We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Radisson hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Recently stayed here one night before leaving Bolivia. It's nothing terrific, but not bad either. It's what you would expect of a typical Radisson Hotel.

Rooms are clean and adequate. The views of the area are pretty cool especially if you're on a higher floor (we were on the 10th floor). Windows open slightly which is good because there is no A/C. We actually asked for a fan to be brought up to the room which helped.

Beds were okay, very cushy. We slept okay, but not great.

The restaurant on the 15th floor offers terrific 180 degree views of the 'bowl' that is La Paz. You even have the ability to go outside of the restaurant and take pictures which I was grateful for. Food was adequate as well. Not bad, just not awesome. But for what you pay for food in Bs (Bolivianos) it' s not bad at all.

It's located right downtown in La Paz. Not sure how far you want to walk around from there? Location isn't bad, it's just not close to some very cool areas/architecture, but you always have taxis to get you around.

Staff are friendly and accommodating.

Taxi to/from the airport will cost you about $65 Bs (a little over $9USD).

We checked out at 5:15am and I was pleased to notice the restaurant on the main floor already open and serving breakfast. Many hotels don't have their restaurants open until 6am, or even later, so I thought this was good. We never ate there as we were catching a flight, but the place was quite busy.

Room Tip: 10th floor isn't bad for views of the city, however with no AC you'll need to have your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renedef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

A very large hotel well located in city centre. No aircon in rooms so hot and stuffy - too noisy to leave windows open overnight. Breakfast buffet ok. There is a very nice local restaurant behind the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this Radisson for 4 nights in September. The staff were helpful, and the hotel in general is fine, but my room was too hot from the direct sunlight, and there was no air conditioning - just heating! The heat remained through each night and the only solution was to have the windows open - but La Paz is a city that rarely sleeps. As a result I did not sleep well. Apart from this problem I had no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

No charm to this place, but clean, centrally located. It has a small bar and a restaurant on the main floor with standard buffets for breakfast and lunch and you can order off the menu. Very nice, romantic restaurant on the top floor that is closed on Sundays. Carpeting in hall was quite worn. Free Internet works in some rooms but in ours, (8th floor) the signal wasn't strong enough. You can hear anyone who is talking in the hall, but there were no night owls on our floor.

Room Tip: If wifi in your room is important, check the signal strength in your assigned room before you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and were impressed by this hotel. It was very modern especially compared to the four others we stayed in throughout Cuzco Peru and in Copacabana Bolivia which were rated four stars.
We enjoyed the lounge playing cards with our two kids. The breakfast buffet has a nice selection and the service for breakfast and lunch is great. They allowed us to access the lunch buffet early on the day we were flying out early. The restaurant on the 15th floor has spectacular views and the dinner I would rate as five stars. We ate there twice and just loved the food. Waiters were very attentive and friendly. Coming from Canada the prices are very low. Four meals one appetizer, their best bottle of wine, dessert and juice for the kids came to just $80.00 Canadian.
Our kids got sick the day before we were to fly home so they made up a lunch tray of soup and bread rolls and brought it up to them. When we requested jello the kitchen made up a batch for us as it wasn't offered at that time of day. (we think it was the milkshakes that made the kids ill so I'd recommend skipping those). They have a doctor in the hotel who came and checked on the kids at least five times during the day. Dr Geraldine was great, and the bell boys were quick running out to the pharmacy to bring back medicine.
We found the sheets, towels and carpets clean and new. They also have a pool that we looked at but didn't get a chance to use. It was clean and bright.
We were very happy staying here and recommend it to anyone staying in Pa Paz.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenandRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment.

We are happy to know that the attitude of our staff, made ​​your stay more enjoyable.

Your comment commits us to work more and better, we deeply regret that children are ill and expect your prompt recovery.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed one night only in the Radisson La Paz.
The location was ok but away from central city. We didn't mind that as we really wanted room facilities rather than tourism.
the hotel, apart from reception area which was very generic was very tired looking.
Carpet in hallways worn thin and loose.
Our bathroom had rust around fittings in bath and bidet and when I had a shower the water didn't drain away. It took a staff member and a large plunger to get the water from the bottom of the bath so another shower could be had.
The towels were thin and grey and the hair dryer only worked on low. High heat shorted it out.
The bed was ok but the pillows horrible and uncomfortable. Tired old fashioned bedding and difficulty adjusting heat in room.
Breakfast ok but mundane
Would not recommend this hotel even though the staff were generally accommodating and helpful
We would not return to this hotel and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment.

We regret not meeting your expectation, this sure we're working to offer more comfort to our guests.

We're glad you enjoy the attitude of our staff.

Compliments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

With rooms rates starting at $75 (in 2013) prepaid this is a decent deal overall and for La Paz in general. There is only a few better options in town (Hotel Europa, Camino Real) if willing to spend more. In summary:

Plus:
Good location, away from centro hassle and close to nightlife and food in Sopocachi.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Upper floor rooms have great view.

Minus:
Older property in dire need of renovation. This is very much a Radisson and not a Blue.
Breakfast buffet included in all rates but selection and variety quite lacking. Terrible coffee.
Gym and sauna undergoing month-long closure in 2013.
Foam pillows only. Old, thin towels. No comforter/duvet despite La Paz climate.
Consistently poorly cleaned bathrooms.
No AC in room, heat only (north-facing rooms can get very hot during the day).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlausMaus139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Alcala Apart Hotel
Alcala Apart Hotel
#14 of 79 in La Paz
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 79 in La Paz
1,141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Fusion Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Ritz Apart Hotel
Ritz Apart Hotel
#10 of 79 in La Paz
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Av. Arce 2177, La Paz, Bolivia (Formerly Radisson Plaza Hotel La Paz)
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: £68 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise cottage complex;tourist class with comfortable well-furnished rooms - 12 km from El Alto-La Paz airport, city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paz Radisson
Radisson La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing