

To end on a good note: one of the receptionists was incredibly helpful, finding me transportation to a very remote area of La Paz and going out of his way to do so. Thanks!

Would I go back? Yes, I'll go back next time, I still think it's value for money - only just - but if it's still under par I won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PomLPZ, Manager at Hotel LP Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Huésped:

Muchas gracias por tomarse el tiempo de escribirnos una crítica sobre LP Hoteles®.
Lamento mucho que su experiencia en el Hotel LP Columbus® de La Paz, no haya sido como en Hotel LP Santa Cruz®.

Efectivamente, ambos no son iguales en infraestructura, debido al y tiempo de vida de cada Hotel, pero discrepo totalmente sobre el descuido del Hotel LP Columbus®, esto por motivo que hacemos mucho énfasis en el mantenimiento del mismo y como usted misma pudo apreciar estamos en plena remodelación y el colocado de calefacción en las habitaciones para brindar mayor comodidad a nuestros huéspedes.

En cuanto al servicio al cliente, es algo en que nos comprometemos a seguir mejorando cada día y apreciamos las sugerencias.

Esperamos poder contar con usted en su próxima visita a La Paz, y tener la oportunidad de conocer nuestras nuevas habitaciones con piso laminado.

Saludos Cordiales.

Roxana
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had previously stayed in the LP in Santa Cruz so were expecting great things. The LP in La Paz was no so impressive. We were very pleased with the service we experienced here, a driver was waiting for us at the airport as planned. He even stopped on the way back to the hotel for a photo opportunity and tried his best in English to give us a bit of information on the city etc. We got upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor which was nice. It was a bit cold but they had a complimentary heater which was a bonus. The room (605) at night was dark and quiet however the bed was awful. We cant quite pinpoint what was the problem, for us it felt like the blood was running to our heads, and maybe roll together, maybe too soft..... were not sure.
The other downside in the room was the toilet overflowed from the cistern. The shower was awesome though, really hot and powerful which was great. They also provide robes and towels and toiletries.
The staff were helpful with bringing our bags up to our rooms and also had good English to recommend a restaurant and order taxis for us as we needed them.
Overall we think the LP is a pretty ok place to stay, deserves more than an average rating but wouldn't say very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived in la paz in the evening and had searched Expedia for a reasonable place to stay that wouldn't kill our budget.. All the hotels were almost double the price of this one.. I wasn't expecting much.. To my surprise we were given a suite which was the nicest place we have stayed in ages with the hottest showers, room service, really helpful staff and crisp white sheets something when backpacking you don't see a lot of... This hotel was really reasonable incomparison to the other places in the area unless u want to stay in a noisy hostal on a Friday night.. Really enjoyed the experience it was quiet and we slept very well.. Well worth the extra for a night than staying in a noisy hostal...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jktravelsamericas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

i really wanted to like this place. you really do get a lot for what you pay for. at the time when we stayed here you could get 3 nights in the hotel for the price of 2, which was a very good deal. a pretty good breakfast bar is included as well and some of the hotel staff are great people.

i had two very major complaints though: our room, although we had requested non-smoking, had quite obviously been used by smokers and it smelled like cigarette smoke. i was willing to look past this however. the last complaint was a deal breaker for me though. i re-renewed my reservation the night before our last day to stay an additional night and was told there wouldn't be a problem. i was then told the next morning that no such reservation had been made, the hotel had no occupancy and that we would be forced to leave the premises. i was told that this had something to do with the system software they use do reservations, but that didn't console me much. i was furious. we were just backpackers, so we had to pack everything up and wander around for about another hour after that just to find another hotel. it all worked out in the end, but this was a big, big detractor from my stay here.

Room Tip: be certain you reserve here the ENTIRE time you wish to stay, or you could run into problems. and do...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,098 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.2 mi away
A la Maison
A la Maison
#12 of 77 in La Paz
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
0.8 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#26 of 77 in La Paz
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LP Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LP Columbus

Address: Av. Illimani no. 1990 | Esquina Plaza Stadium, La Paz 5432, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LP Columbus 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star Hotel located in La Paz Down Town in a quiet neighborhood. Our hotel offers a pleasant stay, with all the facilities to enjoy a city that gives visitors a personal taste of politics, culture, art and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel LP Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lp Columbus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing