We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have been to the Radisson Plaza several times over the last 12 years and still find it a fine, maybe a little dated, hotel in La Paz, centrally located and with all the usual amenities. As with any hotel the staff is the soul of the establishment. Here they are professional, very friendly and when the occasion arises go beyond the call of duty. We felt right at home again this time arriving at 5AM after our re-routed flight from Quito. Should we come back to La Paz, we definitely would book ourselves again at the Radisson Plaza.

Room Tip: On upper floors, on the east side of the hotel you should be able to get a glimpse of Nevado Ilim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    138
    101
    24
    22
See reviews for
28
79
33
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Recently stayed here one night before leaving Bolivia. It's nothing terrific, but not bad either. It's what you would expect of a typical Radisson Hotel.

Rooms are clean and adequate. The views of the area are pretty cool especially if you're on a higher floor (we were on the 10th floor). Windows open slightly which is good because there is no A/C. We actually asked for a fan to be brought up to the room which helped.

Beds were okay, very cushy. We slept okay, but not great.

The restaurant on the 15th floor offers terrific 180 degree views of the 'bowl' that is La Paz. You even have the ability to go outside of the restaurant and take pictures which I was grateful for. Food was adequate as well. Not bad, just not awesome. But for what you pay for food in Bs (Bolivianos) it' s not bad at all.

It's located right downtown in La Paz. Not sure how far you want to walk around from there? Location isn't bad, it's just not close to some very cool areas/architecture, but you always have taxis to get you around.

Staff are friendly and accommodating.

Taxi to/from the airport will cost you about $65 Bs (a little over $9USD).

We checked out at 5:15am and I was pleased to notice the restaurant on the main floor already open and serving breakfast. Many hotels don't have their restaurants open until 6am, or even later, so I thought this was good. We never ate there as we were catching a flight, but the place was quite busy.

Room Tip: 10th floor isn't bad for views of the city, however with no AC you'll need to have your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renedef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

A very large hotel well located in city centre. No aircon in rooms so hot and stuffy - too noisy to leave windows open overnight. Breakfast buffet ok. There is a very nice local restaurant behind the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this Radisson for 4 nights in September. The staff were helpful, and the hotel in general is fine, but my room was too hot from the direct sunlight, and there was no air conditioning - just heating! The heat remained through each night and the only solution was to have the windows open - but La Paz is a city that rarely sleeps. As a result I did not sleep well. Apart from this problem I had no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

No charm to this place, but clean, centrally located. It has a small bar and a restaurant on the main floor with standard buffets for breakfast and lunch and you can order off the menu. Very nice, romantic restaurant on the top floor that is closed on Sundays. Carpeting in hall was quite worn. Free Internet works in some rooms but in ours, (8th floor) the signal wasn't strong enough. You can hear anyone who is talking in the hall, but there were no night owls on our floor.

Room Tip: If wifi in your room is important, check the signal strength in your assigned room before you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for two nights and were impressed by this hotel. It was very modern especially compared to the four others we stayed in throughout Cuzco Peru and in Copacabana Bolivia which were rated four stars.
We enjoyed the lounge playing cards with our two kids. The breakfast buffet has a nice selection and the service for breakfast and lunch is great. They allowed us to access the lunch buffet early on the day we were flying out early. The restaurant on the 15th floor has spectacular views and the dinner I would rate as five stars. We ate there twice and just loved the food. Waiters were very attentive and friendly. Coming from Canada the prices are very low. Four meals one appetizer, their best bottle of wine, dessert and juice for the kids came to just $80.00 Canadian.
Our kids got sick the day before we were to fly home so they made up a lunch tray of soup and bread rolls and brought it up to them. When we requested jello the kitchen made up a batch for us as it wasn't offered at that time of day. (we think it was the milkshakes that made the kids ill so I'd recommend skipping those). They have a doctor in the hotel who came and checked on the kids at least five times during the day. Dr Geraldine was great, and the bell boys were quick running out to the pharmacy to bring back medicine.
We found the sheets, towels and carpets clean and new. They also have a pool that we looked at but didn't get a chance to use. It was clean and bright.
We were very happy staying here and recommend it to anyone staying in Pa Paz.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment.

We are happy to know that the attitude of our staff, made ​​your stay more enjoyable.

Your comment commits us to work more and better, we deeply regret that children are ill and expect your prompt recovery.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed one night only in the Radisson La Paz.
The location was ok but away from central city. We didn't mind that as we really wanted room facilities rather than tourism.
the hotel, apart from reception area which was very generic was very tired looking.
Carpet in hallways worn thin and loose.
Our bathroom had rust around fittings in bath and bidet and when I had a shower the water didn't drain away. It took a staff member and a large plunger to get the water from the bottom of the bath so another shower could be had.
The towels were thin and grey and the hair dryer only worked on low. High heat shorted it out.
The bed was ok but the pillows horrible and uncomfortable. Tired old fashioned bedding and difficulty adjusting heat in room.
Breakfast ok but mundane
Would not recommend this hotel even though the staff were generally accommodating and helpful
We would not return to this hotel and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rommel R, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment.

We regret not meeting your expectation, this sure we're working to offer more comfort to our guests.

We're glad you enjoy the attitude of our staff.

Compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
3.8 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#1 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 76 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Aparthotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Av. Arce 2177, La Paz, Bolivia (Formerly Radisson Plaza Hotel La Paz)
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise cottage complex;tourist class with comfortable well-furnished rooms - 12 km from El Alto-La Paz airport, city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paz Radisson
Radisson La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing